Reviews for Cuisinart ICE-30BC Pure Indulgence Ice Cream Maker

$12.93 - $137.46

Product Reviews (17)

Great for the money!

Strengths: Very clean looking, can be left on the counter and fit in with your other appliances.

Weakness: Having to remember to freeze the bowl the night before you plan to make ice cream.

Just received my new Cuisinart Ice-30BC and could not be happier with the product. I read all the reviews and kept reading that many did not like the smaller model because it only made 1 1/2 quarts and most recipes were for 2 quarts. I like the idea of a lid that you can just pour the last minute additions like chocolate chips in without removing the lid. Can't wait to go through my Ben & Jerry's ice cream recipe book that I also read was great for recipes. Here comes a great summer of homemade ice creams and frozen fruit drinks!

By jackie1958 - Feb 8, 2006

worth the investment - nothing like homemade ice cream!

Strengths: easy to use and clean, inexpensive, fast and tasty treats!

Weakness: need to prefreeze your bowl or you will not have instant gratification.

Here are the things I really like about my new ice cream maker:

* It actually works! It's straightforward, easy to use no tricks, no fine print...it simply works!

* Quick & Easy cleanup which is important when using the types of ingredients necessary to make sorbet and ice cream!

* We can have homemade ice cream and sorbet in 30 minutes...anytime we want (assuming the bowl has been in the freezer and ready to go). The only labor involed is to puree the ingredients in a blender, turn on the machine, and cleanup.

* Cost of ingredients is significantly cheaper than store-bought ice cream, frozen yogurt or sorbet.

Cons

* This machine involves at least 20 minutes of noisy operation. Although it is certainly not that loud - not like a blender.

* You have to keep the bowl in the freezer all the time unless you plan your desserts 24-hours in advance.

By sfschwartz - Sep 17, 2006

great ice cream

Strengths: fast and easy and delicious

Weakness: makes yummy fatting desserts

I got this ice cream maker for christmas this year. My four sister in laws all own one and love it. the only complaint i've ever heard from them is that there's is too small. i made sure i got the 2 quart.
it's great! the ice cream is sooo creamy. it is way better than store bought kind

By kabang_ng - Dec 27, 2006

Cusinart Ice Maker

Strengths: Clean easily, is quite, great size, VERY easy to use, fun with kids.

Weakness: None

I liked this items so much I bought one as a Christmas geft for my sister. Can't recommend it enough. Lets you be creative, cut fat and sugar to accomodate all diet requirements and still have a treat.

By tszinn - Dec 6, 2006

I love it!

This makes it really easy to enjoy relatively fast, delicious ice cream. I do wish the paddle had something that scraped along the sides better. I have learned the hard way not to believe the range of hours it says is needed to freeze the bowl. Just know and accept that your bowl is gonna need 24 hours minimum in the freezer. I've made watermelon sorbet, peanut butter cup ice cream and Earl Grey ice cream. It seems that to have ice cream or sorbet that is easily scoopable straight out of the freezer you need to add 1-3 tbsp of vodka (or other alcohol) per quart. If you add more than 3 you run the risk of it not freezing at all.

By Sendarra on Home Depot - Aug 24, 2011

Cuisinart ICE-30BC Ice Cream Maker

Strengths: User-Friendly and Attractive enough to leave out on the counter

Weakness: Housing could be smaller, and itÂ’s a bit noisy. To pre-freeze its canister for 10 hours it annoying, and I hate the fact that it is NOT DISWASHER SAFE.

Overall, this ice cream maker is easy to operate. Its directions are user friendly, and the ice cream results are delicious. It is a great unit, but a bit pricy.

By chainwen - Feb 11, 2008

Fast easy and fun

Strengths: Making ice cream quick and to your own specs

Weakness: Have to keep bowl in freezer, recipes included could be more extensive

For a family that enjoys their ice cream this product offers a fun way to experiment together and enjoy the results. You can change recipes to decrease or even eliminate fat. You can add whatever you want and make your own creations. You can make big batches or small treats. It is easy to use, easy to clean and, in spite of what I have read elsewhere, not noisy. Cleaning is easy.

By davidrr52 - Sep 5, 2007

Lot of Work for Ice Cream

Strengths: Makes ice cream

Weakness: Lot of Work

The ice cream is a lot of trouble to make, and you have to plan ahead. First, you have to freeze the gel-lined ice cream container at least 24 hours in advance to make one batch of ice cream. Cuisinart describes the consistency as "soft serve," but it is softer than that -- between a Wendy's Frosty and a milkshake. For one batch, I chilled the ice cream mix in the freezer for an hour in advance just to get it to a Frosty consistency. The ice cream tastes very good but not good enough to justify the extra work when I have a DQ just down the street.

