Reviews for Fujifilm FinePix F20 6.3 Megapixel Compact Camera

$260.79

Product Reviews (28)

Excellent low-light performer

Strengths: Excellent high ISO images, nice LCD, variety of user adjustments, solid body

Weakness: Occasional purple fringing, uses less popular xD memory

After much research, I purchased a Fuji F20 in order to shoot in low light conditions without flash. The F20 (and its virtually identical sibling the F30) includes Fuji’s 6th generation SuperCCD sensor that promises high sensitivity in low light conditions without the usual image noise associated with conventional digital camera sensors. The F20’s ISO range of 100-2000 turns out to be quite useable throughout the range. I’ve taken hundreds of pictures in low light at ISO 800, 1600, and 2000 and the images are simply unmatched for their clarity, color fidelity, and lack of noise. There is no other point-and-shoot camera that can hold a candle to the Fuji sensor’s low light capabilities. The noise “grain” at high ISOs has none of the multicolored pixels that dominate the high ISO images from competitive cameras. In addition, the Fuji comes wrapped in a nice, solid body with good ergonomics and features for its small size.

Prior to purchasing the F20, I’ve been using a Canon A610 (an excellent camera all around) and have been spoiled by the fine Canon image quality under normal lighting conditions (using ISO 50-200). It’s hard to beat the Canon in daylight using its low ISO settings. When pushing the Canon to its ISO 400 limit, the images are very good but the multi-colored pixel noise is obvious if not distracting. The Fuji F20, on the other hand, produces images at ISO 800 that are easily comparable to the Canon’s ISO 400 and, in many cases, even its ISO 200 setting. The Fuji can snap photos under low, natural lighting that the Canon can’t even attempt without using its flash. At normal print sizes, I find the F20’s ISO 1600 images completely printable and useable. Several professional reviews have compared the Fuji F20/F30 image quality at ISO 800/1600 against digital SLR output at similar ISOs and found the Fuji output to hold its own remarkably well. Now that I’ve used the F20 in a variety of shooting conditions I can say that its low light output indeed sets a new industry benchmark. The Fuji F20/F30 has opened up a whole new range of shooting modes that have simply not been possible without investing in high-end SLR equipment.


For those who’ve been wondering whether to go for the F30 or save some dough with the F20, here’s my take. First, the F20 and F30 share the exact same 6MP sensor, processor, and lens. There will be no difference in image quality between the two cameras. What the F30 offers is aperture or shutter priority modes, a higher resolution LCD monitor, ISO 3200 instead of 2000, and a longer battery runtime. However, the F30’s pseudo-manual mode may only be marginally satisfying to those craving full manual control since, like most point-and-shoot digitals, the f-stops are limited by the zoom setting you’ve chosen. I have seldom relied on using aperture or shutter priority modes in my point and shoot cameras since the program modes are excellent for most of my shots.

As for the LCD, I have compared the F20 and F30 side-by-side and there’s little to differentiate them especially since the F20 includes a 153,000 pixel LCD that is already at a higher resolution than most other 2.5-inch screens on competitive cameras. The LCD alone should not be the deciding factor.


Battery life is very good on the F20 and typical of most consumer cameras at about 250+ shots per charge; however, the F30 nearly doubles the capacity per a single charge and this can be significant for many users who don’t wish to have a spare battery on hand. Personally, I like to have a spare battery handy since I may not always have a full charge on the in-camera battery when I go shooting. That’s just my preference to safeguard against being totally stuck. Finally, the F30 has an ISO 3200 at its top end compared to the F20’s ISO 2000. But nearly everyone is of the opinion that the F30’s ISO 3200 is much less useable than the F20’s ISO 2000 (and this may explain why Fuji reduced the F20 setting to something more realistic).
All the other controls such as ISO selection, focus modes, scene modes, LCD refresh rates, and low-light (“anti-blur” as Fuji likes to call it) are the same between the F20 and F30.


To summarize: The F20 and F30 are identical cameras in terms of image quality. The F30 comes at a competitive price with some nice additions (though not quite deal-breaking if image quality is your goal). But the F20 value is simply remarkable and the price difference goes a long way towards buying you a 512 MB xD memory card and spare battery.

By lindguini - Oct 6, 2006

Can't judge this book by its cover

Strengths: Picture Quality, Speed, Amazing Natural Light mode and low light pictures approaching SLR quality.

