Reviews for Samsung LN-T4053H 40" LCD TV

Not Available

Product Reviews (19)

SAMSUNG LN-T4053H 40" LCD TV

Strengths: Excellent Picture, Light Weight, Very Modern Cabinet, Analog Channel Fine Tuning, Dual Source (Cable, OTA), Pivoting stand

Weakness: PIP, Front Controls, Remote Form Factor

I looked at many TVs before narrowing down between this SAMSUNG and a LG model. Both had great pictures, but this Samsung had two inputs for both cable and OTA. Although this is a great feature, it would have been even better if the two sources were integrated together instead of having to switch from one to the other. Very good sound enhanced by equalizer. The remote is too narrow and long for convenient button access. The remote included on my 50" Samsung DLP remote is far superior and I end up using it instead. The swivel stand is a great feature, but the location of the front touch controls can be accidentally pressed when pivoting. Since this model is only a single tuner, the usefulness is questionable. This combined with the complexity of the remote's PIP access make it darn right worthless. Don't waste your money on the the newer 1080P models, you will never see the difference with a 40" screen.

By jgranato - May 28, 2007

Samsung LN-T4053H Review

Strengths: Samsung's reputation for high quality TVs. Very nice image. 3 HDMI ports. 178 degree turning angle. NUMEROUS picture controls. Very modern and slick design. Speakers hidden.

Weakness: Only 720p. Pricier than other compatible models.

Did my research for two-three months prior to committing to this model. Have owned three other Samsung televisions and have been very happy with each. When needing service, Samsung provides excellent support.

I was looking for a 32 to 40 inch LCD for my office. I was originally looking at a 1080p model but when I saw the extremely positive reviews for this model, I had to go to the store to see if it could stand up to the more expensive units. I was impressed. This TV is only 720p but its picture is just as good as any other. From a distance of 6-8 feet, its very difficult to tell them apart.

The TV has a very slick design and its speakers are hidden on the underside of the front panel. Sound is decent quality but video is amazing. This has so many picture settings to adjust right from the main menu. The only bad thing is that there are two known issues that numerous people are reporting. One is an audio drop-out when using HDMI, the other is what they call "tearing" when watching HD content. A horizontal line will appear about 2/3 down the screen for a few seconds. These issues have been resolved via updated firmware, so if you experience this, call Samsung and they'll email you the update.

Overall, I'm very pleased with this purchase, its craftsmanship and Samsung.

By snipes007 - Jul 20, 2007

Great TV

Strengths: Wonderful High Def at 1080i and 7020p,

Weakness: Not High def 1080p, price, slightly shaking when turning on stand, okay picture with analog only on non cable, going through directories of photos via USB isn't the fastest.

I love the TV for the most part.


*Clarity-
I don't have digital cable so some of the channels have a fair amount of noise and aren't as sharp. I thought this was the signal but my Sony Wega Flat Screen 27 inch (FS100) has a sharper picture coming from the same signal. I've fiddled with the settings but without luck. I think it may be b/c of the size difference (noise is much more obvious). I would buy the TV again without hesitation!


*Clarity and color potential...-
I bought the TV after browsing at my local Electronic's Expo. The color of this TV blew away the color on all of the others that they had up. It really really really stands out. I didn't have a Sony next to it so I couldn't compare but the colors are really amazing. The clarity was great too. Again this makes me question whether it was the signal I use, just the unit I have, or something else.


*USB photos-
I tried the USB with a flash drive to show photos. If you do this make sure you have everything organized and in directories. Otherwise it's hell getting to what you want with the remote.


*DVD playback with progressive scan-
Wonderful picture. The clarity is right on with DVD's making me wonder if my issue is the decoder or if it's just supposed to be used with a digital cable signal instead of analog.


*Stand-
When swiveling the TV to the side the top moves back and forth slightly (1/2 inch maybe) making me worried about the strength of the stand. This may become an issue if I repeatedly change the TV's angle (this shouldn't affect most users).


*Price-
I got mine for 1277 shipped. I saw a deal to get it for 50 less than this. Stores are much higher. Look around on-line and you'll get a better deal shipped. It's very easy to unpack and surprisingly light.


