Reviews for Toshiba Satellite A105-S4384 15.4" TruBrite Notebook - Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.60 GHz - Mist Gray

Not Available

Product Reviews (17)

Good for value, Fast computer

Strengths: Good design, Good color, sharp image, fast machine!

I would recommend to purchase Toshiba laptop again.
This is my 5th Toshiba laptop. I have the oldest version of Toshiba Satelite for many years.

I have no issue with Toshiba laptop, and very happy with it.

It is a good laptop for its value.

By beeytan - Feb 26, 2007

good buy

Strengths: Core 2 Duo processor, 160GB Hard drive, 1GB Ram - Expandible to 4GB. free Vista upgrade,Intel PRO/Wireless, DVD±RW/CD-RW drive.

Weakness: No Bluetooth, 4200 RPM Hard drive, shared memory video card,


Overall, I liked this laptop, Would be better if it had bluetooth for my application programs. Hard drive is 160GB, but it has 4200 RPM, this could have been higher. Video card works with shared memory, would be better to have a dedicated one. It was ready to go after opening package, however desktop was full of trial software. I had to clean some of them, some I liked. It has 1GB ram and expandable to 4GB, which is good. It has a Intel PRO/Wireless, it connects to Wi-Fi network from the distance that my previous laptop wasn't able to. Overall I would recommend this laptop with a $849 after rebate price.

By yasunic - Feb 17, 2007

Good value for price

Strengths: I got mine for 799 AR at circuitcity. So far, I am happy with it. It is one of the lighter 15.4 around

Weakness: toshiba tends to package too much software that are not useful into its laptop.

It is a good deal for the price I paid at circuitcity, after rebate. I am satisfied with the laptop so far, and it is not too heavy. The downside is that Toshiba package too much unuseful software into it and the CD including only the windows installation files are not given; only the CD that restores everything to its initial state.

By bibbig - Feb 17, 2007

Good Deal overall. For the price of $849 + vista upgrade this does perform better than others

Strengths: Intel core duo 2 processor, 5-in-1 bridge media adapter and Express Media Player, Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG network connection (802.11a/b/g), 1GB PC4200 DDR2 SDRAM , Multiformat DVD±RW/CD-RW drive with double-layer support records

Weakness: Battery life about 3 hours

Straight out of the box it is ready to go, really fast even if it is preloaded with all the promo items, comfortable keypad & touchpad technology is A1. It has all the access ports you will need. However the battery life is still the issue, and I am not too pleased with the sound quality - but I always use headphones anyway. Used with a netgear wireless router, or ethernet LAN I get the same performance - the Toshiba came preloaded with a program that helps you setup all your access points. Easy for non-tech savvy people like myself.

By stonecat6 - Jan 6, 2007

Satellite A105-S4384 Notebook by Toshiba

Strengths: Very fast processor, battery life is about 2 to 2-1/2 hours

Weakness: Can't think of any yet. Just got it hooked up to DSL internet 2 days ago.

Very affordable at $849 with mail-in rebate at CC. Very fast processor, has lots of memory. Also bought a Microsoft wireless mouse and it works fantastic. Speaker sound is very good too. Highly recommend for the price. Hooked up w/wireless Netgear router for internet service. Works well too. Runs faster than my Dell desktop. Love it.

By pattym46 - Dec 31, 2006

Great quality for the price

Strengths: Core 2 Duo processor, free Vista upgrade, 160gb hdd

Weakness: Hard drive is 4200 rpm (5400 would be much better), video card is 128mb shared memory (would like at least 128 dedicated), a lot of trial software preinstalled on it

Great price for Core 2 Duo processor. I've always liked the Toshiba design, does not feel cheap in your hands. Plus, you get to choose which OS to use (VISTA or XP) since it came with MCE preloaded and free Vista Upgrade.

I would recommend to wipe out the HDD and install XP Professional (if you have a spare licence), and it will fly. All the drivers can be found on the recovery DVDs. If you stick to MCE on the recovery DVDs, you will end up with 10gb of trial software, which slows it down.

Overall great buy for the money.

By djrh - Feb 2, 2007

Not very impressive

Strengths: Core 2 Duo, 4GB Ram max.

Weakness: LCD display is not as good as my Sony one. The color is a bit flushed.

Speaker sound is impressive, it is the best so far. The starting time is unexpected long. May be I need to reload the OS. 160GB Hard drive is good enough for daily use. All in all, it is a good machine.