Weakness: Clunky looking. Not for the vain. Plethora of warnings in manual about doing the wrong thing and damaging your xD card inspires 0 confidence.

Finally, a compact digital camera that delivers. This little brother of the benchmark Fuji F30 compact digital camera is only has a few downgrades (slightly less powerful battery, lower resolution LCD, slightly smaller size, no aperture controls) yet shares the same SuperCCD circuitry. It is unmatched in low light picture taking unless you find yourself a SLR, and even then the difference is not too great. In outdoor pictures, it is on par with the new Canon SD700is (a worthy competitor in its own right, the first Canon elph worthy of its reputation, and much cooler looking than the Fuji).

This camera is half the price, but looks a bit of a clunker to my taste.

Things that are worthy of note:

- 3x zoom is adequate.. 4x like the Canon SD700is would have been nice.
- Natural light mode is amazing for low light pictures. Backgrounds do not get washed out by bright flashes.
- 2* Natural mode gives you both natural mode and regular flashed pictures, so you can press the button once and get both at the same time and decide what you like later (super!)
- 640x480 30fps video looks pretty nice.
- xD memory is 2x more expensive. (doh!)
- pretty fast operation throughout
- very inexpensive (can be found less than $200 with some coupons)
- up to ISO 2000 (Fuji F30 goes to ISO 3200). In reality, you'd probalby use up to 400-800. VERY low noise at those ISO ranges, which is pretty amazing for a camera this size.

Pictures below are undoctored.. only reduced in size:

By creativesmurf - Sep 8, 2006

Fuji FinePix F20 - Great Camera

Strengths: Very good photo quality, excellent low light performance, battery life, fast start up

Weakness: Feels flimsy/not sturdy, not as user friendly as other comsumer cameras, weak flash, plastic I/O port cover.

I purchased this camera as an upgrade to the Fuji FinePix F10 that I've had for almost a year. Although the F10 took great pictures it was very fickle about its settings. You had to constantly change the settings. This camera fixes a lot of those quirks, like bumping up the ISO too high for no reason. The F20 has an Auto mode that caps ISO to 400.

I decided on the F20 rather than the F30 because I wanted a simple point and shoot camera and didn't need the extra manual features of the F30. The F20 is also a bit smaller than the F30. Both cameras have the same lens, SuperCCD image sensor, and Real Photo II Processor. This means that the F20 offers great low light capability and takes very good pictures. For the price, this camera is amazing at higher ISO and low light (indoor) pictures compared to other point and shoot cameras.

I mentioned that the F10 was not that user friendly, the newer F20 fixes a lot of those problems and makes it a lot easier to use as a point and shoot camera. It is a whole lot easier to use, but it still is not as user friendly as other cameras on the market. The AUTO mode of the F20 is a major improvement and is easily learned.

The camera is light so it is easy to take around but it feels flimsy and not sturdy.

The plastic cover that covers the USB and charging ports is also very annoying. Not only is it poorly designed but it looks easily breakable.

The camera takes great pictures and although it has some quirks, I have no regrets about buying it and recommend it. For the price, the pictures are amazing, especially in low light. Nothing comes close to it.

By steven_t06 - Sep 19, 2006

good product, but has some shortcomings

Strengths: powerful battery, large LCD view window

Weakness: use XD card

This camera uses XD card, which is really terrible. I don't think having their own memory card standard is a good idea. Here is the thing: XD card is easily destroyed when you use a card reader . I almost lost all my important pictures when transfering pictures from XD card using a card reader. It showed as unrecognized disk, and you can't do anything on it, even format it. I googled and found many people had this problem. This is the lesson: NEVER use card reader for this kind of weird camera that use XD card!
As for the picture quality, it's really good.

By mikeyu - Feb 26, 2007

works well!

Strengths: doesn't need the flashlight when the room is not bright

Weakness: no

this camera works very well all the time.It's good to use it to take pictures for the baby.Because we don't need to use the flashlight and the pictures are clear.

By leopardli - Dec 7, 2006

Fuji FinePix F20: Don't Expect TOO Much!

Strengths: High ISOs make for better night and low light shots with less visible noise. High resolution LCD. Sturdy metal body. Fast flash recharging.

Weakness: Exposure/light metering is all over the place. Mostly, the "Anti-Blur" feature simply turns on the flash. To use high ISOs—long exposures—you need TRUE image stabilization OR a tripod. NO DIAL!

