Reviews for PlayStation 2 Slim Gaming Console

$253.98

Product Reviews (82)

I have had the PS2 since the year...

Strengths: Reliable(never has died on me), backwards compatible with PS1 games, great game library, easy to use, good load time for most games, and great controller.

Weakness: Not compatible with all dvd movies which can be corrected for most dvds if you buy a PS2 remote control which comes with driver disk, trouble playing some PS games for a extended amount of time(4-5hr)

I have had the PS2 since the year it came out, and I never had to replace my system. For those that have read disc errors, most of it is caused by having your PS2 sitting horizontally. Also after using the system, I always turn it off. I have had the same PS2 memory card since I bought the system and has never died on me either. The only games I have had problems with the PS2 are playing some PS1 RPGs(Xenogears, FF4) on the PS2 for an extended amount of time. In the end, the final reason for me getting this system is for the games it has. Although X-Box has it share of great games, the games that I wanted the most are for PS2 like the Final Fantasy series, Xenosaga series, Time Crisis, and etc. Although I would be willing to get a X-Box if I had the money, but I only have the money to devote to one system. If your an RPG fan like me, the wise decision is to get an PS2, but if you have tons of cash get all 3 systems haha!!!

By Squall_L_FF8 - Aug 14, 2004

PS2 is a must buy is ur looking...

Strengths: Almost everything about this system is a strength. Its small, and its easy to setup. u can use your ornigal PS controllers on PS2. they r so easy to use, their not big and have buttons u don't use.

Weakness: some games(like 2 or 3 that i have played) have slow loading time

PS2 is a must buy is ur looking for a good system. yes gamecube is 50 bucks cheeper but u can't play older games from nintendo 64 on it, and u cant use the same controllers on it and u cannot play cd's(unless u have aminidisks). and u cant play dvd's on it. PS2 is a great deal for 200 bucks. u have a cd, player a dvd player,(which i heard isnt too good but it's great) a PS1 and a PS2. i dont see why u wouldnt buy it if u have the money.

By CXXII - Jul 11, 2002

we own ALL consoles out there....

Strengths: great games, plays DVD's better than any other regular player, works perfect since we got it when it FIRST was released

Weakness: none that i can see, i'm even buying my niece and nephew one for Christmas!

we own ALL consoles out there. this is the best, for games, music, AND DVD's. PS2 is faithful, much more versatile and games are better than ever. highly recommend.

By redhot0324 - Nov 4, 2002

the memory cards are too expensive...

Strengths: great ease of set up, easy to use, fun, good graphics, and even more fun when shared. the DVD feature is a good asset, as well.

Weakness: the MEMORY cards short out quickly, espicially when playing the SIMS

the memory cards are too expensive since you nned a new one everytime you start a new game, and they can fritz out quickly; but other than that, i love my PS2!

By shellipsm - May 24, 2003

I bought this system when it came...

Strengths: Has all of the best games out there alot of games to choose from and has great graphics and great sound clearly the best system out there.

Weakness: none!

I bought this system when it came out.When it came out it did'nt have many good games but now look at it. it has all the best games amazing graphics and pure quality sound and it can play your dvds too and you dont need any kit for the dvd player it also has great size not too big not too small and it can play old playstation games its clearly the best system out there i would recommend this system for the people who dont have dvd players and have playstation.

By coolavsfan - Jul 27, 2002

The console quit playing games and...

Strengths: Great games, graphics

Weakness: It broke, so did the consoles of all my friends, we bought ours during its first issue-MISTAKE!

The console quit playing games and DVD's altogether. Sony charged me $128 to fix the problem but for some reason did not charge my friend ONE SINGLE PENNY to fix the same exact problem- I requested for a supervisor from Sony service to call me which never happened.

By duranie21 - Jun 2, 2002

I ordered this for my two...

Strengths: Excellent entertainment. Great graphics.

I ordered this for my two children, and it is very entertaining. Age appropriate video games are what we are playing now. The graphics are fabulous and I recommend this system for the family.

By annoyingauntie - Jan 20, 2004

The Sony Playstation family in my...

Strengths: The ability to play PSone games as well. User-friendly controller

Weakness: Why should I say any weaknesses? I love my PS2!!!!

The Sony Playstation family in my mind is a pioneer in the video game world. Everyone looks to see what new games are going to come out on the playstaion console. To me that is power to have the gaming world wait and see what you are going to put out next.

By Anonymous - Feb 7, 2004

The PS2 won't play certian, in...

Strengths: when it plays its great

Weakness: When it breaks out of warranty you have additional cost in a 300.00 dollar console. you must ship it out pay shipping,parts,and labor. wait for 30-40 days for return. i have two with same problems

The PS2 won't play certian, in some cases any DVD or games at a given time.
I have two friends who have been expereincing the same problem with their PS2.
Why aren't the PS2s made as well, or made to last like the PS1s?
How many other people are having this problem?
The bad thing is I have talked my friends into buying a PS2 only to have them become disappionted with the performance.
The customer service dept. refused to acknowledge the complaint in a satisfactory manner.

By Steelers1 - Feb 28, 2002

I don't see what the fuss is all...

Strengths: eveything

Weakness: loud fan noise

I don't see what the fuss is all about with this ps2,xbox,and G-cube. I think people should buy what they want or what they are looking for in a system. I liked ps2 so i bought ps2. I mean, I realized sooner or later that something better would come along but i dont complain because my ps2 make me happy. i like for new thing to come along so that the companies such as ps2 as well as xbox and the G-cube can learn from others mistakes there for every thing is made better than the past.

By HARD_ROUGHRIDER - Dec 7, 2002

After I started having the problem...

Strengths: Excellent. Everything is perfect

Weakness: I had the problem where DVD games and DVD videos wouldnt play anymore.

After I started having the problem with DVDs, I called Sony and told them what happened, I was worried I would have to buy a new system because my warranty had long expired, but the guy told me to send it in and they fixed it for free and renewed the warranty. XBOX and GameCube just cant compete. PS2 is the best system on the market.

By Shepard2002 - Aug 17, 2002

PS2 is a wonderful game system. It...

Strengths: Playstation 2 has all the best games.It has sports games,action games you name it. It's nice and flat so you can fit it almost anywhere. The controllers fit in your hands unlike Xbox"s fat controllers

Weakness: PS2 does not have the best graphics. You have to buy another thing for the PS2 to do 4 players unlike game cube .

PS2 is a wonderful game system. It has the most game selection. Even If the graphics aren't that great you could buy a special wire and the graphics will be just as good as Xbox. I have been a happy PS2 owner I think I made a good puchase.

By Goeckner - Jun 28, 2003

Despite of pros n cons,ps2 is the...

Strengths: EXTENSIVE GAME LIABRARY,EYE TOY PLAY, CONTROLLERS EASY TO USE,OK GRAPHICS

Weakness: OLD FASHIONED BOXY DESIGN(See PS One-Dreamcast), NO HARD DISK,FASTER LOADING TIMES

Despite of pros n cons,ps2 is the best console of all three only for the reason that it has the best and most game liabrary. WWF Smackdown is an example

By laluprasad - Mar 2, 2004

For the average gamer (casual to...

Strengths: Huge game library; a hardcore RPGamer's dream, great prices on games and hardware, good graphics

Weakness: all the extra add-ons (network adapter, multiplayer adapter, memory cards, etc.)

For the average gamer (casual to hardcore), the PS2 is the way to go. People are gonna buy what they like, but when you compare the overall qualities of all the machines, the PS2 is the BEST out of them because:

1. Price of the system. I think its about the same as Xbox is now. GC is the cheapest, but of course it would be because it has less to offer. At the average $179.99 its not bad for a CD/DVD player/128-bit gaming system.

