Reviews for Whirlpool WTW4800XQ White 27-in Washer

$378.00 - $887.51

Product Reviews (102)

Noisey! Lasted only 2 years :(

This machine is extremely noisy when agitating, and the transmission went out after 2 years of mild use (2 people).

By UnhappyCustomer on Home Depot - Jun 16, 2013

Good for the Price!

I love this washer, and would recommend it. Only one issue with it: the lid has a locking safety feature which turns on immediately after starting a load and prevents you from opening it whenever you want to, in order to see if you put enough soap, add something, etc. I cannot stand this- I should be able to open a washer whenever I want to. Please get rid of this terrible feature.

By Will on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

A good simple washing machine

very good washing machine. simple no high tech electronics that usually causes major problems and cost . The best part is that its made in north America not some Asian country you know who ! that uses substandard parts and material but looks pretty till it breaks down over and over again . This washer washes very very good , a little longer then most but very good . very sensitive in how you load when washing just a couple of garments. garment must be place accordingly to get proper balance other wise she will let you know she's not happy . I highly recommend this washer .

By tekfoc on Home Depot - Jun 4, 2013

Fabulous updated version of Regular Agitator Top Load Machine

Recently purchased this washer to replace an 8 year old washer with a plastic basket-tub that started to get odoriferous and constantly went out of balance. For those of us that want a new, regular top loading washer with an agitator, this is the machine. Features we Like: Porcelain on steel tub; optional off/on fabric softener; optional 2nd rinse with or without fabric softener; bleach dispenser; 5 cycle type options. 4 water temp options; 4 load size options. Cycle progress lights. Faster spins speeds with no going off balance. Features less liked: Takes a lot longer to wash a load on "Normal/Normal" cycle (over an hour). Light/Normal is about 45 minutes. Casual/Normal is a little less than an hour. Casual light/45 minutes. Delicate was about 40 minutes. These 'less liked' features in no way detract from our likeability of the product. Feature that others hate but DOES NOT bother us: The locking lid. People...it's a government reg. that is on all washing machines now. Get used to it. This machine's lid does NOT lock until the agitation begins for the wash cycle. It is easy to pause the cycle by pushing the button briefly. As with any new appliance - READ ALL THE INSTRUCTIONS - before use. Load the machine per the instructions. As with any washing machine that has a rigid agitator, DO NOT PACK the machine and you won't get damaged clothes, etc. Our clothes have been laundered beautifully in this machine and all we've had to do was follow the instructions. It's that simple. We purchased the matching Gas Dryer and they look lovely together as a set. Standard size measurements means then can fit just about anyplace. (Love the Dryer too)

By Voyager on Home Depot - May 19, 2013

This product is great.

The Dryer make a lots of noisy and I need RMA. Cusotmer Service and shipping is great services.

By drangon88 on Home Depot - May 8, 2013

So far so good!

Clothes wash well. Machine is loud! Like the top lock feature and thevariety of settings.

By Mama on Home Depot - Apr 30, 2013

super value and works quietly

Just enough features not to confuse, an excellent value and works quietly.

By bestbob on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

Just what we wanted

We wanted a no frills model that would clean our clothes efficiently. This Whirlpool model is what we were looking for. Ordering online at Home Depot was very easy, customer service was helpful and friendly. The delivery was done very professionally and smoothly, and our old washer was taken away for free. We are happy with the whole purchase experience.

By plc2110 on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

great basic machine

wanted a basic agitator style washer to replace our old one of 35 ys! this model is just what we were looking for. you can control the amount of water, add an extra rinse cycle. also has auto fabric softener dispenser. tub also seems bigger than the old one as we can fit more clothes into a washing. lacks a few cycles (presoak, rinse and hold, knits) but for just the two of us it is fine. has a cycle for whites, perma press, and delicates. how many more do you need?

By rpe46 on Home Depot - Apr 16, 2013

Junk

This washer lasted me about 2 years before it started grinding and quit working. I only do 4-5 loads of laundry a week. Save your money and buy another washer.

By Footballman on Home Depot - Jun 12, 2013

This washer is the quiet.

This is a quaity appliance for the price. It conserves on water and has the quietest run I have ever heard. Plenty of cycles, you can not go wrong on this one. The delivery went without hitch, they were there exactly when they said they would be and removed my old washer from the basement. Very pleased with this purchase.