Chances are, this is not the first review you’ve encountered in your search for THE perfect camera. Allow me to break down MY experience with the Fuji FinePix F20:

TRUE: The F20 is a high ISO feat of engineering (for a point-and-shoot, that is).
FALSE: This camera will not compete with a dSLR no matter what you've heard.
TRUE: Color reproduction is excellent.
FALSE: You will not need a tripod to take low light shots. Uh, not unless you NEVER drink coffee, NEVER get tired, NEVER pan the camera to follow your subject, NEVER get overly enthusiastic about whatever picture perfect moment you are trying to capture….
TRUE: Fuji warns users that they will not obtain reliable results when panning. Some digital cameras do a much better job in this type of shooting situation (Panasonic, for example). Images tend to soften or blur in everything but ideal light (since it seemingly favors high ISOs and long exposures even under bright indoor light or near open windows). Using the F20 for “action shots” of your kids or pets is iffy at best.
FALSE: Nighttime hand-held pictures will appear bright as day. Hey, we are talking about a point & shoot camera — not the Hubble Space Telescope! Even so, night shots WILL appear much better illuminated than the competition (if you can keep the shot from blurring — in my experience only 1/3 of the shots taken at the highest ISOs turn out due to the still-prevalent problem of handshake).
TRUE: The F20 has a LONG battery life. You may have heard that the F30, like the F10/11 could take roughly 500 shots on a single charge. Well, the F20 has a different battery but I still managed to get about 300 shots out of it before it needed recharging.
FALSE: The anti-blur feature works. Well, if you consider anti-blur to be the camera forcing on the flash, then I suppose it DOES work. It's a shame that a camera boasting such great low light performance and high ISO capability isn't married to gyroscopic image stabilization. If it were, this model may have prompted a five-star recommendation. Unfortunately, Fuji is leaving real image stabilization to Canon and Panasonic.
TRUE: Fuji has somewhat reduced the purple fringing that characterized the F10 (I owned three of those, BTW). Unfortunately, purple fringing is still higher than average IMHO.
FALSE: You can print 13x19 pictures. Well, if you really WANT to you can even print your pics on a plotter. But at 6mp 8x10 is still the sweet spot. The sensor and ISO sensitivity is good, but the F20 is STILL a 6mp camera just like the model it replaces.
TRUE: Reports of the camera needing EV compensation under bright sun are correct. Unlike some of the Olympus and Panasonic cameras I've used — and the Canons others own — the F20 struggles to determine the proper exposure under harsh mid-day sun. So, if you plan to hand the camera off to a stranger for a quick family pic at the amusement park be prepared to stop and set up the shot. For professional photographers, techno geeks and gadget freaks pausing to tweak the camera settings will not be a problem — and maybe even a source of interest (wherein one can build up "expertise" on how to use a point & shoot successfully). But for the rest of the point-and-shoot market slowing down to tell the camera how to make better use of the ambient light will seem like an oxymoron at best and the source of many lost picture perfect moments at worst.
FALSE: The F20 is just like the F30 without the shutter or aperature priority modes. Wrong! The F20 is missing an external scene-mode dial at the top. You MUST use the menu system instead.

Conclusion?

Buy this camera if you enjoy going to museums, galleries, bars and other places where you want a "still life" shot.

Do not buy this camera if you have a shaky hand (drink coffee, etc.) Even with a steady hand, however, the F20 is not the best choice for dance parties, sports (not enough zoom), active children or pets, bright sun climates, etc. First, bright light will blow out highlights, and dappled light will result in muddy shadows due to limited dynamic range (a problem, in fairness, that ALL point-and-shoot cameras struggle with). The point is, if you can't remember or don't want to pause to adjust exposure compensation settings to compensate for the F20's fickle exposure tendencies, this model, like the F10 before it, will only annoy you. Second, and perhaps most importantly, any camera shake or subject motion under less than ideal light will mar your picture to a greater extent than you may be accustomed to if you have prior experience with current generation Canon or Panasonic cameras. Ask yourself: What good is minimal shutter lag and high ISO performance if your precious pics are ruined by camera shake? Because Fuji continually overlooks true image stabilization I have no choice but to rate this camera's OVERALL performance as average. At the end of the day it's all about the pictures — and if they aren't “keepers” none of the other strengths matter.

By Good_Buy - Nov 10, 2006

Very good compact camera...super photo!!!

