Reviews for Sony RDR-HX900 DVD Player/Recorder - 160 GB HDD - Silver

Not Available

Product Reviews (13)

So far I have backed up VHS...

Strengths: HUGE hard drive - a ton of options. Looks great. Everything I hoped it would be.

Weakness: Directions a bit confusing if you have a lot of components

So far I have backed up VHS movies, home videos off of an 8mm camcorder. The quality is excellent - almost looks improved. Menus are really easy to use and once you work with it for a day or two - it gets really easy to use. I look forward to being able to back up everything to DVDs. The hard drive is a must have - can put everything on it and then decide what format of DVD to put it on - or just delete it off the hard drive. Record off of TV is simple. I love this machine!

By eldorado05 - Feb 21, 2005

My primary use of video recording...

Strengths: see comments

Weakness: see comments

My primary use of video recording is for time-shifted recording. I had bought this machine because my VCR is on its last legs and wanted to replace it with something more up-to-date. I picked the HX900 partly because of the reviews and because it’s compatibile with DVD +RW media, which is what I buy for computer use. I intended to use the DVD video recorder primarily for time-shifted recording and to transcribe the VCR material I already have.

Generally I like this machine, so I find that I have to concentrate on what I don't like:

1. The latency (several seconds) between the pressing of a menu button and the appearance of the menu. I find the delay annoying. They need an experts option
2. A messy UI (user interface)

As a device to do time shifted recording the Sony comes up short in key features (to me) when compared the Mitsubishi SVHS recorder it replaces.

3. The Mitsubishi has two power-off positions – one that enables the time-delayed recording program and another that disables it. Thus, when I was about to go away on a trip and didn’t want a lot of programs accumulating in the recorder, I simply left the Mitsubishi in the second mode. I’m unaware of such a feature on the HX900
4. On the Sony the choices of frequency is without the crucial Mon-Fri option. Let’s say you want to record the evening news. The only alternative is to enter a program for each day of the week. The 30 available slots would be insufficient for this
5. Aside from nuking the entire content of the HD or DVD there’s no way of erasing multiple files. If I accumulate a lot of recorded programs, which I must do every day, it’s tedious to erase them one at a time and yet keep certain others

Since there’s already a firewire connection, Sony should permit allow this to be connected to a PC and allow data interchange and program control with the PC.

I also have a Sony NS700P DVD player and prefer it for playback because I think the user interface is far easier to use and more responsive. The remote has a better arrangement that can be used in the dark.

By pankos - Jun 21, 2005

Since getting this recorder I have...

Strengths: A great product. Very easy to use. Hook up instructions very clear. Cannot expect anything less from Sony!

Weakness: Users manual takes time getting used to. As always Sony products are little pricy.

Since getting this recorder I have been recording all the late night shows that I will be able to watch on weekends. With a 160GB hard drive, one can record tons of program. The TV guide and timer feature are very useful for programming. A great product and a must have for all old VCR fans.

By harshagoshen - Jan 18, 2005

This is another Quality product...

Strengths: 160Gig Hard drive, Easy to navigate menus and to program through the TV Guide or just programming in manually. Sets up chapters to what you record every 6 mins. Makes it even easier to advance ahead.

Weakness: If any, it would have to be the price.

This is another Quality product from Sony. It is a very solid unit. I was surprised that it weighed as much as it did. One thing you should do when you get one of these (and you will :) ) is not to spend a lot of time reading the manual. I found it a bit overwhelming and easier to just navigate the remote and look for answers to questions you have later in the manual.

By Catman442 - Feb 28, 2005

One BIG problem

Strengths: Nice sized hard drive, easy to use controls, very good titling tool.

Weakness: Makes DVDs that CANNOT be copied, cannot be played on some players

We're using this to archive old tapes, and found to our chagrin that the DVDs this drive AND the Sony RDR GX300 create cannot be copied by standard DVD copy programs such as Nero, PrimoDVD, etc. due to numerous "read errors" in the copy process. These are NOT copy protected programs; they are our own content. The result is that our programs are digitized, but that one copy is all we have.

Some people we've burned DVDs for have complained about DVDs not being able to play all the way through.

I have contacted Sony about these problems, but they are silent. I'm here looking for another DVD recorder, since the Sony's are singularly ill-suited to our needs, in this case.

By kcrane22 - Oct 31, 2005

I have been using this product on...

Strengths: Product quality and versatility

Weakness: None found

I have been using this product on a try before buy basis. During the course of my evaluation I have bought similar products(and subsequently returned them). I found this product to be the best available in the market for price range upto $900.
The Good - ease of installation, video quality of recorded pieces, ease of use, TV Guide.
The Bad - the timer controller(much like the Satelite Receivers). Not all the switches and buttons in the remote control are obvious, so one will have to read the user's guide to figure out these items. This is OK, I think! The Record controls are hidden from open view in the remote controller - I do not know why? After all this is a DVD Recorder so why hide the controls for recording?
The Ugly - The on screen menu colors are washed out and a bit repulsive to work with(poor resolution and bad or no color)
OVERALL - This is an outstanding product. The price may seem to be little steep - but you can not go wrong with this product. Sony has made a name for Video products(Television, Camcorder, DVD/CD recorders players and Miniaturisation. This product is worthy of carrying SONY logo in all respects.
By the way, I finally bought this product as I would not have it any other way! Good Luck

By DipakNiyogi - Mar 20, 2005

It is exactly what I was looking...