2. The HUGE gaming selection. Ok so PS2 has a lotta crappy games. DONT buy them; buy the good games. Rachet and Clank, Jax and Dexter, the GTA series, and ALL the Square Enix rpgs are great games. I'll admit, Xbox's Halo is a very fun game and superior in graphics to any of these games and I've committed a lotta hours (probably days) to playing it. But the XBox's game selection leaves a little to be desired (for me). Same for GC; sometimes "kiddy games" are fun, but gimme a little more variety, please.

3. Easy to handle/ adapt to controllers. Man those Xbox controllers are HUGE and HEAVY! The S-controller is better, but still heavy. When playing Halo and DOA3, I'd always make a mistake and hit the B button instead of the X button; they're too freakin close together, man! GC's controller is a little better, but what's up with that big freakin' red button?!?!?!? And that yellow "D" pad is cumbersome. PS controllers have stayed the same and for good reason. The most comfortable design and grip, light-weight, and button layout. Same design as PS1; why change what's already perfect?

4. Backwards compatibility. NO other system can brag this one. I can play my PSone games on my PS2 with no problems. Xbox is new, I know, but Nintendo dissappoints me every year. I mean, what is their problem? First its the cartridges (which for some games costed $70.00), and now its these... minidisk things. Um, Nintendo? This is the 21st century, ok? Make a system based on CD/DVD rom and stop worrying about people copying your precious little games! (personally I think Nintendo woulda died with Sega if it wasnt for Pokemon.) You can buy PS1 games for $15 and less bucks nowadays, so u cant beat that.

5. Greatest Hits games. This is how you can tell a great PS2 game from a not-so-great one. And they're ONLY $20 DOLLARS!!! Heck, I'm a penny-pincher; I don't buy a game for $49.99 when it comes out; I wait 5+ months and get it for 20 bucks (and cheaper if it's used). I've gotten Rachet and Clank, FFX, and most of my PS1 games like that. Do Xbox and GC do that? Well actually I think they both do, but they aint as cheap as 20 dollars. Halo sells for $40 dollars in most places (maybe $30 in others) but that's as low as u are gonna find ANY XBox game. Same for GC games. So basically, u get good PS2 games PLUS the old PS1 games for next to nothing, and the other systems can't compete with that. Sure, the addons for the PS2 probably offset it a little, but not much depending on how many games you get.

6. ALL the RPG games are on it. If you are an RPG nut like me, there's no reason to get the other systems. PERIOD. And most of them are at least descent, if not good.

7. Plays DVDs. I've never had any big problem with my DVD player; as a matter of fact, it'll play DVDs better than the two on my 633 Mhz computer! GC doesnt have this, and u gotta buy a remote to use Xbox's DVD player (which is more than PS2's remote, and u dont even need it!).

Well there u have it, folks. Seven good reasons PS2 is a step ahead of the competition. If you like Xbox, get an Xbox, but if u gotta descent PC, just get all the games for it on PC and save ur $200.00. If you are 16 and down, get a Gamecube. The system is cheaper, but PS2's games are cheaper. AND more diverse. AND more plentiful. PS2's graphics are probably the worst of the 3, but that dont matter to me. It's the fun factor, the wide selection of games, and the less strain on my wallet that draws me in.

GET YOURS RITE NOW!!!!!

By dreads - Apr 19, 2004

I have been an avid video game...

Strengths: Great Franchise Series ex: Madden, NBA Live, SO COM DVD is added bonus

Weakness: HAS MYSTERIOUS WAYS OF JUST BREAKING. 1ST PLAYSTATION HAD SIMILAR PROBLEMS. MEMORY CARD PROBLEMS

I have been an avid video game player for many a year now and have owned pretty much every system out on the market at one time or another, give or take a few. I have been an owner of the playstation series for about 7-8 yrs. Playstation 2 for about 2. At the beginning everything worked fine. Even now sometimes it works fine, others no. For instance I have been having trouble saving games. Bought new memory cards and still having trouble with certain games. I really am annoyed that I have to pay another 150- 200$ on a new system. Until the people at Sony making millions of dollars on our sorry behinds start addressing this issue and fixing these problems i suggest you all out there try X Box. I've spent hundreds of dollars already on getting the 1st playstation fixed when it "broke". I'm tired of spending my hard earned money on junk electronics. If anyone can help please let me know. Thank JPL

By Rodman04 - Feb 24, 2004

I bought X-box last year, it turn...

Strengths: A lot of games to choose from, nearly 40% of them are promising,

Weakness: Too fragile, easy to broke, had to take care of it seriously, especially when cleaning the vent with low-powered vacumm.

I bought X-box last year, it turn out good at first with Halo, and Project Gotham Racing really impressed me with its graphics, after that things started to get boring, released titles just don't cut it out anymore, the best game released was Project Gotham Racing 2 while Halo 2 still at announcement stage, I realized that XBOX only has plenty (never reach 15 titles) of exciting games to play. That's why I bought a PS2, while this is not the best system in the market in term of graphics, but it does boost excellent game library which is why I've become insommiac days after bought it, the version I bought has a progressive scan support for DVD playback along with 75% quieter fan as I know that PS2 had a noisy fan. One thing about the system, it gives more choice on buying accessories, Network Adapter, Harddisk, vertical stand, etc. Be sure to get the Network Adapter, the others aren't worth to buy unless if the game requires it.So far I've played Final Fantasy X, X-2, XI, Suikoden III, Metal Gear Solid 2, Kingdom Hearts, Crash Bandicoot 4, Ratchet & Clank I & II, Jack & Daxter, Jak II, Grandia Extreme, Wild Arms III, Granturismo 3 & 4, Resident Evil:Outbreak, Fatal Frame I & II, Hitman I & II, GTA III & Vice City, .hack I, II, III, IV, Zone of the Enders I & II, Xenosaga, Sly Cooper & The Thevious Racoonus, Drakengard, Auto Modellista, The Suffering, Prince of Persia, Shadow Hearts, and Nightshade. All the titles mentioned above are the one I bought, yes, all of them (in 30 days since I purchased PS2), yup I could buy another PS2 if you combine all the game's price above. Right now there's still a couple more titles scheduled to release this year, Metal Gear Solid 3, Suikoden 4, Crash Twinsanity, Driver 3, and much more still pending (how am I going to stop playing PS2!!). Not all great games (includes the one mentioned) only available on PS2, yes but PS2 already has many great exclusive titles compared to its competitor, while the others would be available on PS2 with lesser graphic detail of course, but it still can be enjoyable to play since the graphics isn't too much difference, I own a XBOX, I know. Most games that developed for XBOX, GameCube and PS2 (multiple platform) always suffers badly on PS2, the ps2 will suffer is lower texture resolution, less-sharpness, but still retained some features like lightning & shading, everything else looks the same, performance is acceptable with 40-50fps, enough to deliver smooth gameplay REALLY (few of these titles perform at 30fps, such as Sonic Heroes but still it enjoy number 7 in sales charts because it's still fun to play). Now my XBOX (also known as GAY BOX for PS2 fans), kept in the storeroom waiting to collect dust, so don't just sit and read this review, go to the store and bought the PLAYSTATION 2, be sure to say "SCPH-50000 only".

By PS2owner - Apr 14, 2004

Playstation is the best X-Box...

Strengths: Everything

Weakness: No weaknesses

Playstation is the best X-Box sucks. Playstation has more games and better games. Playstation graphics are much much much better than any X-box or Gamecube combined. Gamecube and X-box are not good products compared to Playstation 2.

By thebomb - Apr 30, 2002

Do not want to even look at...

Strengths: good selection on games

Weakness: it's broken and sony does not supply the parts needed. Have to buy a new one or maybe not. XBox looks interesting

Do not want to even look at another Sony product after learning about the problems with the PS2. Very disappointing, the product and the company.