Strengths: Light weight, compact, good size, superior photo quality, rich feature

Weakness: Plasticy (comparing to my metal-cased Canon S30), no separate battery charger, no viewfinder.

It's a good sized camera, not too small to hold dangerously, not too big that it can't fit in your pocket. I specially like the dual-shot mode that it takes one photo with natural light and one with flash consecutively. I don't need to tell people to stay tune and wait for me to take an addition photo. I do hope it comes with a battery charger. All in all, it's a very good compact camera.

By eugenic - Sep 13, 2006

FinePix F20 Digital Camera

Strengths: good photo quality

Weakness: no SD support

This camera has several functions which I am not quite familiar with. For simple shooting, the photo looks great. I am happy with the camera because it was said to have excellent low light performance and the budget is right for a super CCD camera.

By lynoio - Nov 22, 2006

um, "wow"...

Strengths: I'm not sure yet

Weakness: the menu is really annoying

well, I wanted to try this out because it has the 6th generation Super CCD sensor and it is much cheaper than the f30 though it has the same LCD as the a600-a700, indeed it is the same size but with a nicer-looking shell. I figured for under $200 this might be a steal.

Yet, I find myself confused by its image-quality, at least on first look. First off I was able to convince the nice Best Buy girl to remove the security lock and put my XD card in it (which they wouldn't do for me at Circuit City). Then I took some photos and looked at them on a big old Olympus E-500. I did not know at the time that you have to go into "(camera)M" mode to set the ISO up manually, so I shot it in "natural light" mode and flipped the target zone around a touch to vary the speed, varied the image size from 2MP to 3:2 to 6MP-fine and got my card back.

I'd have to say that every other camera that I tried there, the s3, the TZ1, even the E-550 took better photos. Oh they were well-exposed and all that, but it really seemed to have a problem with the lights. And the lighting rails. And the near focus.

See for yourself...these worked out to be ISO400 or 800, 1/110 or 1/250 depending on ISO, f3.5 or so. wide-angle shots mainly. I can say this, it was a little faster than a normal sensor, but otherwise I was hardly impressed.

And the menu is just a pain in the butt as everytime you set something it drops you back to the image screen.

To give this camera credit it probably could shoot at ISO200 or ISO100, what the others were requiring ISO800 to shoot. The s3 would not get over 1/80 f4 (program mode, sorry). But I suspect that the f20 has a lot more NR than say the f10. Plus at 3:2 the compression went to 2:1!!!! Even at 6MP-fine it is 4:1. Though at 2MP it is "26:10". The compression artifacts are very evident. I will try this again at ISO100 and 200.

The "anti-shake" is a joke it just bumps up the ISO. I mean, if that works for you, fine. But it's not a real IS system. The Olympus sp-320 does the same thing, though.
These crops are from a 6MP-F shot, plus the downsampled original. ISO400 1/110 f2.8. Overall it's not a bad shot. It's clearly better than an ISO400 shot from an s3 that I took standing on the other side of the table, which has substantially more color noise, less fidelity, and is 1/60 f3.5 with IS on. But the s3 handled the lights and ceiling better...which may just mean that it has a much better lens than the f20. Certainly the text in front is sharper with the f20 than with the s3.

I'll post the s3 shots after this.

By touristguy87 - Nov 4, 2006

Good looking, not as good picture

Strengths: Cheap price, nice LCD, high ISO mode

Weakness: Noisy picture when viewed in full size on PC, xD card ...

I was buying this mostly because its big brother f30 got very good reputation on indoor performance, and when I first played with the camera, I was quite happy when looking at the photos shot indoor when I view them on the LCD. They looked decent and no obvious noise can be seen even at ISO 1600.

However...when I upload the pictures onto my PC, it really break apart, very noisy pictures at high ISO, quite noisy even at ISO 200-400 when compared to my 3 years old Canon S400. Well do not think I am trying to compare ISO 1600 to ISO 200 on Canon, I am not that unfair to Fuji ;) I do compare things with same ISO, and Canon picture feel like silk while Fuji picture feel like sand paper when viewed in full size ...

After all, I think it is still a good deal at the price I paid (only a little less than $130), but if you'd pay the street price of $160+, I'd rather shed a few ten more bucks and get a Canon SD series camera.

BTW, xD card is a big killer ... while you can get 1GB SD card for $2.99 after rebate :)

By tzh2231 - Dec 6, 2006

Fuji FinePix F20 Digital Camera

Strengths: This is a great camera, outstand value for your money. Easy to setup and use!

