Reviews for HJ-720ITC Pocket Pedometer with Advanced Omron Health Management Software

Not Available

Product Reviews (15)

Works Excellent!

Strengths: Easy to use and setup, very accurate in different conditions, software straightforward and gives good information

Weakness: None so far

I got this to help me be a little more active. I found out that I walk quite a bit at work which was really interesting. I counted steps at different points and the pedometer was within a step for the most part. Can't complain about that. I even went up and down stairs, drove in my car with it, and sat around and it did a great job keeping track of actual steps. If there was anything to complain about, I found it difficult to see how many steps I had taken with it clipped to me but I guess you can just take it out of the clip.
The software seems to be just fine as well. The software also tracks blood pressure if you have something that will give you that information. I think its fairly intuitive.
Overall, I think this is an excellent unit with a great price. I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you like to keep track of your information on the computer. Very easy to use.

By healthyfatboy - Jun 20, 2007

Best Pedometer I've Owned

Strengths: breakdown by aerobic and anerobic steps, strain gage type pedometer (silent), 42 day memory downloadable to PC

Weakness: CR2032 battery lasts only 6 months (only costs a couple of bucks if you buy 2 packs so not that bad of a weakness). To my knowledge does not work with Apple products or Windows Vista operating system.

Very nice pedometer that works well. Has steps (both aerobic and anerobic), distance, calories burned. Since the design relies on a strain gage it is silent.

I owned the non computer Omron model from Omron similar to this model too. The HJ-720ITC seems to work as well or perhaps even better than that model. One word of caution about both of those models. Be careful when changing the battery not to lose the screw for the battery compartment. The screw is tiny and is not captive (locked to the battery compartment door). If the screw drops onto the floor or into your carpet you may well never find it.

Mine did not come with software for Windows Vista or for Apple products. It comes with software compatible with Windows 2000 and XP only. Perhaps software for other operating systems will be available later.

By ggovin - Dec 6, 2007

720ITC

Strengths: Accuracy and lightness, noiseless. Compact design.

Weakness: Does not have Metric System!

Kind of strange to realize that so much went into the making of such a great pedometer, probably the greatest out there, yet miss out on the Metric option. If it wasn't for this issue, i'd give it a 5 star rating.

Used several other pedometers, including the HJ112 (which is basically identical except for the 40 day memory plus connectivity). The 720ITC really works, I don't question its readings after setting it up. Even tracked it using Google Earth measurements and a gps: after 10 miles of walking, it was within .1 miles (about 500 feet or 160m @ 16km) which is more than acceptable, going by what other products have to offer.

By Panuzzi - Oct 3, 2007

Working well

Strengths: I like the fact that it resets each day so i don't have to think about it.

I like the fact that I can keep in my pocket so it doesn't become dislodged from my belt and that it tracks aerobic steps as well. The display is very readable

By ppoersch - Jun 1, 2007

Great Pedometer - (Omron HJ-720ITC)

Strengths: Resets each day, connection/detection to/by a PC was easy, ability to chart your progress, large clear LCD display, clock, 7 day history log

Weakness: Kind of big, (especially compared to other pedometers that I've owned, can fall off when clipped to your hip

I love the fact that it resets itself at 12 midnight each day, so its meant to keep track of you daily walking and it has a 7 day history log so you can see your progress for the past couple of days. It also has a large LCD display which makes reading the steps real easy.

There are 4 different modes to view your information. Touching the "Mode/Event" button (which is the largest and in the center) allows you to switch between each one; The 4 different viewing modes are: by miles (with clock), by steps (with clock), by aerobic steps/number of minutes and by calories burned/number of grams.

The software is simple and straightforward. The graph used is a bar graph and you can view your progress on a daily, weekly, monthly, yearly or total basis. You can also graph your progress by steps, aerobic walking time, calorie, distance and fat burned

The software also allows you to save your data to a CSV file or PDF file, which will give you a text based report of your information sorted by the date

System info: Pentium 4 with 512MB of RAM running Windows XP

My only real complaint/worry is that the pedometer can fall off if worn using the belt clip and you happen to be bending down.

I wear mine using the belt clip and while at work I have found the pedometer on the floor after bending down, but to Omron's credit, the pedometer still works with no problem after falling a couple of times

By maltiery - Feb 23, 2008

Omron HJ-720ITC Review

Strengths: Quality of unit Accuracy

Weakness: None so far

After searching and researching to find a pedometer that actually worked, I settled on this one and I have not been disappointed. If you have been looking around, stop and just buy this one. It is the only pedometer I have had that really seemed to work. Can carry in your pocket or a bag and it still works. You can also connect it to your PC to track your progress, although I haven't spent much time doing that. 1

By VideoGamePlayer - Jan 14, 2008

Great pedometer!