*Sound-
Great sound! The sound was wonderful. I haven't hooked it up to my home theater system yet because it's so great! Another nice feature is a sound stabilizer (not sure of the real name). It equalizes the volume as you switch channels as some channels are much louder than others when channel surfing. (this can be turned off if you want)

By yudansha18 - Jul 7, 2007

Samsung LN-T4053H 40 inch HDTV

Strengths: Produces a great up-converted 720p picture from a plain old Standard Definition signal. Good, crisp sound.

Weakness: Too bad the remote does not have a single button to quickly switch between the 16:9 and zoom 1 picture settings.

This TV up-converts a Standard Definition signal to a great 720p picture! Colors are bright and clear. My wife and I keep commenting to each other about how bright and "crisp" the picture is (and yes, we have turned it off the overly bright/harsh "Dynamic" setting that it came with and that they use at the showrooms to wow the customers). My wife says picture is almost like 3D. To me the picture is almost "wet" looking. I can sit only a few feet away without seeing pixels.
We get our signal through a non-HD Dish satellite receiver. We are reluctant to sign up yet for the extra monthly cost (and limited HD stations) of HDTV. After reading a "leading consumer magazine" test of HDTV's and their editorial comments about 720p being adequate for all but the largest TV's we visited a brother-in-law with a huge projection HDTV to see for ourselves. We had him turn his huge HDTV from a 1080 to a 720 picture and none of us could see much difference. So we decided to stay with Standard Definition signal and find an HDTV that provided a 720p picture judged as "excellent".
We are quite pleased with this Samsung. It does a splendid job of up- converting from a 480i Standard Definition picture to 720p. The picture seems to be easier on the eyes too, maybe because it is a more stable picture? (p=progressive rather than i=integrative with a little gun painting all the even lines and then all the odd lines, then starting the next flickering picture.) Blacks are very black. Apparently one of the tests of a good set is its ability to follow fast action (like a football pass) without breaking up. The Samsung tracks such fast action perfectly. Sound is rated "very good". True, sound is better than our previous CRT set but, unfortunately, it is still not as good as having a separate stereo.
The Samsung has plenty of places to plug in other equipment. We particularly like the extra connectors that are easily accessible at the left side so you do not need to get to the back of the TV to plug in a seldom used accessory. We have therefor unplugged our rarely used VCR and DVD players, now we can bring them out on the occasions we want to watch a movie and can simply plug them into the side connections. This has cleaned up all the clutter of wires, receivers, VCR and DVD players that once clustered next to the TV in our front room.
We also like the looks of the Samsung itself. To our eye, the Samsung is sleeker than boxy #2 rated Sony. Speakers don't clutter the front panel either, they are across the bottom with a lip (you don't notice it) that apparently directs the sound forward. The one issue with using an HDTV on an SD signal is how you choose to "clip" the picture. I have several choices. I initially preferred the compromise one that clips off only a little of the top and bottom but my wife doesn't like to lose the news/ticker on the bottom of the news shows. So we have it set on the HD standard 16:9 horizontal/vertical. This does stretch the picture out horizontally, but neither of our daughters even noticed, even after I asked them! So I guess I will get used to it too.
How much do we like it? After two weeks we ordered a second identical model Samsung HDTV!

By griffvicki_1178808103 - Jan 19, 2008

Samsung LCD TV

Strengths: Price, quality of non-HD programming

Weakness: not 1080P

I purchased this Samsung LCD as a 2nd TV for the house after reading reviews that as far as LCD/Plasma TVs go, this one does very well with displaying non-HD programming. I have an OTA antenna for HD, but otherwise just basic cable coming into the TV and am pleased with the performance. For a few $100 more I could have gone with the 1080P, but for me it wasn't worth the price difference.

By cingraha - Dec 30, 2007

Great TV

Strengths: 3 HDMI, Audio Out, Sharp Picture

Weakness: Good, but not excellent sound

I bought this after seeing the HDTV advantage installed at work, and because my old set died. I watch a few movies, some sports, mostly TV. I was originally hooked on a newer (read more expensive) model, but decided to go with this one. It made more sense for my viewing habits.

I shoped around, looked at other brands. Between this and an equilivant Sony HDTV (identical specs, picture quality). I picked this one. The picture quality when setup similarly were identical between this and a Sony version. I like the swivil base, the shape of the remote, and ease of use. I got it hooked up in no time at all and tweaked the picture settings just right. One review mentioned the blue light, it can be turned off via the on screen menu.