By qingguofan - Jan 8, 2008

Toshiba Satellite A105-S4384 Notebook

Strengths: Core 2 Duo processor, Price, fast machine

Weakness: Too many software

This is a very good laptop at affordable price. It has Core 2 Duo processor, 160GB Hard drive, 1GB Ram - Expandible to 4GB. Fast processor. Easy Hooked up with ireless network.

Highly recommend for the price.

By sbcal93 - Jun 30, 2007

Very Capable Machine

Strengths: Great screen, keyboard easy to get used to, software and components operate effortlessly

Weakness: Windows key is in F-key row, no digital monitor out, Vista "Express Upgrade" was anything but express

This has been the best little machine ever! Toshiba has done an excellent job bundling their software with the hardware components. Everything related to hardware is conveniently located for east access. The machine is effiecient, speedy, and quiet. The design is clean and sharp and attractive. The only real problem I had was the Vista upgrade - it took hours and hours. In retrospect I should have waited a couple more weeks and waited for the models that came with Vista. I recommend this model and I'm sure other similar Toshiba models. I had a fairly old Toshiba Portege that consistently performed to it's capability up 'till the time I sold it on eBay.

By JasonintheOC - Apr 16, 2007

Nice purchase

I needed a Laptop for my deployment to Iraq. Everything I was looking at had Widows Vista, being a newer OS I was not willing to spend the money on it. In addition, I am tired of giving my $$ to Mircrosoft evertime they come out with a new OS. I found this Laptop at Officemax (with XP Perfessional) on clearance. The price was nice. I had an HP laptop that was a dog. The only thing I dislike about this laptop is the battery life. Evrything else works great.

By Odie on ToshibaDirect.com - Feb 24, 2007

Deal at $800

Best laptop I've owned and used. Had HP, Compaq, IBM and Dell. Albeit, I'd normally choose Macbook over windows for Media work, this notebook has shined in every application subjected. On the fly, was forced to use in a jam and had no problems running multi-media for projector and applications in a sound both for a few public events as quick fix stand-in. For several hundred dollars more, I imagine could get only marginally more performance. This is a bargain machine, comfortable in any scenario, with top-rated performance at $800. With Toshiba's reputation, am expecting durability and best quality available for the longer term. I do recommend an extra or bigger battery if not plugged.

By JDMiser on ToshibaDirect.com - Feb 21, 2007

Average computer with big hard disk

The Toshiba A105-S4384 did not really returned what I expected from a Core 2 Duo with ATA drive and 1GB of RAM. The laptop takes a while to bootup despite removing some un-necessary startup items. It did not play most of my games, which my earlier Dell used to play. Wi-Fi is good, the 5-in-1 media card reader is a help. Overall, an average laptop.

By jagjinder on ToshibaDirect.com - Feb 19, 2007

Quality Laptop--Affordable pricetag

After doing some homework. I decided that this Satellte notebook had the features and options I was looking for at a good price--- I bought mine at Circuit City---with rebates I paid $799 and received a free printer. This is my first personal notebook-- I have a Panasonic Toughbook for work and a Desktop (HP). To date this is my best experience with a PC. Beautiful screen. Fast processor. Overall great buy!!!!

By Jimmy on ToshibaDirect.com - Feb 18, 2007

Great purchase

I bought this notebook to replace a HP that the harddrive crapped out on ONE week after the warranty expired! This Toshiba is much faster and much easier to use, not to mention it looks good too. I would recomend this notebook to anyone. A very good buy.

By big777bill on ToshibaDirect.com - Feb 16, 2007

Great NoteBook

This is a very good notebook computer. 160GB hard drive lets you store everything on the go. The processor is very good to do all kinds of stuff. Wireless domain mapper software is good. I recommend it.

By on ToshibaDirect.com - Feb 9, 2007

tramadol hcl

More or less nothing seems worth doing, but oh well.
I just don't have anything to say now.
phentermine 37.5 mg | tramadol | viagra side effects
maclaren.hosted.jiveso...
maclaren.hosted.jiveso...

By anonymous; - Dec 29, 2006

toshiba satellite a105-s4384 (core 2 duo 1.66 ghz, 1 gb ram, 160 gb hdd)

Toshiba Satellite A105-s4384 (core 2 Duo 1.66 Ghz, 1 Gb Ram, 160 Gb Hdd) receives an overall TopTenREVIEWS score of 2.09 out of 4.00. It is ranked the #551 laptop computer of all time. The overall rating represents an intelligent balance of features, value as a function of price to features, and a summary of reviews from a variety of sources. The TopTen REVIEWS' formula gives a picture of...
Read Full Review

By TopTenREVIEWS.com - Jul 16, 2008