Strengths: This is a great DVD recorder, easy to edit and program, really sharp DVD's, the best electronic equipment I ever had, I have tried other DVD recorders but nothing compares to this.

Weakness: Manual a little hard to understand

It is exactly what I was looking for, easy to program, with lots of features and above all lots of memory on the HDD, the quality of the DVD are superb, also editing it is easier than the program that I have in my computer, I highly recommend this DVD recorder.

By bayview912 - May 2, 2005

One of the function I liked about...

Strengths: Overall design of the unit, ample connection options & a 160GB HDD.

Weakness: TV Programming Guide does not work.

One of the function I liked about this unit is the option to record on the DVD or HDD & transfer them. User interface is intuitive & can be easily followed. My only real gripe with the unit is that I can't seem to make the TV Programming Guide to work with my Comcast Digital cable. I followed all the instructions but to no avail.

By parokyae - Apr 18, 2005

Review

Strengths: Great having a harddrive to record shows, such as tennis, the quality was great.

Weakness: I had after just one year, the disc drive failed and the tray would not stay closed. This would cost more than a new machine would cost me. Somewhat dissappointing!!!

I may not purchase another Sony product if Sony does not cover the cost of the repair, still waiting to hear. I might try a different product that has a hard drive, this is an awesome feature.

I can only hope Sony stands behind their product so that I remain a loyal Sony customer.

Thanks,
SLB

By anonymous; - Jul 17, 2006

I paid $524 for this RDR-HX900...

Strengths: This is a great DVD recorder, easy to edit and program, really sharp DVD's, the best electronic equipment I ever had (I did not try a progressive mode, because I have a regular TV).

Weakness: TV Programming Guide does not work for digital cable boxes. There is a half of sec. delay between chapters, when you copy on DVDs (turn off Auto Chapter). There are no digital audio input ports.

I paid $524 for this RDR-HX900 recorder and $191 for the Lasonic HV-670 DVD player with the removable 250GB hard drive (I bought also the second one - also 250GB for $29 after rebate plus a HD holder for the HV-670). I connected the HV-670 to the RDR-HX900 via the component video cable, and the RDR-HX900 to my TV via the S-Video cable.

So, now I can play all my video files from the HV-670 removable hard drive (or from the RDR-HX900) on my TV. I can also record TV programs on the RDR-HX900 hard drive and copy them on DVDs (and from these DVDs to the HV-670 hard drive). From the HV-670 hard drive I can copy files to/from my computer.

If I need to copy anything from the HV-670 hard drive to the RDR-HX900, I just play the file on the HV-670 and record it on the RDR-HX900 hard drive. I think this is a perfect combination of all options, you ever dream of.

By AsEasyAs123 - Jan 24, 2006

Sony RDR-HX900

Strengths: Easy to use, great capacity, Sony...

Weakness: Expensive, fan can be a bit noisy...

I use this w/my antenna connection, not cable or satellite and, surprisingly enough, it works great. Though this may be more indicative of my antenna reception, the TV Guide feature is accurate. The different modes of recording quality are a real help in having enough room on the disk for all the shows. Dubbing to DVD is extremely simple, as is editing out commercials before dubbing if so chosen.

These will only get better but I'm more than happy with this start...

By tengst - Oct 4, 2005

HX-900::Great piece of Equipment!!

Strengths: This is a great DVD recorder, easy to edit and program, really sharp DVD's, the best electronic equipment I ever had (I did not try a progressive mode, because I have a regular TV).

Weakness: TV Programming Guide does not work for digital cable boxes. There is a half of sec. delay between chapters, when you copy on DVDs (turn off Auto Chapter). There are no digital audio input ports.

I paid $524 for this RDR-HX900 recorder and $191 for the Lasonic HV-670 DVD player with the removable 250GB hard drive (I bought also the second one - also 250GB for $29 after rebate plus a HD holder for the HV-670). I connected the HV-670 to the RDR-HX900 via the component video cable, and the RDR-HX900 to my TV via the S-Video cable.

So, now I can play all my video files from the HV-670 removable hard drive (or from the RDR-HX900) on my TV. I can also record TV programs on the RDR-HX900 hard drive and copy them on DVDs (and from these DVDs to the HV-670 hard drive). From the HV-670 hard drive I can copy files to/from my computer.

If I need to copy anything from the HV-670 hard drive to the RDR-HX900, I just play the file on the HV-670 and record it on the RDR-HX900 hard drive. I think this is a perfect combination of all options, you ever dream of.

By anonymous; - Sep 3, 2005

Sony RDR-HX900 DVD Recorder


Read Full Review

By pocket-lint.co.uk - Apr 1, 2005