By sharonj430 - May 26, 2008

Cuisinart ICE-30BC Pure Indulgence Frozen Yogurt Maker

Strengths: Makes awesome ice cream in minutes. Fun for the kids to help with and taste test.

Weakness: Need to freeze bowl prior to use - long wait for the kids who wanted to make ice cream as soon as we opened the box.

This machine is very easy to use and set-up. Comes with a manual with ice cream recipes. We plan on taking it with us this summer when we go camping so we can have fresh ice cream as often as we want.

By maynbt - Apr 29, 2008

Cuisinart ICE-30BC Frozen Yogurt-Sorbet & Ice Cream Maker

Strengths: Easy to set up. Large two quart capacity. Can add ingredients while unit is operating. Quick freeze time of recipes.

Weakness: Relatively long freeze time for container - at least 6 hours or considerably more depending on the freezer.

The Cuisinart has been a wonderful unit so far. The sorbets we made over the holidays were easy, quick and delicious. Clean up is a snap. This 2 quart unit is the way to go rather the 1.5 quart. Most recipes are for 2 quarts. 1 quart recipes are easily doubled. The design of lid makes it easy to add various ingredients that have to be added towards the end of the freeze. You do have to think ahead though since the freezing bowl itself must be fully frozen prior to use. We started storing the freezer bowl in the basement freezer all the time which is okay as long as it is in a plastic bag to pervent freezer burn. We can highly recommend the ICE-30BC!

By rleeesh - Jan 6, 2008

How did I ever manage without this?

Best thing I've bought in a long time. Recipe booklet was included, so I tried five of the recipes. All delicious, all easy to make, and all have calories listed. Happy that I bought the larger size because whatever I make goes quickly. So easy to use! Perfect dessert in 25 minutes.

By jav83 on Home Depot - Jun 9, 2012

Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker

I have had my machine for a few years now and am very satisfied. I was looking at getting another freezer bowl to have an extra for when I am making up ice cream for parties. Because the bowl needs to freeze for at least 8 hours, it would be helpful to have a second bowl so that I can make another batch right away. Outside of this, I absolutely love the ice cream that this product allows you to make. All the ingredients are basic things that I always have on hand.

By Makayla on Home Depot - Jul 14, 2010

Really good ice cream maker

I received the ice cream maker just a couple of weeks ago and have already made ice cream a couple of times. The bowl does have to be chilled in the freezer for 8 hours but that hasn't been a problem. it is quiet and quick. I would definitely purchase it again.

By ice2010 on Home Depot - Jun 14, 2010

Cuisinart ICE -30bc Ice cream maker review

Strengths: The quantity of ice cream made. The ease of use. Time it takes to get ice cream.

Weakness: waiting for my next batch of ice cream due to the freezing of the main bucket needs to be frozen each time of use.

I can see that I will enjoy using this product very much with the set it forget it ease of use. It was pricey but I am a true believer in you get what you pay for with kitchen stuff.
Maybe for this price they could include more then one bucket. I know you can buy more separately, but when i scream for ice cream everyone one screams for ice cream!

By a21surf - Mar 16, 2008

A Lemon

Strengths: none

Weakness: mine didn't work

My kids and I were very excited to make some ice cream and sorbet. We froze the bowl overnight and spent quite a while squeezing limes for the sorbet. I brewed espresso to put in the coffee ice cream that we were planning to make the next day. Also bought some chocolate chips. And then...the machine didn't work. The ingredients did not get much colder than when they were chilled. Everything seemed to be in working order, but it just didn't produce what it was supposed to. Needless to say the kids were disappointed and Dad was extremely frustrated spending all the time putting the recipes together and the extra money for the ingredients and having nothing to show for it. Be very cautious buying this machine...it is a distinct possibility it will not work. I can send it back to the company if I include $10 of my own money and I'm sure the shipping is on me too!

By anonymous; - Jun 24, 2006

Best Ice Cream Maker

Bestcovery experts have rated the Cuisinart ICE-30BC Pure Indulgence Frozen Yogurt-Sorbet & Ice Cream Maker as a best pick for the Best Ice Cream Maker. Bestcovery's experts recommend the best products and services for a particular need based on extensive research and evaluations. Click below to see Bestcovery's full review of this product.
Read Full Review

By bestcovery.com - May 8, 2009

Cuisinart ICE-30BC

Testseek.com has collected 1 expert review for Cuisinart ICE-30BC and the rating is 80 of 100. Click below and use Testseek.com to find all ratings, product awards and conclusions.
Read Full Review

By testseek.com - Apr 13, 2012