Weakness: Rechargable batteries would have been a nice addition.

Overall great little camera, takes excellent shots, zoom works well and very easy to setup, take pictures and download to your pc. The only thing that is missing is a rechargeable battery.

By pctecguy - Dec 5, 2006

gift

Recipient of this gift and her mother are very pleased with all aspects of this camera. I would forward your survey to them, but it doesn't completely load on forwarding. Since you require a minimum of 150 characters here, I will further add that the recipient is my 14-year-old granddaughter, graduating from 8th grade in May and about to take a cross-country trip to NYC with her class.

By ammerman - May 1, 2007

Fuji F20 review

Strengths: Strengths: economical, very good high iso performance compared to other compact digital cameras, solidly built. Auto white balance does a good job.

Weakness: - Daylight performance: problems maintaining highlight detail in high contrast scenes, purple fringing of high contrast edges. -Uses xd cards -No external charger & power port cover flimsy

Summary: This camera is particularly suited to low light and/or indoor photography. By low light, I don't mean night shots where a tripod is required, other cameras do as well or better there, but rather by using it's ISO 800 or 1600 you can get a usable image shot hand held.

The claims that it has the noise characteristics of a dslr are an exaggeration. At higher ISO (e.g. 400 and above), detail is reduced and you get a distinct "water color" look to the images, initially in the low contrast areas of an image, though in 4x6" prints it might not be noticeable.

Additional xd card notes: slower and more expensive than sd, 1gb type H or M xd cards are finicky in some brands of card readers in that some will not work with them and furthermore some have reportedly corrupted cards making it impossible to transfer the images either via the card reader or the camera.

By ww77f - Dec 14, 2006

right camera right price

Strengths: compact camera god price

Weakness: if the battery could be a little more substantial

Bought this camera a week ago and I could say that it is very easy to use, solid built and has great colors. It is compact and the price also is just right.

By volkancicek - Nov 28, 2006

Very Good Camera for Indoor and Outdoor Shots !!!

Strengths: - Great performance at high ISO setting. - Very convinient to handle

Weakness: - A bit bulky - Experience some dust-on-sensor problem

The most important features of this camera that got my attention is high ISO performance. Most of other digital compacts usually have a poor performance when it comes to low lights or high ISO situation. Most of the timethe user are limited to only outdoor or sunny day shots. However, with this camera, I've been able to capture pictures under low light situation using high ISO setting. I'm very impress with the high ISO performace of this camera comparing to other competitions. The only downside of it is (very likely to happen with compact camera) the dust on CCD problem. I just detected that there is a dust spot on my picture (on CCD sensor). The good thing is the camera still under warranty so I sent it to service center and it was taken care of. Now I'm back and shooting again!!

By nikornpon - Nov 5, 2006

Fuji Rocs

Strengths: Small, small, small! Big LCD screen. Many functions and great (6 MP) pics.

Weakness: Battery is built-in (if you think that's a weakness). Otherwise, none.

This Finepix is an incredible deal for amateur shutterbugs! The pics are great and 6 MP really stores a tremendous amount of image detail. There are many functions to choose from and the low light capabilities of this camera (ISO 2000) are astounding. I'm going to buy another for $208. I really like the XD picture card format and have been using it for years.

By CustomsLawyer - Sep 16, 2006

Unbelievably good value - special camera at budget price

Strengths: great for kiddie photos, bargain price, quality of pics, continuous focusing, Li-ion battery (see review for why)

Weakness: f5 at the long end of the zoom, EV function in menus

I have the F30 for about 6 months, but I got my neighbour to get the F20. Now I have had my hands on it and I'm happy to say that it hasn't disappointed. almost everything that applies to the F30 applies to this one. This is a quality camera at a budget price. I suppose it must be so cheap because a)Fuji aren't Canon b)they've compromised on the purple fringing - the lense quality - as usual (almost all fuji's have this problem, but really it's not a problem for most people, even an enthusiast amateur like me, and Fuji know that).

Don't worry about xD cards, they aren't double the price. Also fuji pics at normal jpg quality are practically indiscernable from high quality, and they are good, so your 512MB card can take 350 pics - more than enough.