By play8 on Home Depot - Jun 12, 2013

Has everything you need.

Super Happy with my new washer and the delivery option/haul away was amazing. Its a basic washer but has everything i need. The one feature i really wanted was a fabric softener dispenser and this has it. Its a quiet machine and does a great job in the spin cycle....less dryer time! I couldn't be happier with this machine. Great value for the money and the Home Depot delivery was executed beautifully. The delivery guys were respectful, fast and careful. Great all around.

By slivnilli on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

Nice to have an in home laundry again.

Washer is quiet and efficient. Looks great and the guys from HD installed and set it up in less then 10 min.

By MAPnSF on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

The only negative is the noise

This product really works! It's big and solid and gets the job done. It is a bit noisy but you also know when the cycle is done! Very happy with the purchase.

By SueD on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

great washer !

great transaction. Purchase,delivery,set up all fantastic and fast.Didn't even leave my chair for this purchase.Thats what I like , simple, quick and very easy ! Thanks Home Depot !!

By luvthatty on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

Basic Features Don't Exist

There is no soak cycle and I haven't been able to find any trick to fill the machine without it going on to drain and spin. The lid locks during most cycles, so you can't just open the lid (and have the machine automatically stop) to add a piece of clothing or for another reason.

By finaltouch on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

This washer is good for a basic machine

It cleans clothes well and fits more in the tub than my old whirlpool washer which this replaced after 11 years. My only complaints are that it is not quiet (Quiet Spin technology???), there is no end of wash sound, and it takes 50% more time to do a load. But for the price its very good.

By terry on Home Depot - Jun 6, 2013

excellent washer

This is the 4th washer I've owned, and it is without a doubt, the best. Easy to purchase (online) and the whole delivery process was simple, easy, efficient. Having appliances delivered it usually a hassle, and I figured Home Depot would be no exception, but I was wrong. I live in an apartment complex that is difficult to find, and once there, it's always difficult to find the building/apt. The Home Depot delivery guys were here with 5 minutes of when they said they'd arrive (they were actually early) and they were clean, efficient, friendly, and they had it installed, turned on, and had my old washer out within 10 minutes. I was astounded. Best delivery experience I've ever had with any mover/delivery-type persons. The entire experience was just about as perfect as it could possibly be.

By dwstxs1969 on Home Depot - Jun 5, 2013

Washing Machine is a quality product

We are still finding out new ways of washing with this machine, I miss being able to look in without unlocking , but seems to be the only drawback. Great machine.

By Sandy on Home Depot - Jun 4, 2013

Noisy washer

Easy to use washer. Easy to install. Nice design/looks good. Unhappy with the degree of noise when agitating.

By blackbird on Home Depot - Jun 4, 2013

clean clothes

The delivery guys, 110% Pros as far as the washer not much to say it cleans the clothes different kind of noise but it is a direct drive see how long that lasts

By MrTexasT on Home Depot - Jun 4, 2013

Very pleased

The product is great, works excellent. Really quiet for the work it does, my only complaint mine has a dent on the top left which had to be done during shipping.

By lkashat on Home Depot - Jun 4, 2013

Basic Washer Machine that does what it's suppose to do and does it well!

Our 25 year old competitor's brand machine finally stopped working and it wasn't worth it to try to repair it. We had concerns about potential costly repairs with all the electronics on many of the replacement washer machine choices available so wanted to keep the options to a minimum. We decided on this machine for several reasons. First, the wonderful reviews from customers plus a great review from a relative were definite considerations in our decision. Second, the machine offers several wash & rinse cycles and water level options to select from depending on the type of load to be done, whether it be a large, heavily soiled pile of boys jeans or a small load of lightweight shirts requiring a gentle wash. The agitator is a nice feature to gently manipulate the laundry throughout the cycle. Also, the basket size is quite a bit larger than our last washer and will allow me to wash a large comforter, something our old machine couldn't handle well! Really like the auto fabric softener dispenser in the middle of the basket. Last, I do like the dial controls and the location of them on the back panel. Simple and easy to control! As another reviewer mentioned, there is no pre-soak option but that is easily solved by pre-treating the fabric. The lid lock option wasn't essential for us but is a good selling point for a household with young children. The only complaint we have right now is that the clothes don't always spin as dry as we would like. Perhaps the machine is too loaded? This was a problem with our old machine and we would have to re-spin every load before placing items in the dryer. Overall, we are very pleased with our purchase!!