By grrou - May 15, 2003

i bought my son a sony play...

i bought my son a sony play station 2 in christmas of 2001 and about a year later it didnt work right. it plays some games and some games not.for instance we bought two games last night and one works and the other dosent.and the games he got for christmas sometimes works and sometimes dosent.so out of 25 games he has all in brand new condition only about 3 of them work.i need some suggestions about what to do.i cant bring it back cause it almost two years old.and i know they will not take it back.so we spent 299.99 on the system for nothing.we should of baught x-box .my nephew has x-box and has no problems at all.well live and learn.what am i gonn do with this system that dosent work well at all.

By saratebano - Aug 25, 2003

All i'm hearing about the xbox is...

Strengths: A system that does it all. Plays cds, dvds & ps1 games. how can you agrue with a system like that, and it's very, very, reliable. Your game selections is almost unlimited. Highly recommended.

Weakness: None what so ever.

All i'm hearing about the xbox is that the halo game rocks. Is this because it's the best game the xbox has to offer, and now you are forced to play it until you love it? Get the ps2, and expand your gaming options.

By trac48 - Mar 5, 2003

I still don't understand why...

Strengths: good graphics, great gameplay, large variety of games

Weakness: too many extras needed to be bought and drains money. :(

I still don't understand why people say Xbox graphics are better, I compare Silent Hill 2 or 3 to like Morrowind or Brute Force and notice the diffrence. Metal Gear Solid and Silent Hill (2 and 3) and even Gran Tirismo have like 5X the graphics of Xbox. Sure the Xbox has everything in the console instead of buying thousands of memory cards and the multi-tap, but the controlers on Xbox are so dumb and big. Plus the only games you would buy is Halo and stupid.:) So don't listen to other people buy a PS2 and nothing else.

By Widowmaker_X - Aug 12, 2003

The best console out there I have...

Strengths: Everything much better than anything else and GTA vice city kicks halo any day

Weakness: none

The best console out there I have never had a probelm with it and it can play dvds out of the box. Gamecube is for kids and xbox is pointless as I have a pc more powerful than it. xbox sucks.

By Snake13 - Jan 2, 2003

actually, my roommate has PS2, and...

Strengths: Powerful graphics, plays PS games too, future internet support, 5.1 Digital audio output

Weakness: lacking VCD playback, adding VGA support for best possible graphics

actually, my roommate has PS2, and I am planning to buy one, I hook it up to my Samsung 150MP through S-Video, the graphic is cool, but he has a monitor, which only has VGA input, then he has to use the little screen attached on PS one
if PS2 has VGA Support (640X480), the graphics on monitor will be a lot better than on TV
in addition, PS2 supports 5.1 out, you can get the profit when watching Dolby Digital DVD, and use audio hookup through Optical Digital out to your favorite home theater system
I know there'll have internet support, either through modem or lan, and PS2 hard drive will release in future, which has America Online, Real Player, Netscape...

By - Sep 29, 2001

PS2 is the best system yet! It has...

Strengths: It has great graphics, a wide selection of games and great controllers unlike the fat XBox ones.

Weakness: NA

PS2 is the best system yet! It has the exact graghics as the XBox and a lot better graphics than GC. Kingdom Hearts is the best game ever and it's only on the PS2. Sony makes a lot better thing s than the other game systems. XBox is only the first system from Microsoft so they don't know what they have to fix on it and what they did wrong. PS2 is far the best gaming system ever.

By Shiamak - Jan 25, 2004

Great system overall great games...

Strengths: Duarbility, Game play, Graphics, Better choise of games over Xbox,and Gamecube

Weakness: Sencitive to dust

Great system overall great games compared to gay box and the babies Cube. The only thing people say about xbox is Halo ... I've played that sorry excuse for a game and wasn't impressed. You have a PC for first person shooters. everything else get a PS2. Although if u do get a PS2 watch out for the dust.
As for graphics the games are brought out fast and there has yet to be a game to press this system to its limits. Lets wait to see which game will do that and compare the Gay box to that. See sony is smart unlike Xbox/GC which rape there system with almost each game. PS2 will have peeps drooling from beginning to end. Xbox only durring beginning GC only beginning and middle and just taht the GC was designed for kids noot teen and up Xbox well its too damn big! and is a worthless machine.

By DPSFxTREME - Nov 27, 2003

Ok, first off, yes PS2 is the best...

Strengths: great handle on the controller, DVD w/ no additions, sleak design

Weakness: some lag, some loading time

Ok, first off, yes PS2 is the best system out there, why do i say this?

Game Cube:
Pros: amazing system, beautiful design, extremely difficult to make copies, making people buy legit copies of the games

Cons: not enough games, and very easy to damage, lose the minidicks. No DVD available, no broadband adapter available (yet)

X Box:
Pros: very smooth graphics, nViDia chip makes 3D Graphics come out beautifully

Cons: ugly controller, also, game is too sluggish, i played it for about 2 hours straight to try it before i bought my PS2... i went for hte PS2 becuase, first off: not enough good games, HALO, and SoCOM are the only decent games out on the xbox. ALso, the games cost about 1/3 the price of the console itself, i would not want to pay $90 for an X-Box game

PS2: the controller is great, maybe becuase i've owned a PSX, it was really comfortable to use. Consoles are MUCH better than PC's when it coems to gaming why? becuase CONSOLES ARE ONLY MADE FOR GAMING, 100% GAMING ONLY, PC's must do much other things. Also, ALL THE POWER GOES INTO GAMES, not running "Windows" or having ICQ or MSN in the background, no, ONLY the game. Also, the PS2 is running a 300 MHz Processor, lets see your 300 Mhz run games like Gran Turismo 3.

TO those who've had it for 2 years, did u expect your PS2 to last you a lifetime?

in conclusion: PS2 is the better choice over consoles w/ 299+ Games, and so much more

catalyst_007@hotmail.com to e-mail me

By catalyst_007 - Jan 22, 2003

PS2 is the best game console at...

Strengths: Most of the games. Great game like Metal Gear Solid 2, Final Fantasy X, X-2, Zone of the Enders 2nd runner, Grand Thief Auto vice city and many more.

Weakness: NA

PS2 is the best game console at the market. Although PS2 is not as powerful as Xbox on hardware but it have most successful game and ultima graphics.The console is also very durable. With mod chip you can even play all type of game without region restriction. Dual Shock 2 controller is very friendly use too.

By kenshin_ml - Apr 9, 2003

Console games will never compare...

Strengths: Plugs into your TV. Great gaming for brainless people.

Weakness: It's a console unit. Consoles are still weak.

Console games will never compare to a PC. They are always behind. You can't run bigger resloutions, and because you play them on a TV, they use that washed out anti-aliasing so the edges won't be so jaggy.

Consoles are great after a hard night at the bar, because you really don't have to think to play one.

If you want a challenge, a long with 10 times better graphics, buy a real PC, instead of these crap ones that don't come with a real controller(keyboard and mouse) and make you buy a card to save your games.

By Greebus - Feb 8, 2002

Although ps2 has the best online...

Strengths: Ultimate thing of doom GET THIS SYSTEM

Weakness: gRAPHICS DOnt ComPare to xbox or GC

Although ps2 has the best online stuff, xbox happenes to be better if u have the money to supply bill gates(the richest man in the world) which is why i have chose ps2 over xboz

By lexanoroc - Sep 22, 2003

First off I would just like to say...

Strengths: Nothing but Hype.