Strengths: Accurate step counting; easy data upload to PC; separate aerobic step count

Weakness: A bit large, but you can carry it in your pocket

I upgraded to this pedometer from the Omron HJ112 (also a great model) because I wanted to chart the data on my PC. This is a great deal; you buy it, and that's it. No monthly online fees. The software is easy to install and use. I've worn pedometers for four years now, and this is the best one yet. Omron also is great about customer service, in stark contrast to the Digiwalker people.

By TurkeyNose - Oct 17, 2007

Omron Pocket Pedometer HJ720ITC

Strengths: Accuracy (relatively)

Weakness: None so far

The Omron Pocket Pedometer HJ720ITC is not just your average pedometer.

The setup is relatively quick, and basic use is uncomplicated. The display is large and easy to read, although if it is on your belt you may have to remove it. You can track and display your steps, aerobic steps, calories burnt and distance travelled and move easily between these screens by a press of a button.
The software provided also gives you the option to track your progress by uploading the data to your pc.

This is the first pedometer I have owned and I have no regrets.
When researching this unit I found it was rated highly for accuracy in recent consumer tests. This, along with the software and price, prompted me to buy.

I use this both in my purse and in my pocket and have not had any problems. If I could change anything I would begin by adding an illuminated screen.

By dirtyemu - Jul 27, 2007

Omron Pedometer

Strengths: Easy to use, Easy to Read, Compact, Accurate

Weakness: It would be nice if you could have "trip 1", "trip 2" like an odometer in a car.

I was very pleased with this product. It's easy to use and helps keep me motivated to increase my walking activity. It's fun and challenging to try to increase my aerobic steps. The feedback is instantaneous and keeps you going.

By sbmiller - Feb 27, 2008

Functional But Expensive

Strengths: Accurate

Weakness: Priced over $30

This pedometer is quite accurate. When starting up, you have to install the included lithium battery. Then, you have to set up the time. You also have to measure the length of your steps and enter that number. Finally, you enter you weight. There are 4 display modes: step count, aerobic step count, calories burned, and distance walked in miles. It has 41-day memory and can display data from the most recent 7 days. It also comes with PC software that can save the data from the pedometer.

By kenkc - Nov 21, 2007

Pedometer

Strengths: Overall a very good product with a minor chance this can be one of the top pedometer.

Weakness: I would like to reset after each walk, but could not figure out how to do it. Also, read entire booklet - still not clue. Should have a way to reset whenever you want to.

As stated above - would like a reset mode without going to the back and then having to reset the entire system. It should have a button in the front, press for a few seconds to reset.

By NettieHutsell - Oct 29, 2007

Omron Pocket Pedometer HJ720ITC

Strengths: Easy to use and viewing the results on your PC are easy to understand. Tracking your results is a snap.

Weakness: None so far.

I received my pedometer within two days of ordering it and have no regrets. The software is simple to install and easy to follow. I can't wait to compare the results from this to my GPS. Oh, yes, the price was right.

By Tikal22042 - Jul 20, 2007

Perfect for Us

Strengths: light weight, easy to read, great reporting

Weakness: none

Both my wife and I have one of these units. It keeps us movtivated to keep walking because it is so easy to see our progress thoughout the day. The computer charting also inspires us to keep going on a long term basis. We are in our mid's 60's and not exercise fanatics, but this keeps us maintaining our 10,000 to 15,000 steps a day....something we wouldn't do without this great little tool.

By carl44will - Jan 19, 2010

Pocket Pedometer with Advanced Omron Health Management Software

Strengths: Easy to read, lightweight, accurate, sleek in design

Weakness: none

This is one of the best pedometer's I have ever owned. I wish I would have purchased it sooner. Considering ordering one for my husband.

By anonymous; - Jan 1, 2010

Omron Walking Style

Strengths: Compact, easy to use and install. Clip on to waistband, put in pocket or in purse.

Weakness: So far will not work with Windows Vista/

I've used a number of pedometers over the past few years and this is the easiest to use and to read. I like that you can upload the data onto you computer. Only problem is that it isn't compatible with Windows Vista, so the feature that makes it stand out from others in a similar price range is now useless.

By PUserShop - Mar 11, 2008