The one thing I'm not crazy about is the sound quality. The speakers are hidden, which deadens the sound. It is good enough for most shows, but for sports or movies I have the audio output goiung to my receiver, which has a much richer sound. When I do this, I set the internal mute so that no sound comes from the built in speakers.

The picture is sharp, low light scenes are viewable and the contrast ratio is excellent. Blacks are black, and whites are white. Exclent contrast for those really dark scenes.

Overall this is a great TV and I would certainly purchase another given the opportunity. I take one star away simply because the built in speakers are not as good as out last TV, on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the best) , I give the sound quality a 7.5.

By bits4bites - Oct 24, 2007

Excellent purchase......

Strengths: Excellent picture quality

Weakness: Blue soft light at the bottom

I was actually looking for Samsung 32 inch TV LNT-3253H and went to Best Buy to buy that TV after doing my research. But when I saw the 40 inch priced lower than the 32 inch I couldn't resist. The sales rep told me that they had only 3-4 units left thus they are letting it go for cheap.

The setup was really easy and the picture is great.

I am did not go wrong with the purchase. I already had a Samsung lcd TV that I bought about a year back and still happy with that. I love the Samsung TV designs. The design is unique. I wish there was an option to turn the blue soft light coming from the bottom of the TV. Other than that I am really happy with the TV.

By souman - Oct 2, 2007

Umm...WOW!

Strengths: Beautiful Picture, Beautiful when off, Easy to Use, STATIC Buttons on the side!

Weakness: Can be expensive if you don't shop around.

I am floored by this TV. I have owned my fair share of flat panels, mostly plasma. This TV takes the cake by FAR. The display on this is amazing and I just can't say enough about it. It really makes my DVR system amazing too with the PC input and HTPC settings! I cannot recommend this TV enough. This will not be my last Samsung purchase!

By adma84 - Aug 23, 2007

Great TV for your buck!

Strengths: 3 HDMI ports, high contrast ratio, great price, great sound

Weakness: none

I bought this for my mother in law and she loves it. The picture quality is stunning, the HDMI connectivity is great, and the sound is superb. Last night we watched Air Force One on TNT HD, and it looked and sounded great. I watched the PGA Championship also earlier in the day, and the greens really came out nice. The advice I would give is to use the TV on standard or movie mode; dynamic is too bright. If it is in a dark room, probably go with movie mode.

By jarrodhood23 - Aug 12, 2007

Great LCD TV for under $2000

Strengths: Great picture even with STD DEF, easy set-up, multiple connection options, nice looking TV

Weakness: None so far.

This is my first HDTV. I researched many LCD HDTVs. All makes and models before settling on buying a Samsung. You seem to get more bang for less bucks w/Samsung. I got this at BestBuy for $1600 via a price match. A complete steal for this set. I have to say that even though I've only had this TV for a short time, this clearly is an unbelievable TV. The picture is crystal clear even though I only have regular digital cable hooked-up. I'm getting the HD cable box today and I can't wait to see what the picture looks like then. The picture from my home theater (also Samsung) connected w/component cables is spectacular. Even my wife is impressed and she's not into the hi-tech/digital TV stuff. I'd give this TV a 10 but I need a little more time to see if any cons materialize. One other thing I'd mention is the style of this set. It looks great. The design of style is top shelf. If you buy this TV you will not be disappointed. Update, got the HD cable box and the HD picture is stunning. Great TV.

By Sambinger - Apr 17, 2007

My first LCD TV

Strengths: Easy to use. Very stylish (looks great in my living room).

Weakness: None at this time.

As my title indicates, this is my first LCD TV. So far, I've been very pleased with it. It's very user friendly. The price was reasonable (purchased it online for $300 less than at the big box stores). The picture quality is great and I'm floored when watching the HD channels.

By kahng_1112108916 - Nov 5, 2007

Samsung LN-4053H

Strengths: Great pic!

Weakness: None yet.