Weakness: Everything including Hype=no hard drive+2 controller slots+Crappy quality

First off I would just like to say that rich fatcats at Sony robbed me of $200 3 months ago.I thought I would see what everyone was talking about.Man was I wrong.This was a piece of SH*t to begin with.Even GTA3 wasn't that good(Its much better on the PC)My main beef with Sony is that they hardly improved much upon the PS one.They just put a slightly faster CPU in the PS one and put it in a black rectangle.Thats all.PS2 is just slightly better than the Dreamcast.Besides Sony lies to all of you(Pennywize is right)saying that this is the best console.What a load of crap.Technically it can't come close to the Xbox(Emotion Engine vs Nvida)I am so glad that I traded my PS2 for an Xbox.Man is the xbox sweet(read my Xbox review)With games like Halo,Mech Assualt and Ghost Recon.And future titles like Return to Castle Wolf,Halo2 and Sof2(I'm a big FPS fan can you tell)Another thing I would like to say is that Sony's online gaming sucks balls.All those monthly subscriptions for single games.Xbox Live is a much better ran system.Microsft built its Xbox with high quality hardware that was built to last(and please the gamer)which can't be said about Sony(Liars promised me a great system hah!)Even Sony hit GTA Vice City is going to the PC and I bet the PC will make use of its supierior graphics. In conclusion the PS2 is a waste of money.Xbox rules and 2003 will be the year of the Xbox.

By Shrimpsandwhich - Feb 16, 2003

The Playstation 2 isn't even close...

Strengths: Hype

Weakness: Its not what is is suppose to be

The Playstation 2 isn't even close to being the most powerful console, and its a proven fact that almost every game ported to the Gamecube from the PS2, looks better on Nintendo's machine (Freekstyle, Madden 2003, etc.). Its not even running a 300 mhz processor, its only 294 mhz. Of course, you fanboys would belive anything sony tells you. Fanboys always brag about having the most games, but here's the catch. If you took every game made for the playstation 2, and threw way only the trash, you would have the same number of games as the Gamecube and XBox. Its all hype, just like when the Dreamcast was beating the PS2's socks off, Sony resorted to thier hype tactics, and people belived every word. You fanboys keep beliveing the B.S and the rest of us real gamers, will go on, knowing that the real games are on the XBox and Gamecube. Sure PS2 has Tekken 4 and Grandtheft Auto, but the Gamecube is getting even better games, like True Crime: Streets of L.A., and Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance. I'd put the XBox and Gamecube head to head with the Hype machine, I mean, Playstation 2 anyday.

By Pennywize - Jan 25, 2003

Minion_1011

Strengths: Good Graphics.Easy To setup

Weakness: Long Loading Times.Freezes ALOT.Movies No Longer Work.

I bought this system when it first came out.And I love it the graphics are good the games are awsome the online is cool and watching DVD's is cool but there are some ups and downs.Like now my DVD's don't work anymore it FREEZES ALOT and REALLY LONG LOADING TIMES!

By Minion_1011 - Aug 14, 2005

I bought the PS2 expecting it to...

Strengths: It was good when it came out to an extremely ansy gamer.

Weakness: Hmmm uhm.. it breaks!

I bought the PS2 expecting it to be a durable system that WOULDN'T just STOP WORKING. One would've expect Sony to correct the mistakes made in the first playstation: mainly the fact that the first systems released had to be turned on their side in under 6 months because SOMETHING (probably the laser) was dying inside. Well the same is true in their second release. After having PS2 for little under a year, the DVD player stopped working altogether. 6 months later, games stopped working 100%. Now I have to do a dance, and pray around my playstation to get a game to work. pretty soon i'll be stuck with a $300 hunk of sony-feces. I say get the cube.

By Oogt - Jan 6, 2002

I DONT HAVE A CLUE WHAT SOME OF...

Strengths: Light controller,cool design, Great Games,Great graphics,Plays DVDs,Plays CDs.MY GOSH WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR!

Weakness: There's no flippen Weaknesses!

I DONT HAVE A CLUE WHAT SOME OF YOU GUYZ ARE TALKIN ABOUT THE PS2 IS THE BEST! XBOX SUCKS SOOOOOO BAD! THE CONTROLLER IS SOOOOOOO BIG, THE CONSOLE ITSELF IS SO FLIPPEN HUGE! THE GAMES SUCK. I MEAN GEEZ YOU GET A FLIPPIN CRAMP IN YOUR HAND HOLDING THE XBOX CONTROLLER TOO LONG! I HAVE HAD MY PS2 FOR ALMOST 3 YEARS! AND NOT A DARN THING HAS HAPPENED TO MINE. All i'm saying is just take better care of it.
P.S. Same for GC and PC thay suck too!

By 007fan - Feb 29, 2004

the ps2 is to over rated. the...

Strengths: i have XOBX PS2 Gamecube and the original super nintindo i have read all these reviews about ps2 all of yal r tripping this system has only 1 strenth varaity of games thats it

Weakness: the ps2 is not good at all compared to others. the only reason i baught it was to keep my self busy. the dust thing yeah it sucks if u have a dirty house and hard to keep clean yeah ur ps2 will blow

the ps2 is to over rated. the graphic suck compared to XBOX. XBOX has a higher resolution then ps2 and is better for online play as well. and yes not the many games for xbox either. XBOX is still pretty new. takes time to build variety. Ps2 has a low proflie fan to keep the inside clean. the resolution is low not even HDTV ready. u have to buy a cord to make graphics better wuts up with that. games tend to not work on ps2. DVD tend not to work on ps2. XBOX well my XOBX is dusty like crazy and still works. has a very good fan to keep inside clean. ive tested both for qualty. HDTV ready. it has a lan modem. compared to ur 56k modem for ps2. WOW. it is heat sensative. but just turn it off after 8 hours of play and get a drink or something. then paly again. these reviews i read r bogus. u buy ps2 and yet say it sucks then say its good because of game vareity. then u lost 300 dollars and spend 300 more. yall r tripping. thats my opion. i rated this top buy because of how many games it has. and i keep my systems clean so dust is not a problem.

By flipmoe12 - Oct 30, 2004

It is better then Xbox because...

Strengths: It has the most games and the best games.

Weakness: you need to buy to much stuff like a memory card, second controller,network adapter.

It is better then Xbox because Xbox has nothing but 3 good games. Halo, halo2 and socom. the other games are boring and they have the same stuff in it.


It is way better then gamecube because gamecube has the worst graphics, worst games, kiddish games, no dvd, even the PS1 is more funner to play then this.

By Warrior_Honor - Jul 27, 2003

I THINK THAT 150$ IS A GOOD DEAL...

Strengths: RJ BARRETT,MOUNT HOLLY,NC,13 I THINK THE STRENGTH WOULD PROBALLY HAVE TO BE THE GAMES.BECAUSE PS2 HAS THE BEST GAMES BY FAR .

Weakness: THE WEAKNESSES WOULD PROBALLY HAVE TO BE THE FACT THAT YOU CAN ONLY PLUG IN TWO CONTROLLERS. UNLIKE GAMECUBE.

I THINK THAT 150$ IS A GOOD DEAL FOR A PS2,UNLIKE THE XBOX WHICH HAS BIG OLD BULKY CONTROLLERS THAT YOU CAN`T PLAY ANY RACING GAMES SUCH AS MIDNIGHT CLUB 2, GRANTURISMO, AND NEED
FOR SPEED.OH,YEAH JAY88 IF THE PS2 IS OVER PRICED ,THE XBOX
IS OUTRAGEOUSLY OVER PRICED!!!

By ryanjames - Jul 4, 2003

After I bought the PS2 I was very...

Strengths: A lot of good games, plays DVDs, cds, and Ps2 game discs (but not in my case)and cool blue and green lights.

Weakness: Very durable. Loud fan, usually cannot read a DVD, Cd, or Ps2 (blue) disc in a year or so.