You'll be thankful for a Li-ion battery. Everyone wants AA's but they are very fragile (you can't drop them), self-discharge quickly and are an extra expense. So long as you keep Li-ion's at 50% charge (only going to 100% as needed) a Li-ion won't need replacing for several years and has none of NIMH disadvantages. (Also don't store your li-ion battery discharged : it'll stop working permanently).

The F20 has continuous focusing if you want it which means instant shot times (but reduced battery). Perfect for kids. Even without continuous focusing it's fast enough that no-one complains of lag. Remember to keep bright light and sunlight behind people to get beautiful pictures of faces with high-lighted hair. Light straight in to the face usually looks rubbish.

Disadvantages : you loose all low-light ability at the long end of the zoom. Fuji should have given us a better lense to match the sensor. It doesn't make sense. If you have the cash and want to take pics of your kids at events without a flash and at a distance then consider the Canon G7, which is better for low-light pics in those conditions even without the special F20 sensor, and also 6x zoom. But for a budget price you can't complain with the F20.

EV is hidden in a menu instead of the F30's button. This is a pain as EV is how you adjust to get the camera to take ambient pics (it usually tries for too bright a pic because it is assuming bright daylight). It's not really too much of a problem since an EV of -1/3 is fine for most pics so you won't have to change much. You'll need to switch to manual mode to get EV control.

Like the F30 the LCD needs adjusting to -4 in the menus. It's WAY brighter than how the pics come out. Your battery life will lengthen as well.

If you don't need the quasi-manual modes of the F30 (now the F31 is the same price) then get the F20. If you need the ability to get absolutely everything in focus (like for real-estate interior shots) then get the F30/F31 (and change aperture to 8). If you think you'll want to get some quality play-time with your camera, or take more than snaps, get the F30/F31. You should also consider the s6000.

Remember for sunshine shooting put your people against the light. Use the shade, it's your friend. Never put the sun in their face. Try also positioning the subject so that a darker object is behind to get maximum definition to their high-lighted hair. If needed shoot with flash ON!!! The best sunlight is when the sun is low and shadows long: you'll see this in films. It's the same for your photos, but shade is good at midday. You might need to set the F20 to manual and change light-metering to center-weighted or spot to get their faces to be visible. Portrait scene-mode might be good too. If you can put something shiny to one side to reflect in their eyes: beautiful.

And go to a photo site, like flikr, and analyse the best people shots.

By lorriman - May 28, 2007

FinePix F20 Digital Camera

Strengths: Easy to use

Weakness: Hard to see in the sun

Easy to understand instructions. Easy to use controls. Small light weight easy to carry. Battery is chargeable and has a relative long life. Will accommodate a large memory card. Images are very clear and sharp.

By fjcotton3 - May 23, 2007

Fujifilm F20 Digital Camera

Strengths: low light and night photography. Best in its price range

Weakness: sometimes blows highlights in very bright light. dont like the laptop-like charger and XD-cards.

overall its a good camera and i would recommend it.
However do try to look at the sample pictures taken with this camera from flickr.com before buying it beacause some people might not like the all too natural colour as compared to a little vivid colour in most other cameras and also images are a bit soft as compared to other cameras like canon.But you can do post processing in the photoshop for that.
people doing a lot of indoor photography should definitley get this.At this price(130$) ,you have nothing to loose.

By usman235 - May 23, 2007

This is my third digital camera...

Strengths: Will take a good quality photo in any light setting.

Weakness: None.

This is my third digital camera and so far the best. I have yet to take a bad photo. The F-20 takes clear crisp photo's every shot. Great camera.

By wlambing - Apr 2, 2007

good product, but has some shortcomings

Strengths: powerful battery, large LCD view window

Weakness: use XD card

This camera uses XD card, which is really awful. I don't think having their own memory card standard is a good idea. This is the thing: XD card is easily destroyed when you use a card reading for reading files on it. I almost lost all my important pictures when connected the XD card with a card reader. It showed as unrecognized disk, and you can't do anything on it, even format it. I googled and found many people had this problem. This is the lesson: NEVER use card reader for this kind of weird camera that use XD card!

By anonymous; - Feb 26, 2007

Good all round

Strengths: Great pictures in low light

Weakness: Easy to put fingers in the way of lens cover when switching on

This must be the easiest camera to use, it is so easy to find your way around the menu. It takes good sharp pictures every time, i don't want to spend time changing settings so i use it on auto most of the time, and i cant fault it. Best camera i have ever had.

By anonymous; - Feb 19, 2007

Great camera for the Price!