By LiFen on Home Depot - May 29, 2013

Works great.

For the price and features could not ask for more.

By RLJJ on Home Depot - May 29, 2013

Dislike sensing mode and lid lock

Lid locks prior to start of wash cycle which prevents visual check to determine proper water level. Can't bypass a cycle or repeat a cycle.

By SDE22 on Home Depot - May 28, 2013

The right one

Gives you total controls. Temperature, water levels and multiple cycles. Yes it has an agitator. I spent almost a week reviewing washers online. Not many agitator models left. Very low noise during operation and cleans perfectly. I'm a handyman, DIYer and repaired my old Maytag twice and decided its time for a new one. Very pleased after 3 months. HomeDepot gave free delivery,setup, old washer removal. it was hard for me to just watch. lol. Just my 2 cents.....

By Eric on Home Depot - May 28, 2013

Broke after one year

Two months after the one year warranty ended, it broke. It started making this horrible grinding noise and then would not drain the water out of the basin. The clothes remained dirty and soaked. When we attempted to talk with Whirlpool they blew us off. Do not buy.

By bugly on Home Depot - May 27, 2013

This product does a nice job of washing.

Delivered 4/28/13. Working very well. We wash approx. 6-7 loads per week. (2 of us) The cycle noises it makes are something you never heard on previous washers. You will get accustomed to them. The delivery personnel were on time, friendly and did a great job installing the new and carting off the old.

By bolo on Home Depot - May 21, 2013

gets clothes nice and clean. Easy to use

delivery people were very nice and efficient. They were very helpful in helping reset my delivery fro dryer due to some upgrades needed in the home.

By bb4206 on Home Depot - May 21, 2013

Great value and performance.

The machine cleans well and is easy to use. Great value and performance.

By Kathryn on Home Depot - May 21, 2013

Not durable - Total failure just after warranty period

We had this washer and it lasted 15 1/2 months before the transmission failed. The cost to repair was more than we paid for the washer. Whirlpool said it was :too far out of warranty for any assistance".

By DaveMcMn on Home Depot - May 20, 2013

Perfect!

This washer is large and very sturdy, I am pleased with the value I got. I love it.

By Sbeck on Home Depot - May 8, 2013

Gets clothes clean, but still gives off a foul odor, like a new car smell only burnt-like.

Took a while to figure out how to get it to soak items without draining all the water. Push button to unlock is a drag. Then there is that smell. Ugh. But, it does get the clothes real clean, and I guess that's all that matters. Customer service and shipping were great, no complaints at all about them.

By Roger on Home Depot - May 7, 2013

Nice washer at the best price

Had looked around and got the best priced washer with plenty of features. Home Depot delivered, installed and picked up the old washer. It washes quieter than our last washer. It spins well, getting a lot of water out making it easier on the dryer. It's also very stable in spinning. Hard to be happier!

By Rocketman on Home Depot - May 7, 2013

This product gives you the perfect level of cleaning

The Care Control temperature management system ensures the water is warm enough to dissolve detergents, but not so hot that it leads to shrinking or color bleeding.

By danak on Home Depot - May 7, 2013

Great machine

I have been using my new washer for several months now and I love it. My clothes have never been cleaner. When I did my first load I was not so sure, the machine makes noises that I've never heard a washer make but once you have used it for a while, you don't even notice the noises anymore.

By AlwaysDoingLaundry on Home Depot - May 1, 2013

This product has been just what I wanted.

It makes some unusual noises when it starts, but the noise doesn't seem to effect the performance of the washer.

By txastumbleweed on Home Depot - Apr 30, 2013

Very good washer

The clothes are coming out very clean - the lid locks while the machine is in cycle, all machines seem to be doing this now. Makes sounds during the initial spinning cycle that is different from my 15 year old machine. No Complaints - and it does the job very well.

By Lisha on Home Depot - Apr 30, 2013

love it!

This washer is so quiet that it actually needs a buzzer so you know when it is finished. My clothes come out really clean. I just load it, add soap, set the controls and forget about it....literally cause it's that quiet. Love this machine!!

By tami1224 on Home Depot - Apr 30, 2013

Works great so far.

Basic washer. No issues. Washes well. Has extra cycles for rinsing and fabric softeners if you need it.