After I bought the PS2 I was very happy with it. There were no malfunctions, glitches and the game didn't freeze. But in about 9 months it couldn't read any blue game discs. I went online and checked out the problem and found out that it was very common. For some people can't read DVDs others can't read cds etc. I tried cleaning my game system with a vacuum, cleaning the lense, and using a disc cleaner on all of my blue discs (which were already in mint condition and so was my PS2, I am a very neat person) and the games still didn't work. I also e-mailed Sony and asked them what was the problem. They told me solutions that I already tried. I don't know what I should do now. I think I might sell it and buy I new one. I am much more happier with my Xbox which I had for almost the same amount of time. It never freezes has better graphics, and sometimes better games. But still, Ps2 is the king of fun games!

By Stupendousgamer - Mar 22, 2003

The playstation 2 is a great...

Strengths: Great graphics, built in dvd player, cool controller, playstation 1 compatible.

Weakness: Only a few good games. Macro vision prevents watching dvd's thru VCR

The playstation 2 is a great purchase especially if you don't have a dvd player. Beware though, if you are buying as a dvd player, your tv needs S-video, RCA or component video in. There is no regular coax adapter, and if you try to play a dvd using your vcr as the converter, you are jacked. The picture fades in and out. I got GT3 bundle (present from girlfriend). I race for hours. Lots of fun. I can't believe how sucky some of the games for it are though. Original nintendo ports and stuff... Others are good though.

By zakuhn - Sep 10, 2001

When i first bought the PS2 i...

Strengths: Good For Audio CD's

Weakness: DVD's don't play in it for long. Slightest scratch or stickiness on CD/DVD/Game and it doesn't play.

When i first bought the PS2 i thought it was very strong and durable. After a while it began to make funny noises, a while after that it would only play a few DVD's and now doesn't play ANY of my PS2 games. I contacted Sony and asked them and they said it was a bad console. Although when i searched on the internet i found out it was a common problem. One of the few good things is that it has a wide range of hardware and accessories out now and to come!

By EC - Feb 27, 2003

THIS SYSTEM IS THE BEST!!! THAT'S...

Strengths: 1)REALLY FUN GAMES THAT LOOK GREAT 2)PERFECT CONTROLER 3)BETTER BRAND ON MAKING GAMES 4)DOESN'T OVER HEAT(LIKE XBOX!!) 5)DOESN'T NEED A SPECIAL CONTROLER TO PLAY DVD'S(X-BOX 6)IT'S NOT BIG AS F@#%

Weakness: NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THIS SYSTEM IS THE BEST!!! THAT'S WHY PS2 SOLD MORE THAN GAMECUBE AND XBOX. XBOX HAS GOOD GRAPHICS BUT THEIR GAMES ARE F!@#^*$ BORING AS HELL!!!PS2 WILL NEVER BE BEAT, THAT GOES OUT FOR XBOX & G.C FANS

By sergioPS2yeah - May 23, 2002

COME ON GUYS THE TRUTH IS OUT...

Strengths: 2years ago when i bought a PS2 because it was the best back then...now its just collecting dust or used as a door stop. the only strengths it has is ripping us off!!!! so sony is telling us to "get F"

Weakness: WOW WHOOPY DOO...BIG GAME SELECTIONS..90% OF THE GAMES ARE BORRING AND MADE CHEAP LIKE THEY HAVE BEEN RUSHED! PS2 IS LIKE MACDONALDS(would u like any fries with that!) IT IS SLOW AND POORLY BUILT!!!!!

COME ON GUYS THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE AND GET THE FACTS RIGHT! I OWN A PS2 AND I KNOW THAT IT STUFFS UP WHEN IT PLAYS DVD'S AND GAMES, I HATE IT WHEN UR WATCHING A MOVIE AND STOPS IN THE MIDDLE!!!(FURY) ITS GOING TO HAPPEN SOONER OR LATER SO DONT DENY URSELF U PS2 HOBO'S. PLUS THERES NO 4 PORTS FOR CONTROLLERS HOW FREAKING CHEAP IS THAT AND THE BLOODY MEMORY CARD IS SOOOOOOOO OVER PRICED!!!
CABLES AND EVERYTHING IS NOT STURDY OR WORHTY OF ALL THE TROUBLE AND FORKING OUT THE EXTRA MONEY FOR THE DAMN CHEAP MULTITAP AND MEM CARD, PS2 IS LIKE CONECT THIS AND THAT AND TANGLE THIS AND THAT. THE LIST GOES ON..........AND ON AND ON...LOL..BUY A PS2 AND ULL REGRET IT FOR SURE!! I DONT CARE WHAT U CALL IT OR HOW ITS MADE "XBOX ROCKS" IT SELLS ITSELF! I USE TO BE A LAME PS2 PERSON AND NOT TRY ANY OTHER CONSOLE'S BUT WHEN I TRIED HALO IT WAS ALL OVER, I GOT THE XBOX NO MATTER WOT, I DIDNT CARE ABOUT WOT IT HAD I KNOW FOR INSTANT PS2 IS A CLASS BELOW IT. BILL GATES(GENIUS) DESERVES EVERY PENY OF MINE INTO HIS BILLIONS. ITS NOT MONOPOLY ITS ABOUT HAVING THE BEST AND DONT SETTLE FOR 2ND BEST. WHEN U FEEL AND PLAY THE XBOX U KNOW ITS "THE LORD OF THE CONSOLES" REAL GAMERS WILL KNOW THE TRUTH!!! I KNOW PEOPLE BRAG ON ABOUT THE PS2, HAVE NOT EVEN TRIED OR PLAYED XBOX B4, THEY JUST WANNA DO IT CAUSE THEY ARE JELOUS OF XBOX WELL BOO HOO!!!

By letsnibble - Mar 25, 2003

With my experience in owning a...

Strengths: Large game library and PS1 backwards compatability.

Weakness: Two controller ports(where are the other 2?);need memory cards; to keep it simple, there's the need of buying to many add on components when it's offered on other consoles; inferior graphics.

With my experience in owning a Playstation 2 I've come to the conclusion that the only good titles are the Grand Tourismo series, Metal Gear Solid Series, and Final Fantasy, Grand Theft Auto would be another but that series will be making it's way to the other consoles. Pretty much all games are ruined by hype. Another aspect is that the systems comes short in multiplayer when both GameCube and Xbox offer that. Playstation 2's online gaming also is inferior to Xbox Live with all that Xbox Live has to offer along with what Xbox is going to offer in the near future. Without the three titles named abve the PS2 really falls behind in offering all the excitement that a gamer is looking into experiencing. Hopefully that will change, otherwise I'll be an unhappy PS2 owner.

By RRPJ - Jun 27, 2003

A Must Buy. Has all the games you...

Strengths: Fun Games. Most Games Come Out On It. A Must Buy.

Weakness: DVD player is slow. Needs extra hardware for 4 player action.

A Must Buy. Has all the games you could want and it can play DVDs and CDs. If you can only buy one system let it be this one. Addictive with any genre of game you could want.

By WhyWouldIStop - Apr 5, 2004

TO TELL YOU THE TRUTH I DONT OWN A...

Strengths: great graphics a huge selection of games nice contrller size

Weakness: some times it may freeze on you just when youre on the verge of passing a level

TO TELL YOU THE TRUTH I DONT OWN A PS2 I OWN A GAMECUBE WHICH IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME MY COUSIN OWN A PS2 AND WHEN I SLEEP OVER HIS HOUSE I OFTEN BRING MY GC OVER JUST IN CASE SO I GO OVER HIS HOUSE ALMOST EVERY WEEKEND WHEN I GET THERE WE START TO PLAY GRAND THEFT AUTO 3 WHEN WE FINSH A CERTAIN JOB THE WHOLE SYSTEM FREEZES OVER AND WE GET PISSED IM NOT SAYING THAT PS2 IS A BAD SYSTEM IT JUST THAT IT REALLY DOES PISSES YOU OFF DONT GET THAT FEELING WHEN YOU JUST WANNA BREAK SOMETHING WHEN YOU ARE ABOUT TO FINISH SOMETHING IT FREEZES ON YOU SO I BRING OVER MY CUBE JUST FOR THAT REASON AND AFTER THAT ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE IN SUPER SMASH BROTHERS MEELE SOME TIMES WE JUST PLAY AGENT NDER FIRE THATS ABOUT IT

By YOURTHEBEST - Jul 24, 2002

I purchased this system thinking...

