Reviews for Hasbro Zoombox DVD Entertainment Projector

Not Available

Product Reviews (12)

Zoombox is a good buy

Strengths: easy to operate, fun for kids

Weakness: must have a DARK room

We have used our zoombox several times since Christmas day and the kids love it. It is easy to operate and, for the money, is a good value. The only issues we have had is that the room must be very dark...the darker the better...and there is a bit of tinkering you must do to the focus ring to get it right. Overall a good buy.

By mdmbcope - Jan 10, 2007

Great item for its value

Strengths: I baught it for $197.00 at Walmart thats a bargain, Verry light weight easy to use Good apeaker system.

Weakness: You cant use this machine for any captions very unclear for wording, Room need to be very dark

Excellent machine for teaching but i can only use it for classroom without windows but it preforms very good has great speakers to sound the entire classroom. very lightweight to carry around, Great toy

By bnpw5520 - Jan 17, 2007

good family buy

Strengths: Our Family of 5 scores the zoombox on a scale of 1 to 10 Picture Clarity - 8 Brightness - 8 built-in sound - 7 replacement bulb price - 9 (7-12$) Easy setup - 8 Overall Score - 8

Weakness: Text Viewing - 6 -below modern VGA standards, some pixelation especially sitting close to the display. This product would be unsuitable for viewing text-like captioning or presentations.

We were able to buy the zoombox on sale for $200, at this price the projector is a no brainer- buy it!
Initial setup was quick, although it took me a few minutes to get the focus to a good level, once we were happy with the picture, it performed as advertised.
This is not a product for die-hard gamers or videophiles, it is a great budget product for family movie night, kids parties and teenage gaming.
I would recommend a set of cheap external speakers with a sub-woofer to enhance the experience.
If buy this with all these points in mind you will not be disapointed, however if you are trying to compare this to the quality of 800$-2000$ projector, forget it.
One final note: The ultimate compliment for this projector was given by my children, I am now the greatest father in the world!, (not bad for a toy I was really buying for myself!)

By kkilpatrick - Nov 19, 2006

GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE!!!!

Strengths: CAN PRODUCE A BRIGHT DISPLAY OF 60-80-100 INCHES! BUILT IN SPEAKERS AND BUILT IN DVD PLAYER!

Weakness: RESOLUTION IS A LITTLE LOW AS YOU MAKE THE DISPLAY BIGGER THAN 60 INCHES. LIGHTING COULD BE A LITTLE BRIGHTER.

THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT! THE PROJECTOR PRODUES A BRIGHTER IMAGE THAN YOU THINK! FOR THE PROJECTOR TO BE AT ITS BRIGHTEST, YOU REALLY NEED TO BE IN A COMPLETELY DARKENED ROOM. I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS PRODUCT TO BUISINESS MEN WHO DO PRESENTATIONS. I WOULD RECCOMEND THIS PROJECTOR TO PEOPLE LOOKING FOR A LOW COST PROJECTOR.

GOOD VALUE!!!!!!!!

By COOPER336 - Jan 9, 2006

You Get What You Pay For!

Strengths: Not to many strengths for this product. It is a toy and nothing more!

Weakness: You MUST have a really dark room to use this projector. Movies are hard to see! If you buy this unit for your kids to play with Well exspect it not to last long! It isn't kid friendly.

Don't waste your money on this toy. NOT KID FRIENDLEY! Unit isn't bright enough for movies Unless you are in a very DARK room. You have to remember this unit was built for kids. But don't think they thought it out very well.
Unless you have 300 bucks to waste on a kids toy that won't last them long don't buy this projector. There is alot of HIP out there for this unit but it is just that HIP! Just my opinion.

By jpatton98 - Dec 12, 2006

GREAT FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY!!

Strengths: Great picture, great sound, My kids(ages 8 & 4 ) can work it by themselves. Easy to us and setup. I have used it in my classroom and the kids love it !!

Weakness: When we have family movie night we could use additional speaker.

Our family loves this product!!! we got it for $197. on sale. Have used it almost every night for over a year now. Have not had to replace the bulb, very kids friendly ( put the movie in a press play), great for the whole family & friends . we use it for movie night, slumber party, reunions ect. Can't say enough good things about it !! small compact!! The room does need to be dark but so does the movie theater. WE LOVE IT!!!!! Thanks Hasbro for making an affordable projector the whole family can use (and friends) !!!!!