Got this tv as an "open box" item at Circuit City two days before Memorial Day for $889.00 before tax. Couldn't resist since they only had one. Went to Best Buy as it was raining and wanted to wait until the rain stopped before loading it in the truck and hauling home. Unbelievably, Best Buy had the exact same model as a display item as well for only $799.00. Unfortunately theirs had been wall mounted for some time as a display and was rather rough looking (scuffs etc.) so I opted to stick with the Circuit City Samsung as it appeared brand new. Even got a newer model remote as the original had been misplaced. I have to be honest: you will definitely get spoiled when watching the HDTV channels...going back to non-HDTV is painful to the eyes. Can't wait until they expand the number of HDTV channels. We have Directv HDTV-DVR and it is magnificent. Just finished watching the latest Pirates of the Caribbean and it truly was better than watching at the theatre. There is so much detail that you see on this tv than at the movies. This is an older model so get out there and try to find it as an open-box item or display item as we did. It is truly a great tv. By the way, the salesman at Best Buy showed me in his computer system that B.B. purchased that model from the manufacturer for $1057.00. Just got lucky and walked in at the right time. And yes, open-boxes and displays get the same warranty as "new" items!

By anonymous; - May 24, 2008

Samsung LN-T4053H

Strengths: easy setup; great picture; great sound

Weakness: sound cuts out some but only after connecting to satellite so I'm not sure what causes; PIP disappointing; USB limited

My LN-T4053H was up and running within an hour after receiving it. The SD through cable was not sharp, so I ordered satellite. Then, the SD was better; the HDTV was great. Good detail, sharp edges. Better signal = better picture.

After researching specs and reviews for two months, I chose 4053H because of:
1) many good reviews
2) relatively lighter weight (around 40 lbs)
3) PIP (only one tuner so limited use)
4) many inputs--3 HDMI, 2 component, 2 s-video, 2 composite, 1 VGA, 1 USB (limited JPEG)
5) 10-bit processor

DVD 480p provides a good picture. A 25-foot VGA cord connects my laptop with no problem. I viewed photos that way so I did not use USB which seemed limited according to the manual.

I chose 720p after many reviewers felt 1080p broadcasts would be years to come and screens 40" and less would not show improvement with higher resolution. In my small room (11x15) this picture is great from 9'-10'; I could sit closer (5'-6') for more-involved watching. I turned the brightness and backlight down (to save energy) and the picture is fine. (Gamers and blue-ray viewers may need to do more comparisons to see if 720p meets their needs.)

I highly recommend this HDTV. I ultimately rejected 1080p's and 120 mhz because, through viewing varioius brands/models, I could see no benefit with the higher specs. (Each person needs to do personal viewing comparison, though. Not all people see the same.)

By swanzi - Feb 28, 2008

Great TV!

Strengths: Excellent style, connectivity, picture quality, adjustments

Weakness: Attracts dust, no 1080p

Consumer reports recently rated this one of their top sets and I can see why. The wide range of adjustments and myriad connections options make this a great choice for an HDTV.

Mainly I love how sleek it looks. The black finish does attract fingerprints and dust, however. A microfiber cloth is provided, which is a nice touch. The remote is relatively intuitive and one of the better ones I have used.

If you're dead set on LCD, this is a great model to purchase. It doesn't quite match up to plasmas in terms of black levels, but it's quite serviceable, in my opinion.

By roomwithaview - Feb 24, 2008

Excellent!

Strengths: Color, perfect size, resolution, and contrast ratio

Weakness: -

This television has been amazing to me! When I turn it on the color flows into the room. I reccomend this TV to everyone who wants a great HDTV and wants to save money all at the same time!

By anonymous; - Feb 9, 2008

IT'S A PRETTY GOOD TV

Strengths: QAM TUNER, STILL FUNCTION

Weakness: REMOTE POORLY LAID OUT, IT'S NOT A 1080P

OVERALL, IT'S A PRETTY GOOD TELEVISION. I HAVE HAD A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH THE REMOTE ESPECIALLY WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE OFF, THERE IS NO FLOW TO THE REMOTE, THE BUTTONS TO USE CERTAIN FUNCTIONS ARE SPREAD OVER THE REMOTE. ESPECIALLY THE ENTER BUTTON WHICH IS TOWARDS THE BOTTOM OF THE REMOTE AND A LOT OF THE KEYS THAT NEED THE ENTER BUTTON ARE TOWARDS THE TOP. THE TELEVISION DOES HAVE A STILL FUNCTION WHICH IS NICE TO FREEZE A SCREEN. THE TV SCREEN I S A VERY NICE QUALITY EVEN THOUGH IT IS NOT A 1080P, IT WAS SOMETHING I WAS HUNG UP ON BUT DOES NOT SEEM TO MAKE A BIG DIFFERENCE. THE QAM TUNER IS NICE FOR PICKING UP LOCAL DIGITAL STATIONS. ALL IN ALL THIS WAS A PRETTY DECENT BUY.