Strengths: I had good graphics and played DVDs

Weakness: It broke. It doesn't play DVD's anymore and it barely plays games. I wish I could return it but it is too late.

I purchased this system thinking it would last and b amazing. I was wrong. I advise that you don't purchase this system. It has only been a problem. We have to try and reset the game over and over again until it works, and sometimes it doesn't work at all.

By poeyspeak - Feb 8, 2002

The PS2 is a great system. You get...

Strengths: Great graphics and a DVD player.

The PS2 is a great system. You get a free DVD player along with a game system. It's compatible with PS1 games so you can play all your old games along with the new system. Case design looks cool as well.

By aaronc - Sep 14, 2001

PS2 is good for those who have...

Strengths: Lots of games to choose from.

Weakness: Crappy durability, had to be sent in for repairs after one year of casual use. Online gaming is laggy and incompatible for several ISP's. Slow loading speeds.

PS2 is good for those who have money to blow. The game selection is large, but only because it supports the large amount of junky PS1 games. Also, many of the PS2 games are remakes that have no need for a remake, such as frogger 1, frogger 2, frogger 3d, frogger 4, and frogger gold edition. COme on now, the games for the PS2 aren't that good. I don't like RPG's that have been ported from Japan very much either, because the translations suck so much. At this moment if you are reading this review, trying to figure out which console to buy, get the Xbox. THe PS2's days are over. The xbox Live is taking the PS2's online service's trash out. I wish I could buy Xbox, but I'm broke from buying Frogger 1, 2, 3d, and gold edition.

I would strongly disaprove of anyone buying this system. The Xbox has so much more to offer in the futere, and even now.

By Icebird - Feb 13, 2003

GET XBOX OR GAMECUBE! Dont waste...

Strengths: None! Nothing good to say about it.

Weakness: All of the above! This system sucks. It hardly plays any of the games plus the games have the worst graphics ever! THe system also looks ugly. The resolution sucks, what more can i say...a lot.

GET XBOX OR GAMECUBE! Dont waste your money on ps2. It is the worst system ever. Why couldn't sony make it like the ps1. ??? Im sorry to say that. I liked sony. But Microsoft and Nintendo are just ahead of the crowd. SOrry!

By bobsmith3582 - Mar 12, 2002

i think tha people that compare...

Strengths: u gotta read it

Weakness: to understand

i think tha people that compare x-box and ps2 have really no clue what they are talking about..............tha reason why is because there besically the same system, sure x-box is alittle more powerfull but it sure doesnt show it....and havnt u guyz seen that they make practily the same games.........if you took hitman 2 for ps2 and tha box and put it on tha same tv , they would be no difference at all...........and guyz X_BOX FREEZEZ too tha only system that freezes is game cube
and i dont know what goin on here butz whatz wit tha dvd for ps2 n the music downloader for x- box...........like we ask for a freegin SYSTEM to play games ..thatz why tha prices are so high cause they added a pile of shyt to make look betta................so honestly, tha best system outthere is game cube, but i dont really like it the same reason you dont like it, itz just makes childish games, but they are comming out with alot of t/m ratings soon..........but if game cube made the same games as x- box/ps2.....i think that game cube would have it all

By thatruthtella - Jan 1, 2003

Ps2 is the best system out because...

Strengths: graphics, sports game , online play

Weakness: needs a game very simelar to halo in 3rd person

Ps2 is the best system out because it has the best graphics and gameplay x box is good to but it doesnt have good sports game ps2 would be much better if had halo or somthing very similar

By Crabypatty32 - Jun 7, 2003

The system is great and Sony is...

Strengths: best games, best controllers EVER, best company, great customer support.

Weakness: A few problems with playing games

The system is great and Sony is THE best with controllers for everything, it can play ps1 games and has great games and peripherals. There is a problem with it not reading some things sometimes but when I called Sony they offered to fix it free after my warranty expired all I have to do is pay S&H. Thats alot better then I heard about the support for the X-Box and in general its just alot better then the other systems out there. Well worth buying the system and the peripherals like the amazing Logitech steering will that WORKS ON YOUR COMPUTER! The network adapter is easy to install and great and theres more to come! Also there is a thing out there you can buy to play divx mpegs and mp3s on your ps2. Very cool system alot funner then the others I have played. Buy it and fon't neglect the peripherals!

By wolverine05 - Sep 22, 2002

The XBOX may be more powerful than...

Strengths: Everything this console has to offer is great! I've had mine since it was first released and have had no troubles with the console.

Weakness: Absolutely None!

The XBOX may be more powerful than the PS2, but it doesn't show at all! Besides, the PS2 has more quality games than XBOX and Gamecube. Onto the DVD Player...many ppl say that it sucks, but the truth is, it's great! Especially to be built in...I mean, what more do you want from it? Geez, the thing plays DVD perfectly and has the standard DVD options. Just because it doesn't have all of the special options that few DVD players have doesn't mean that it sucks! Don't believe the negative comments! The PS2, whether it's games, music cd's, or dvd's, works great! This system is undoubtedly the king of all consoles...that is, until the PlayStation 3 comes out!

By briankbl - Jul 23, 2002

I like ps2 because when it first...

Strengths: great graphics gta3 is very good

Weakness: nothing

I like ps2 because when it first came out i played it at wal mart and it was awsome gta3 is one of the best games for ps2 i would pick that system over alot of them so buy it is what my friend jeff kinzler says thank you for your time

Rick Karls

By rickydogg3 - Jul 5, 2002

IF YOU DONT BUY PS2 NOW JUST WAIT...

Strengths: 1. Japanese style is great. 2. Quantity of games 3. Quality of games. 4. FUN FOR EVERYONE IN THIS PLANET SINCE YOU CAN CHOOSE THE GAME THAT REALLY LIKES YOU. 5. Complexity of graphics. 6. Sound

Weakness: none

IF YOU DONT BUY PS2 NOW JUST WAIT 2005 TO BUY PS3 WITH 110 GHZ.
Xbox and GC just do not have the "power" to win this battle, and the difference is naturally in the quality of games. Because the hardware is better if you compare velocity and graphics, but if game-developers dont put the same quality of games THEY DONT HAVE ANY OPPORTUNITY.

By spiezzaossa - Apr 20, 2002

oh yeah the greatest console ever...

Strengths: it has awesome graphics. it is just the best console ever made. my whole family loves it.

Weakness: it only came with 1 controller and it cost 320.00 dollars

oh yeah the greatest console ever made indeed.the games are the most koolest games i've ever seen. ps2 kicks xboxes butt this years and every year. ps2 is without a doubt the most koolest system ever. i bought mine yesterday 2/4/02 at target , and it is the bomb. my dad is 36 and he loves it more than me. i got two games nascar thunder 2002 for my dad and tony hawks pro skater 3 for me , but i also want to get state of emergency.it looked like a bad game . so i rate ps2 5 stars and better baby.

By 1joey2 - Feb 5, 2002

Better than anything else. FIFA...

Strengths: great graphics

Weakness: none

Better than anything else. FIFA 2001 is a really cool game to play on PlayStation 2, great graphics, and really fun to play. You feel like if you were inside an actual soccer stadium. Great to play any game. I would strongly recommend any one to get one.

