Reviews for AquaIllumination 52-LED AI Hydra Aquarium Light System, Black

$599.00

Product Reviews (11)

Great light

Awesome color selection, and shimmer on the water, my SPS are growing like crazy under these beasts. And the director gives great control.

By Mike B on PetStore.com - Jul 8, 2014

Hydra Fifty Two

The installation of the lights was easy...screws for mounting to 6' bar were too short to hold the lights securely. I obtained 1 1/4" 10/32 screws and they hold the lights well. The corals immediately responded to the increased lighting especially the rose anemone with increased color and overall health. After years of using metal halides I highly recommend this product...I look forward to watching my coral grow! The Marine Depot staff professionally guided me through my selection and were not only responsive to my questions but obviously knowledgeable.Marine Depot is fast becoming my favorite marine store.

By ALEX ODELL on PetStore.com - Jun 24, 2014

Bad Quality Control

Bought two of these (one black and one white), The black one was good, but the white one had a hole in one of the pucks so I exchanged it for a white replacement. When the new one came in I plugged it in to hear a annoying buzzing noise WHEN THE LIGHTS WERE IN DIM MODE. Simply AI's quality control is very bad as far as HYDRA 52 is concerned. I called Marine Depot and they asked me to call AI, and when I called no one picked up the phone. Just decided to return this for refund. Seems like a great light but it is a hit or a miss, i.e., the probability of getting a defective unit is high. The ones who got non-buzzing defect free product are very lucky. I wanted to buy ten of these units but when I look at the hassle I have to go through I decided to stay away from the hydra 52. Even the Chinese reef breeders make non-buzzing lights and this so called American company can't put a quality engineer to measure the decibels in the dim mode before sending the units out? I can do a better job if I was the quality engineer for AI. lol WOULD HAVE GIVEN ZERO STARS IF THE LIGHTING WAS BAD, BUT THE LIGHT FROM IT IS AWESOME.

By MADHU GANESAN on PetStore.com - May 30, 2014

Hydra 52

I have been enjoying the hydra 52 and my corals do as well

By RICK CROSS on PetStore.com - Apr 27, 2014

Excellent product

I have had two of these units on my 120 gallon tank for about a month now, used in conjunction with their New Controller. The lights are a major step forward from the Ecoxotic units that I was previously using. I have the units placed roughly 6 inches above the top of my tank, which has a glass cover. At full brightness, intensity at the tank bottom well exceeds the 300 PAR they specify. Use of the New controller provides control of intensity in 1% increments, and each of the 7 different color banks is independently adjustable. The units are well made and run cool. Definitely worth the money.

By Dave Evans on PetStore.com - Apr 9, 2014

Great lighting

I love this product, the output is amazing. I have two of them on my 120 g and I'm only using 70% of the max. Also, if you get the director, the possibilities are endless from simulating weather of any place around the world including thunderstorms, sunrise/sunset, to moon lighting.

By AMMAR BOUBES on PetStore.com - Mar 22, 2014

Great lighting

I love this product, the output is amazing. I have two of them on my 120 g and I'm only using 70% of the max. Also, if you get the director, the possibilities are endless from simulating weather of any place around the world including thunderstorms, sunrise/sunset, to moon lighting.

By AMMAR BOUBES on PetStore.com - Mar 22, 2014

Don't like the shadows.

New to LED lighting, Found the light output to be somewhat low compared to my previous light a 250 watt metal 20 k. This light give me shadows on the side of a 54 gl corner tank that I was not getting before. Will I do again no, I would have kept the 250 watt halide.

By ROLANDO ALVAREZ on PetStore.com - Jan 23, 2014

Don't like the shadows.

New to LED lighting, Found the light output to be somewhat low compared to my previous light a 250 watt metal 20 k. This light give me shadows on the side of a 54 gl corner tank that I was not getting before. Will I do again no, I would have kept the 250 watt halide.

By ROLANDO ALVAREZ on PetStore.com - Jan 23, 2014

Great Lighting

The is a fantastic aquarium light. I will be connecting it to my tank with the new AI controller. The light output is amazing, all kind of configurations.

By BILL THIMONS on Marine Depot - Jan 18, 2014

Great Lighting

The is a fantastic aquarium light. I will be connecting it to my tank with the new AI controller. The light output is amazing, all kind of configurations.

By BILL THIMONS on PetStore.com - Jan 18, 2014