By Rocco on Home Depot - Apr 30, 2013

Love this machine

I love this machine works great, I just got this machine as an exchange for one that was the water saver and is so please it cleans clothes works great love it

By lyn2 on Home Depot - Apr 26, 2013

works great

delivered and installed on the second day. easy to use. great buy.

By chycato on Home Depot - Apr 23, 2013

This Washer has good features from small to large loads.

We also like the extra rinse feature since we would have to return to our basement on our old washer and reset for an extra rinse.

By John on Home Depot - Apr 23, 2013

Wonderful!

I am so happy with this washing machine! I originally looked at HE machines, but there were so many bad reviews, I decided to stay with what works - and it's great! It does everything a washer is supposed to do - clean your clothes and well. Many others are not cleaning clothes at all. I watched a video of a name-brand, extolling the virtues of their HE washing machine. I saw clothes not even getting wet! Then they pulled out a shirt and exclaimed how the spin cycle is so wonderful, that some of the shirt didn't even look like it got wet.... well, duh, it didn't. I saw it on the video! Yes, saving the environment is great, but when you have to wash the same load 3 times to get it clean, you're wasting not only water, but time. Get something dependable - like this Whirlpool. Oh - and other "dependable" brands - check out their reviews. I almost bought a different brand until I read all the problems people were having with it - including catching on fire! How in the world can a washing machine catch on fire? This Whirlpool is great, dependable, and easy to use. The price is AWESOME!! I am so, so happy with this purchase!! Oh - and the cons are barely mentionable - instead of making "normal" washing machine sounds, it now makes techy sounds. I know, that sounds weird, but it's true and not a big deal. Also, some people complained about how it locks. Well, you press the "unlock" button - and it unlocks. Not a big deal at all - and I'm one who is constantly throwing more clothes in after I've closed the lid.

By dk1421 on Home Depot - Apr 16, 2013

great washing machine

This washer is excellent. It is super quite. It gets clothes very clean. I have had this almost a month and have had no problems with it. I would recommend it to anyone looking fir a nice washer at a good price.

By elcoman on Home Depot - Apr 16, 2013

Great washer! No bells and whistles but does the job great!

Great affordable washer. Nothing special but does the job great without spending a fortune. Very happy with purchase.

By Melanie on Home Depot - Apr 16, 2013

I love this washer

This is a great machine. It has options for all of your washing needs. Fits a full size comforter fine. I am pleased with my purchase. Delivery was great.

By Joan on Home Depot - Apr 10, 2013

Great Purchase

My washer and dryer was well worth the wait . They both do a thorough job. For the price, I would highly recommend.

By camry451 on Home Depot - Apr 9, 2013

The washers features are great...

WATER LEVEL , TYPE OF WATER HOT/COLD/WARM CLEANS CLOTHES VERY GOOD

By cms80349 on Home Depot - Apr 9, 2013

This product goes beyond my expectations for a basic washer. Actually glad my old washer had to be replaced.

I love this washer. It has all the features I wanted at a price I could afford. Could not be happier with this product.

By sfletch61 on Home Depot - Apr 7, 2013

Great Price and Performance

After reading mixed reviews on He models, I bought this one because of the low price and good reviews. It cleans clothes very well, is quiet, and does a good job of spinning the water out of the clothes. I have had it a month with none of problems noted by other people. Never had any balance problem, but I just throw the clothes in loose and don't pack them tight. Definitly a good buy when you buy it at a sale price.

By ColoradoFamily5 on Home Depot - Apr 6, 2013

Last of the great old style washers

I bought this washer a year ago, and it replaced one of those over-priced energy efficient washers that I hated. I like that I can set the size of the load (new ones "read" how much water to add to a load and most of my clothes didn't get wet or washed!). Clothes are clean, and are spun fairly dry. And I can easily put a heavy king quilt in it with no problem. Doesn't keep refilling over and over if a load gets unbalanced (what a stupid feature in new washers! How in the world is that considered to be enery efficient??!!). Love this washer! Thanks Whirlpool! Please continue to make these washers!!

By Whirlpoolfan on Home Depot - Apr 5, 2013

Happy with the washer and the price!

I like the ability to choose water levels, something very hard to find now. Also, there is a feature if you choose a level that is not enough to wash the amount of clothes, the machine will not let you proceed until the proper amount of water is selected.

By Molly on Home Depot - Apr 3, 2013

Good machine for the price.