By diegoool - Sep 14, 2001

Great customer service!

Strengths: Great game selection, great customer service

Weakness: Hardware

I am a big fan of Sony's customer service. My laser wasn't working properly because I played a lot of NFL2K5 (look up the issues with the PS2 laser and this particular game when you have time) - the Sony customer service department responded fairly quickly and I simply shipped my PS2 over to their processing center and voila, my PS2 worked as if it was brand new.

What is everyone else's experience with Sony's customer service? Let's hear all the good stories, and the horror stories!

By antucd123 - Jul 1, 2010

john

Strengths: can play old playstation game and two plus it has a dvd player, lots of games, more up coming game are on the way plus it's cheaper than playstation 3

Weakness: sometime some of the blue or silver button disk doesn't read and have message read disk error sometime you might have to replce the laser and clean the eye or reset the gears

to fix the read disk error go to youtube type fix read disk error on playstation 2 but overall this is the best console i ever bougth you can get the game very cheap by going to garage sale,ebay etc invest yourself get a playstation 2
it worth the money depend on the model playstion you got
you can buy the laser replacement for disk read error or cleaning solution

By quietguy102 - Apr 19, 2008

PS2

Strengths: BEST GAMING SYSTEM SENCE THE PS1,MORE GAMING TITLES TO CHOOSE FROM,AND STILL THE BEST PRICES FOR NEW AND USED TITLES,PLAYS EVERYTHING,DVD'S-CD'S AND GAMES

Weakness: NONE SENCE I BOUGHT IT 7 YEARS AGO.

THAT'S RIGHT FOLKS,BOUGHT THIS MODEL 7 YEARS AGO, AND ONLY NOW IS IT STARTING TO ACT UP,BUT GET THIS,AFTER ALL IT'S BEEN THROUGH CONSIDER WHAT IT'S DONE,500 DVD FILMS-200 CD'S-AND OVER 80 GAME TITLES,WE'RE TALKING ABOUT AN AMAZING AMOUNT OF USER TIME ON THIS MACHINE,I DON'T LIKE THE SLIM DESIGN,TOP LOADING,INSTED OF FRONT LOADING TRAY,NO COOLING FAN,WHAT WAS SONY THINKING?,NEVER HAD A MOMORY CARD PROBLEM,LOOKS IT'S BEST WITH COMPONET CABLE USEING PROGRESSIVE SCAN MODE,MY ONLY PROBLEM IS TRYING TO FIND THE ORIGINAL MODEL DESIGN,SONY DIDN'T NEED TO CHANGE ANYTHING,BEST SYSTEM,BEST PRICES OVER ALL,PS3 MAY BE A STEP UP,IF YOUR WILLNG TO SPEND MORE,I'M NOT.

By SEATSLOW - Feb 8, 2008

PS2 from hell

Strengths: none-maybe lots of games(but don't all work)

Weakness: bad speed(for its age), not enough memory for games, does not read certain discs properly at all and after a year of use the laser malfunctions(does not last long).

bad speed(for its age), not enough memory for games, does not read certain discs properly at all and after a year of use the laser malfunctions(does not last long).

By anonymous; - May 17, 2007

PS2 has few problems

Strengths: Works all around very well

Weakness: Gets dusty over time which leads to malfunctions and customer assistance does not have a fix for it except to mail it in and let them fix it. Playing DVD's.

It works great except it collects dust due to large openings all over the system. It is moderately fast, but has trouble playing DVD's because it can not spin the disk fast enough.

By blusno25 - Jan 6, 2006

Cry Babys

Strengths: none

Weakness: low selfesteem

There is no need to argue about a game.It's alway going to be better things that come along. It's suspose to help you get stronger on the way not get mad because that's exactly what they want you to do and your doing it so suck it up and quit being a baby about it.

By anonymous; - Sep 26, 2005

Playstation 2 is Great!

Strengths: Amazing graphics,good clear sound, DVD player, and controls that is easy to get use too and is easy to learn.

Weakness: Games cost to much, Need more adventure games for kids, Could use different designs to choose from instead of the basic black box.

Playstation 2, Is by far the best console out their. A nice slim design and very light. First console to come out with a built in DVD player, which is so crisp and clear. 10/10 for this amazing piece of technology!

By anonymous; - Aug 21, 2005

Minion_1011

Strengths: Good Graphics.Easy To setup

Weakness: Long Loading Times.Freezes ALOT.Movies No Longer Work.

I bought this system when it first came out.And I love it the graphics are good the games are awsome the online is cool and watching DVD's is cool but there are some ups and downs.Like now my DVD's don't work anymore it FREEZES ALOT and REALLY LONG LOADING TIMES!

By anonymous; - Aug 14, 2005

ps2

Strengths: it plays dvds, it stays on for 10 hours without stopping, easy to use controllers, wide varriety of games, and good graphics.

Weakness: I didn't like that the games cost more than 50$ and that most of them never turn greatest hits then you have to buy the game for 70$, alot of wires , memory card didn't have alot of room.

I really enjoy having my ps2 i would like more room on memory cards wireless console and that the games would me cheaper and that I wouldn't have to wait for it to be a greatest hit because most of them never become a greatest hit.

Now, the games were fun hard but some loading screens took along time, was no problem but it was annoying the controllers were small and good, plays dvds graphics better then expected and it took along time before you would have to shut it off for those who break youre ps2 shut it off when you are done clean youre memory cards by deleting games you don't want and my ps2 fell 3 times and hit the floor and my controllers have hit the floor sooo many times its uncountable and my ps2 is not broken

By anonymous; - Jul 14, 2005

I think PS2 is a great system.It...

Strengths: ...

Weakness: ...

I think PS2 is a great system.It works great, runs fast,has great graphics, and hardly any lag.But the only reason i hate it is the price, if it was cheap i would like it but it's way to pricy.

Yes, Sony did rip us off but luckly i dont own one i just play on my friends all the time.Im just going to wait till prices go down.

By Junkies3 - Feb 18, 2003

Altogether, I would say that the...

Strengths: Pretty good graphics, LOTS of games. Can also play PSone games.

Weakness: None.

Altogether, I would say that the PS2 has been the best thing that I have ever got. This is great because it is pretty skinny , so it can fit in tight spots. I haven't had any problems with it, and the variety of games that it has is unbelievable (thousands if you include all the PSone games that it can play). A video game freak like myself, I'd recommend this console to anyone who can't decide which one to buy.

By seen3 - Feb 17, 2003

Cashidler wrote: Well it didn't...

Strengths: Large Variety of Games, Every Genre of Gaming, Out of box DVD playback, quality of Sony

Weakness: Older than the other 2 consoles

Cashidler wrote:
Well it didn't make much sense but he basicly said the PS2 has more loyalists than all the other consoles combined. Theres a good reason behind it.Sony deliver's quality, very fun sonsole with great titles.
"PS2 came out too early they should have took a longer time to improve it" - or something like that
Um... if i remember correctly when the PS2 came out it had the best graphics anyone had EVER seen in a console. It raised the mark for consoles and has continued to do so.
Plain and simple. Ok the Xbox looks better, WOW PS2 has better titles, more titles.
XBox - focuses on looking purty
PS2 - has the best CONTENT, and for any true gamer thats what really counts

By Camino5451 - Dec 30, 2002

All you lot saying PS2 is aload of...