By nivets - Jan 31, 2008

Samsung LN-T4053H 40" 720p HDTV

Strengths: Superior picture even with a non-HD Standard Definition signal

Weakness: sound is very good, but if only a little better we would not even consider a separate stereo.

This TV up-converts a Standard Definition signal to a great 720p picture! Colors are bright and clear. My wife and I keep commenting to each other about how bright and "crisp" the picture is (and yes, we have turned it off the overly bright/harsh "Dynamic" setting that it came with and that they use at the showrooms to wow the customers). My wife says picture is almost like 3D. To me the picture is almost "wet" looking. I can sit right up on it without seeing the pixels.
We get our signal through a non-HD Dish satellite receiver. We are reluctant to sign up yet for the extra monthly cost (and limited HD stations) of HDTV. After reading a "leading consumer magazine" test of HDTV's and their editorial comments about 720p being adequate for all but the largest TV's we visited a brother-in-law with a huge projection HDTV to see for ourselves. We had him turn his huge HDTV from a 1080 to a 720 picture and none of us could see much difference. So we decided to stay with Standard Definition signal and find an HDTV that provided a 720p picture judged as "excellent".
We are quite pleased with this Samsung. It does a splendid job of up- converting from a 480i Standard Definition picture to 720p. The picture seems to be easier on the eyes too, maybe because it is a more stable picture? (p=progressive rather than i=integrative with a little gun painting all the even lines and then all the odd lines, then starting the next flickering picture.) Blacks are very black. Apparently one of the tests of a good set is its ability to follow fast action (like a football pass) without breaking up. The Samsung tracks such fast action perfectly. Sound is rated "very good". True, sound is better than our previous CRT set but, unfortunately, it is still not as good as having a separate stereo.
The Samsung has plenty of places to plug in other equipment. We particularly like the extra connectors that are easily accessible at one side so you do not need to get to the back of the TV to plug in a seldom used accessory. We have therefor unplugged our rarely used VCR and DVD players, now we can bring them out on the occasions we want to watch a movie and can simply plug them into the side connections. This has cleaned up all the clutter of wires, receivers, VCR and DVD players that once clustered next to the TV in our front room.
We also like the looks of the Samsung itself. To our eye, the Samsung is sleeker than boxy #2 rated Sony. Speakers don't clutter the front panel either, they are across the bottom with a lip (you don't notice it) that directs the sound forward. The one issue with using an HDTV on an SD signal is how you choose to "clip" the picture. I have several choices. I initially preferred the compromise one that clips off only a little of the top and bottom but my wife doesn't like to lose the news/ticker on the bottom of the news shows. So we have it set on the HD standard 16:9 horizontal/vertical. This does stretch the picture out horizontally, but neither of our daughters even noticed, even after I asked them! So I guess I will get used to it too.
How much do we like it? We have already ordered a second one and it will be delivered next week!


By anonymous; - Dec 14, 2007

samsung ln-t4053h 40 in. lcd television

Samsung Ln-t4053h 40 In. Lcd Television receives an overall TopTenREVIEWS score of 1.68 out of 4.00. It is ranked the #245 LCD flat panel TV of all time. The overall rating represents an intelligent balance of features, value as a function of price to features, and a summary of reviews from a variety of sources. The TopTen REVIEWS' formula gives a picture of important consumer features,...
Read Full Review

By TopTenREVIEWS.com - Jul 16, 2008

ReviewGist for Samsung LN-T4053H TV

Display is Average according to 2 Flat Panel TV experts. -- "The picture display was excellent."-tv.about.com Read more to find expert opinions on more features like Sound, Tuning, Connectivity, etc.
Read Full Review

By reviewgist.com - Dec 19, 2009