Love that the machine is quick and quiet. The instructions are clear and concise and the control panel is easy to understand. Different sounds are not bothersome and the status of the load is helpful.

By washermom on Home Depot - Apr 2, 2013

So far, so good

Solid machine with no bells and whistles. Simple to use.

By JSR828 on Home Depot - Apr 2, 2013

So far, works well

It seems to wash our clothes well, but makes a lot of weird noises. It has all the features we need and we have been happy with it except for the noise. This replaces a machine we had for many years and not sure about the 'push' start button and durability. The installers were prompt, courteous and did a great job.

By Jeanie on Home Depot - Mar 29, 2013

Nice product!

I've only had it for a month but seems to working great! The techs were courteous and explained the operation of the washer and they sounded knowledgeable! They installation was quick and efficient and they left no mess. I sure i will do business with HOME DEPOT again.

By Red1 on Home Depot - Mar 28, 2013

Value - getting the most bang for the buck!

I knew what I had to spend on a new washer and dryer, and I knew what features where important to me. I didn't know if I could get everything I wanted with the money I had to spend. Well, I did - with this washer! Most importantly, it does a great job cleaning my clothes. The water temperature choices are perfect, there is a setting just right for anything I have to wash. I have seen a big difference in my clothing - using the same detergent my whites are whiter, and colors are brighter. And it is quiet! I live in a second story apartment, so this is very important to me, and my neighbors. It takes a little longer to go through a cycle than I am used to, but it is worth it to have my clothes so clean. And, it does such a good job in the spin cycle that I make up the lost time in the drying.

By happilydoinglaundry on Home Depot - Mar 28, 2013

I wish the description of the item would have told me it was so noisy. I can hear it two rooms away with the doors shut!

After searching for a new washing machine, I never thought I had to be concerned about the noise it would make while running. The first thing it says on the paper work is that it makes more noise then the last washing machine did which is a big red flag for me. It makes a noise when it locks and unlocks the lid. I did not need a lock on the washing machine. The drum is not secure and bangs on the sides of the machine as it washes. I never had a washing machine make this much noise in my entire life. Do not buy it. I thought I was getting a deal since it cost less than 500 dollars but it is not a deal. It is poor workmanship. The water never drains all of the way out of the spin cycle and you can hear it at the base when you move the drum to load it. I am very disappointed in Home Depot. I don't think I will ever purchase another appliance from them again. My dog is now running away from the TV room because the washing machine is so noisy it scares him too! Don't purchase this machine you will never get use to the sounds it makes. My last machine was 14 years old and it never sounded like this machine. It is very disappointing, I thought I would be happy with it but I am not happy with the purchase.

By LAFLAFLAF on Home Depot - Mar 27, 2013

Great buy.

Uses less water and a lot quieter than my last machine.

By jose123 on Home Depot - Mar 22, 2013

Great Product!

The 3.4 cu. ft. top load washer from Whirlpool is easy to use, has lots of features, and runs quietly during cycles .

By Scott on Home Depot - Mar 20, 2013

Everything you need and nothing you don't

My new washer arrived yesterday and I've washed 5 loads in it so far, including 3 queen size comforters. Everything has come out clean and fresh. The machine's pump is a little noisy. That doesn't bother me since my laundry room is off the back of my garage and I don't hear it in the house. Some people have complained about the lid locking. This is a government requirement, not a manufacturer problem. Also, the lid doesn't lock until the machine is filled with water. It takes a couple of seconds to hit pause and unlock after that. Prior to this machine, I had owned 4 HE machines over the past 15 years. They're terrible. They don't wash well, they don't use enough water to get things clean and they're expensive to fix when they break. So I decided to go back to a basic, old-fashioned washing machine that will clean properly. This Whirlpool is the closest you'll get. The hot cycle is actually hot, not lukewarm. The washer fills to the level you select, not to the level it thinks you need. It's not HE or Energy Star compliant (which means it actually works!) I couldn't be happier.