Strengths: The Playstation killer franchise, Looks very cool with a stand, Superb DVD playback, Customer helpline is very good (UK) very quick replacment, qulity built. No worrys

Weakness: that all depends on how old ur PS2 is and how you handle it. No weaknesses

All you lot saying PS2 is aload of sh*t your talking out your back side, heres a sh*t console, N64...heres a stonkingly good console..PS2

Heres a PC in a box which cant be upgraded...XBOX
Heres an console thats going down the same road as N64... GAMECUBE
(The lunchbox)

PS2 Will overcome this "compation"
Enough said

By Gavin_84 - Aug 10, 2002

I own a Game Cube, and a PS2, and...

Strengths: Games

Weakness: Loading Time, Durability, Playstation 2's technical support is just awful, Over Priced

I own a Game Cube, and a PS2, and if I compared both the Game Cube would win. There seems to be these rumors that Playstation2 has better graphics, which is simply untrue. Check out Game Cube's Resident Evil, and the transition of Tony Hawk 3 from PS2 to Game Cube, the graphics are unmatched. The loading time is just way too long for PS2, it ruins many games, and the DVD on the PS2, would be worthless if it was on retail by itself. There for, I don't think your getting a good deal. In all I think it's a rip off, trying to entice you with a cheap DVD player, Your better off getting a Game Cube or an Xbox.

By Jay84 - Aug 3, 2002

Yes, it is true. PS2 has the...

Strengths: Wide verity of games. Dont need controler to play DVD's. Good graphics.

Weakness: Breaks way to much. Games have been known not to work.

Yes, it is true. PS2 has the biggest game selection there is. And has a lot of really great games. I've had the PS2 for a little over a year now, and I've gone through 4 of them. That's right, 4... It seems like everytime I began to have a great time, it would freeze one me. Even worse, I would get a hole new PS2 and find out that a new game I bought was bad too. I've probably gone through about 11 bad games this year. Which really sucks. So finally, i got fed-up with the system, and bought my self a bran-new XBOX. And I am proud to say that I have had a much better time with it. Yes it is big, and the controlers and huge. But the PS2 games like Splashdown and Max Payne just dont seem the same on XBOX. Graphics are much better, and even runs smoother. The water in Splashdown looks like the water at the beach, like you could drink it. So yes, PS2 is good to have, if you've got a lot of money, and dont mind returning it, then get it and nock your self out. But if you want a system that doesn't break donw, and has excelent game play, and astonishing graphics. Get an XBOX, and a copy of HALO :) ...

By TiKi_WizarD - Jul 17, 2002

I would definatly recomend buying...

Strengths: 1.Very similar setup and controls as PSX 2.Incredible graphics and sound 3.You can play DVDs 4.It is reverse compatible with almost all PSX games 5.It can use PSX Dual Shock Controller

Weakness: 1.The DVD quality is kinda fuzzy 2.Some games load very slowly 3.Some games are on both systems 4.Earlier systems have bugs

I would definatly recomend buying a PS2. It has the biggest library of games of all the next-gen systems simply because it can play all the old PSX games, plus it can use the old controllers too. It also has a huge library of PS2 games already to choose from. It has games for every one: sports fans, role players, puzzlers, shooters, and all the rest. Gamecube and X-Box are both great systems too, but I would definatly choose PS2 over them a hundred time over.

By Dunbarbalooie2 - Jul 12, 2002

Sony PS2 is probably the best all...

Strengths: A great system with great graphics (although not as good as gamecube/x box in most situations). Great selection of games and ease of use. Best designed controller out there. Built in DVD player is great

Weakness: Graphics could be better, although they are perfectly fine for most. DVD player could be better, as it lacks the quality, speed and features of other players.

Sony PS2 is probably the best all around system to date, with its great selection of games, sturdy construction and good audio/video quality. Sure, x-box may boast better graphics, but the other features and selection of games of PS2 has to offer completely overshadows all competing systems

By einstein1486 - Jul 5, 2002

PlayStation 2 is one of the best...

Strengths: A ton. The graphics on the majority of the games are fast and quickloading. I must also add that Gamecube and X-Box are also very good looking systems ; except that X-Box is a HUGE system.

Weakness: Some games take so long to load you turn the system off bored from waiting. Some of the games can get scratched really easily, DVD quality isn't is sharp as it should be.

PlayStation 2 is one of the best systems out so far. Loading is kept to a minimum, the games aren't ALL childish, the graphics are silky smooth. Games don't come on multiple CDs, they come on DVD-Roms instead (VERY COOL). You can play PSone games on PS2 which makes it even cooler (all of those Final Fantasy fans that only have a PS2 know what I am talking about). I love the body of the PlayStation 2. It's small, easy to carry, and has an expansion bay (which I am angered I cannot use since Sony hasn't made any or imported any add-ons to the U.S.). This system is now only $199.99 after its $100 decline. BUY THIS SYSTEM!!

By XBoxAddict1750 - Jun 1, 2002

This system is great and all those...

Strengths: Great sound, great games a.d perfect picture

Weakness: It takes to long to load games but when there loaded its great.

This system is great and all those other people who disagree with me have sucky taste in viedo games. Another thing n-Cube is just a piece of @%$# . X-box is okay but it has no games at all they all suck. so your better off getting a PS2 its everything you could ask for.

By Mr.big - May 1, 2002

A good console, but no so good...

Strengths: good graphics, play psx games, play DVD without buying an add-on

Weakness: some loading time, no so much graphics memory, the fan make too much noise

A good console, but no so good than the psx when it comes out.
Lots of good games. It's a good choose of console even she had began to be a little too aged.

By frulec - Apr 30, 2002

its the best and sony once again...

Strengths: Everything, graphics, play, etc

Weakness: none

its the best and sony once again has mad the best system, do't buy any other system like x-box or gamecube because they aren't as good and i can say that cause i have them all. I m 20 male, and i bought every system. Since I m older i am sellin all my systems expect for Ps2

By printshopperlogan - Apr 9, 2002

Great system great investment good...

Strengths: Great system revolutionary brings an new level of gaming to the console world

Weakness: Some games still have an tendency to lag when you have around twelve charcters a.k.a wrestlers on screen at once and the several disappointments cause by the delay of the release of the cable/56k mode

Great system great investment good -great durability its been excellent for me and im like an ultimate game junkie i felt obligated to submit an review because some of the others seem to be a bit biase home consoles are cool because they dont require you to purchase expensive video cards etc.. and for those who claim that their ps2 broke maybe thats the result of something called neglect (^_^)

By eXo - Feb 19, 2002

When playstation 2 came out i knew...

Strengths: The graphics off the grip, all the games look like they real and especially Madden 2002, the DVD Player on point too.

Weakness: Notta

When playstation 2 came out i knew is was gon' be off the grip. But when i gott mine it was betta den i thought because rumors said that the graphics were sweet but, when i gott mine they was off the grip. The games is tight and the dvd player just make it betta, but the price is wooooooo.But all am sayin' is that ya'll dat said "The-2" had weaknesses ya'll krazy.

By JMarz - Feb 4, 2002

I have been playing my PS2 for...

Strengths: Very nice design, comfortable controller, great graphics, great games basically an amazing system!

Weakness: Slow loading (we can all live with that) and some games just dont use the full power for graphics of the PS2.

I have been playing my PS2 for over 6 months. I have never got bored of ANY of my games- NHL 2001, Onimusha, Twisted Metal Black, Devil May Cry, Oni and Silent Hill 2. I am a VERY hardcore gamer and if the statistics come out of my mouth, you know im right!

By Silent_Sniper - Nov 24, 2001

There are very few things I don't...

Strengths: Can play DVD's, awesome graphics, sound.

Weakness: I really don't like the feel of the controller. I have preferred the way Sega designs their controllers. They feel the much more comfortable.

There are very few things I don't like about the PS2, but the one thing I don't like is a major thing to me. I hope they offer better, more Dreamcast like controllers in the near future. Other than that, it's the best system on the market, for now...

By iNNoVaSioN - Oct 3, 2001