Strengths: Nice Screen, video quality, price, style, battery life

Weakness: Little fuzzay when zoom to full aize on screen

Seems like a good carera so far. It has awesome video 640X480 at 30fps. Although this eats up memory quick. It has good battery life. The pictures get a little fuzzy when you put them on 100% zoom. This could be because i don't know some setting on the camera that I should. Although I did play around with it for a while with not much improvement.

I like the screen . It has plenty of resolution for me.

By wambe3 - Dec 18, 2006

Nice little camera, not so great picture

Strengths: Very nice looking, cute and compact, very good price.

Weakness: Picture is not as fine as Canon SD series, which is as small as it is. Workmentship is quite obviously less decent.

Having played it for a few days, I have to say this is not going to be able to kick my 3 year old Canon S400 out. More likely this one will be a shoot-for-fun camera and a backup. I am very picky about picture quality, and the F20 gave me a very good first impression on its LCD. However when I load the photo onto computer I am very disappointed. The photos far less smooth compared to my 3 years old Canon S400, even when shooting at same ISO.

When trying the high ISO, the photo is ONLY good on LCD, quality becomes unbearable when displayed on big screen. I have not bothered to print any of those photos out, I believe they may actually come out looking ok, but I look at digital albums most of the time.

After all, very beautiful large LCD and very cheap price, it is still a bargin at current going price even with the slightly low quality output.

By anonymous; - Dec 5, 2006

a nice economic 6 MP camer in general

Strengths: 1. Extraordinary low-light perfomance 2. Nice large LCD 3. Nice price

Weakness: 1. still bigger than Canon SD series 2. almost no use of internal XD card 3. POOR auto exposure outdoors in sun/contrast situations. 4. there is no dial on the top 5. short time of battery

I owned a Fujifilm Finepix S602Z. It works fine butis too big to carry. F20 is a nice and economic 6 MP DC. Although its function and adjustment is not as many as Finepix series, F20 works fine for most case. The extraordianary low-light performance just impressed me, while the lack of capacity to handle strong sunlight is still a problem. Although EV adjustment might work, it takes time, not convenient for common user. In general, I would like to rate it as an average, low-price DC.

By zhentaozhang - Nov 27, 2006

I REALLY LIKE MY NEW FINEPIX F20 MY FIRST DIGITAL CAMERA WAS THE FUJI 2650 SO MANY STEPS UP

Strengths: can take photographs in all conditions. nice LCD

Weakness: uses less popular memory.

I LOVE ALL THE FEATURES IT IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN I COULD EVER HAD THOUGHT I HAD WANTED THE F900 FIST BUT THEY DIDNT HAVE IT IN THE STORE THEN I WAS TOLD ABOUT THE F20 I CHECKED IT OUT THE DIFFERENT THINGS IT COULD DO VOICE MEMO WITH PICS TAKE BLACK AND WHITE PICS GREAT MOVIE WITH SOUND I TOOK A PIC OF ME IN COMPLETE DARKNESS IT SHOWED UP AS IF I WAS IN A ROOM FULL OF LITE. I WAS SO PLEASED ALSO THERE IS A FEATURE THAT ALLOWS YOUR PICS TO FADE IN AND OUT WHEN VIEWING , IT IS REALLY JUST SO GREAT . IM A TRUCK DRIVER AND I ALWAYS TAKE PICS WHILE IM ON THE ROAD ,THIS IS THE PERFECT FRIEND CAMERA TO HAVE , I COULD SAY MORE BUT I THINK I HAVE MADE MY POINT.NO DISLIKES.

By mhdabedali - Nov 24, 2006

Great camera

Strengths: Large LCD screen, good size and looks

Weakness: xD card support only

This camera is well build. The silver color is elegant. 6 MP and 3x optical zoom is just enough for regular snapshots. One downside is the xD Card that it support, which is pricy when compared to SD cards.

By hungvenus - Nov 21, 2006

fuji finepix f20 digital camera

Fuji Finepix F20 Digital Camera receives an overall TopTenREVIEWS score of 2.54 out of 4.00. It is ranked the #260 Compact digital camera of all time. The overall rating represents an intelligent balance of features, value as a function of price to features, and a summary of reviews from a variety of sources. The TopTen REVIEWS' formula gives a picture of important consumer features, market...
Read Full Review

By TopTenREVIEWS.com - Jul 16, 2008