By anonymous; - Dec 30, 2007

zoombox by hasbro

Weakness: ok picture, ok sound, not very bright so hard to see dark scenes.

with in three weeks after purchasing my zoombox, the light went out, I replaces the bulb, but it still didn't work. I replaces the zoombox and within 3-4 week I began to have problems again. The light and fan moter will only work for about 15 minutes at a time. I have to give it about 20 minutes to cool down or reset or something before it will turn on again for about 15 minutes.

By anonymous; - Jan 19, 2007

Great For Family Fun!

Strengths: Easy to use, nice for displaying home movies, especially when the room is dark. We loved it!!!

Weakness: A bit high priced at $275.

Over-all our family is very pleased with this product. It probably isn't as good as a big screen TV, but the large picture really draws you in. I'd highly recommend it for lots of great family movie nights and it is lots of fun to watch on the ceiling too.

By anonymous; - Jan 9, 2007

Zoombox

Strengths: Lens cap, sexy look, handle, and RCA input, as well as a built in dvd player and speakers.

Weakness: Speakers are OK but don't pass my subwoofer test. Resolution is 557x234 which is fine from sitting 9 or 10 feet away, but from less then 8 feet you can see the pixels. Also the bulb is a little dim.

It's great for the price. I'm 13 years old and got it for christmas 2006. It has a pretty good picture, and it isn't bad for gaming. The only thing is the dim bulb is maddening. Other then that you will get what you payed for.

By anonymous; - Jan 6, 2007

ZOOM BOX is great

Strengths: A big screen that can hook up games. You can play it on the sealing.

Weakness: Zoom Box is a lot of money.

Maybe if zoom box was less money every one would want it. It is GREAT FOR LETS SAY A 11 YEAR OLD BOY OR GIRLS BIRTHDAY. (or up)
If you buy a zoom box you'll love it!

By anonymous; - Nov 24, 2006

As a Porjector of 2006

Strengths: cheep enough to regret without starving yourself

Weakness: image quality is worse than 20 year old TVs (honestly) compare the pixel count.

I have owned 3 projectors, install and service them. When I saw this product I had to add a review to warn people. It is not worth buying. Buy your children an old TV at a yard sale. If you heart is set on a projector (they are great) get one that is 1024x768 (or better) and accepts DVI input (for quality image). Other than that check reviews.

By anonymous; - Nov 23, 2006

This is much more than a kid's toy.

Strengths: *Extremely inexpensive compared to other video projectors *Replacement bulbs also much less expensive than others. *Easy to set up. You can be watching a movie 5 minutes after you bring it home.

Weakness: *I suppose resolution is weak compared to pricier models. The room does have to be very dark to get a decent image *Sound not great.This could be remedied though by hooking to an external DVD player

I don't agree with the other reviewers who say that the Zoombox video projector is just a "toy" and that it is not worth the money. I've wanted to buy a video projector for some time now and simply couldn't afford the $1,000.00+ price. We purchased the Zoombox at a wholesale club for around $239.00 and it came to about $250.00 after tax. Then, instead of one of those outrageously expensive projection screens, I bought a 66" wide "roll down" white vinyl blind for around $29.00 and mounted it to the front of my entertainment center, which is also 66" wide. This way, we can watch regular TV during the day and roll the "screen" down and enjoy the Zoombox after dark. I also plugged an inexpensive, but fairly powerful, pair of power assisted speakers right into the headphone jack which improved the sound greatly. I bought the Zoombox with the idea that I could take it back if I didn't like it but after enjoying it for over a week, I have no intention of returning it. It work's great for us. My neighbor sunk over $3000.00 into his home theatre, and like many families out there, we just dont have that kind of money to throw around. We're not "techno-video geeks" who insist on a certain amount of pixels or lumens. We just wanted a fun way to watch movies at night, and for under $300.00 this fits the bill for us nicely. Like most other video gadgets, I figure those higher resolution models will go down in price. Look at how much VCR's and DVD players have gone down in price over the past few years. When that happens, I will consider up-grading to a higher resolution model and give my son the Zoombox for his room. But until then my wife and I have a home theatre for under $300.00 that we are very happy with. To hasbro I say: "Thanks for making an affordable alternative to those who can't afford to pay thousands for a home theatre".

By anonymous; - Oct 28, 2006