Reviews for Micro Innovations Webcam - USB

Not Available

Product Reviews (13)

It works fine for me. You might...

Strengths: Good price

Weakness: Installation problems

It works fine for me.
You might face problems while installing the product on Windows XP. It did not pass windows logo test. I called the tech support person. You need to download the driver from the web site.
The camera got installed and worked fine. You have more framing, but this is ok for price you pay.

By neoman - Oct 8, 2004

The Webcam Basic is exactly what...

Strengths: Very easy to set up, simple to work with.

Weakness: Small blue spots appear in captured videos.

The Webcam Basic is exactly what the name implies. The setup for this cam is quick and easy, having no conflicts when installing on a computer with XP Home operating system. It has easily adjustable framerate up to 30 frames per second and capable of reasonable looking still captures as well. I've conferenced once with Windows Netmeeting; the cam performed as designed, and was instantly recognized by the software. A bargain at the current price, and I recommend it.
The small blue spots visible during test video captures I've done so far does "bug" me, though.

By sbharvey - Nov 17, 2004

I am satisfied with this purchase....

Strengths: This camera performs well and it's easy to use and install.

Weakness: Needs a resolution and speed boost.

I am satisfied with this purchase. It costs what it's worth. If it had a higher resolution, for the price, I would have been very impressed. The camera works with any modern version of any messengert programs, as well as webcam hosting programs, such as webcamxp.

By odi812 - Feb 2, 2005

I have the Micro Innovations...

Strengths: Easy to install and setup

Weakness: The neck of the webcam does not turn very easily

I have the Micro Innovations Webcam installed on my Windows XP Professional Edition Service Pack 2. The installation process went smoothly and quickly, following the manufacturere's instructions. The webcam is working instantly upon installation, and I find the image crisp and clear. There might be a slight delay in motion, but that is mainly due to my computer speed and not the webcam itself. Overall, this is a good buy and I would like to recommend it just for the low price and simple installation.

By cui_can - Dec 19, 2004

A small and compact webcam, good for this price.

Strengths: Small size, good quality, lots of useful softwares.

Weakness: adjustable angle is small, if you put it on desk, you can not see your head without add some books to its foot.

Good picture quality, small size, easily tunable focus length, and a lot of useful softwares.
The adjustable angle is too small, and you can not see your head when you put it on your desk.

By scifan - Jul 6, 2005

I had some installation problems,...

Strengths: Price

Weakness: installation

I had some installation problems, such as missing spca561 file but after download driver pack from their website www.mi-products.com I was able to install it.
The image is clear enough.
I ordered from supplytech.com on late Monday night and it arrived on Wednesday. With $5 rebate here this product is less than $10. Excellent deal!

By yhchiu - Feb 17, 2005

I spotted the Webcam Basic with...

Strengths: Good Price, very easy to install, comes with neat software.

Weakness: Flutters a little and can't handle low light.

I spotted the Webcam Basic with what looked like a great price. It was extremely easy to install and worked right off the bat. It comes with some neat software and gave me a very clear picture. I am well pleased and would recommend this camera to anyone looking for a low priced, good quality, starter camera.

By ahuska - Aug 23, 2004

I tried to install the driver, but...

Strengths: inexpensive

Weakness: installation problems

I tried to install the driver, but my Windows XP did not accept it. It said that the software is not recommended by Windows, but I could continue with the installation if I wanted to. I called the tech support person. He was nice and told me to download a new driver directly from the web site. I did that but I got the same window warning popup. I continued with the installation anyway and the camera worked! The installation instructions from the web site were very confusing because you are prompted to accept warning popups and search for specific files. I assume the camera is not very compatible with XP. But this is what you get for $12. I have to say that the camera works fine!

By delyan - Apr 30, 2004

This product was shipped as...

Strengths: Economical; great quality for price. Works just as described.

Weakness: Is light as a feather! To turn or manuever it requires patience.

This product was shipped as described. It was very easy to install and worked immediately. The quality of the images exceeded my expectations. I recommend this product to those seeking a care free digital imaging device for their computer.

By cdgilber - Mar 4, 2005

Overall, this is a good buy. The...

Strengths: price

Weakness: no found

Overall, this is a good buy. The Webcam Basic is exactly what the name implies. The setup for this cam is quick and easy, having no conflicts when installing on a computer with XP Home operating system. It has easily adjustable framerate up to 30 frames per second and capable of reasonable looking still captures as well. I've conferenced once with Windows Netmeeting; the cam performed as designed, and was instantly recognized by the software. A bargain at the current price, and I recommend it.




By davidke - Jan 22, 2005

This CAM is so small and...

Strengths: It is good quality camera compared with it's price

Weakness: It's not good looking

This CAM is so small and convenient that you can always keep it with you.
It's comforting to know that you are always just a keyring away from capturing high quality photos



By samliu - Nov 23, 2004

I had trouble as Windows XP didn't...

Strengths: Inexpensive, customer support.

Weakness: Trouble setting up with Windows XP, and subsequent customer support.

I had trouble as Windows XP didn't recognize the camera on it's plug & play installer. I expected that though from the other reviews. When I finally got through to customer support (timing was off as I am West Coast, they are East Coast) I was pleasantly helped by a patient and nice man. I finally got the camera installed, but I am still having trouble getting my messenger programs to recognize it as we have a firewall. The tech support offered to help me via email, but I have sent 2 requests, with no answer. I'll have to resort to the phone again. Hopefully this will be cleared up soon so we can actually use the camera.

By dtwalter - Mar 7, 2005

get what you pay for.

Strengths: cheap,

Weakness: the neck wont hold the cam up, wont work with xp right, software is confusing

wouldnt work with xp when i finally got it to it always had some kind of problems. the neck of the cam. wouldnt hold up the cam so get kept falling so when trying to use it i always had to hold it. didnt have any problems when i installed it on my windows 98 system expect for the neck of the cam of course but when i finally did get it to work it did have a very nice and clear picture to it. i just dont think it was made to work with xp well. since then through i have replaced it as far as my xp system goes and getting ready to sell this cam

By anonymous; - Apr 18, 2006