By PRWDFW on Home Depot - Mar 17, 2013

DONT'T BUY THIS

WORSE MACHINE I HAVE EVER OWNED. I AM 61 YEARS OLD AND WHEN I CALLED WHIRLPOOL CONCERNING THE FLOODING OF MY LAUNDRY ROOM ALMOST ONCE A WEEK FROM THIS MACHINE THEY SUGGESTED I DID NOT KNOW HOW TO LOAD A WASHING MACHINE. IT GETS UNBALANCE DUE TO THE SLITS IN THE BOTTOM OF THE AGITATOR GRABBING, TEARING UP YOUR CLOTHS AND WRAPPING THEM AROUND THE AGITATOR DURING THE SPIN CYCLE THEN IT FLOODS THE ROOM. IT GRABS AND WRAPS SO TIGHT I HAVE TO HAVE MY HUSBAND UNWIND THE CLOTHS. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER WHIRLPOOL APPLIANCE.

By NONI on Home Depot - Mar 16, 2013

Good machine with basic, simple features

Large capacity just fine for small family use, handles king size bedding, thick bath towels, dungarees, and general items. Quiet machine, no vibration issues, cleans well, spins clothes well. Basic features/selections for load size and type, single rinse temperature, has lid interlock once cycle starts but is simple to interrupt to add items. Nice design and easy to use controls.

By Lou53 on Home Depot - Mar 16, 2013

Happy with purchase

Good washer, good value. Recommend this washer, I do

By yoda on Home Depot - Mar 13, 2013

Great tub capacity

Compared to my previous 16 yr old washer the agitator is noisier than I expected. But will get used to the noise the agitator makes when washing clothes. The spin cycles are extremely quiet with minimal vibration which is great! I love all the different choices and features, i.e., extra rinse cycle, and the roomy tub is fantastic! I got an awesome sale price on this machine compared to several other appliance stores and hardware stores.

By Redhead on Home Depot - Mar 13, 2013

Great value washer for the price

This washer replaced one that we loved, and has performed just as well. Great capacity, easy to use, just the one to buy if you don't worry about all the latest frills. The locking lid is an excellent feature for people with curious kids. The feel and movement of the mechanical controls are very much improved.

By Bags on Home Depot - Mar 12, 2013

Does a good job.

Machine is quiet and seems to clean well. Price was good.

By kkkk on Home Depot - Mar 12, 2013

did what i needed it to

had only a week but does what i needed it to , am replacing front loader with tons of options which broke after only 4 yrs

By tamjen on Home Depot - Mar 12, 2013

Best Buy of All Washers -

Shopped em all - this machine works and no hassle - does what it says - simple and smart. Replaced a 20 year old Maytag. It just washes clothes.

By monsigner on Home Depot - Mar 12, 2013

Overall excellent.

I read the reviews for this washer and ordered on line as it was on sale. So far, I am pleased with the ease of operation and the way everything comes out smelling so good. I don't think my old washer was rinsing that well. My new washer has an extra rinse cycle which elimates that worry.

By Bill on Home Depot - Mar 12, 2013

great washer

After reading hundreds of reviews for this and another washer; my biggest concern was not being able to rinse the detergent cup. As it turns out that is NOT AN ISSUE. I close load the washer, close lid, press start and once the water begins to flow, immediatly open lid, rinse the cup, then close the lid again. The lock doesn't engage right away. :) The only feature that I do miss is a buzzer signalling end of load. As far as wash time goes, it Iis a bit longer than my old one but it is the same amount of time as my dryer. So they finish within seconds of each other!

By housemom on Home Depot - Mar 12, 2013

Great price and product.

This washing machine gets clothes much cleaner than the high dollar, high effeciency front loader it replaced. It just proves that paying more money doesn't mean a better product. We are very pleased with our purchase.

By Ginger on Home Depot - Mar 12, 2013

The washer cleans well & it spins the clothes drier than my old machine.

The washer wasn't delivered during the 4 hour window given. The installers were very nice & helpful.

By Danes on Home Depot - Mar 12, 2013

this product has extremely excellent features

excellent product highly recommend.a very durable,highly effiecent washer.this is a washer every home should have.

By giffy on Home Depot - Mar 5, 2013

I would recommend this washer to a friend

I have owned this washer for three weeks. So far, it has operated without issue. I am able to wash all types of items including large fluffy blankets with easy. Based on other reviews, i thought the locking top feature would be an issue, but it wasn't. My only minor complaint would be that it takes almost twice as long to complete a load of wash, but it gives me extra time to finish my beer before i have to move the clothes to the dryer. Home Depot's delivery service was awesome, they took the old washer away and hooked up the new one with new hoses in less than 10 minutes.

By Snake on Home Depot - Mar 5, 2013

Good basic washer

This washer is exactly what I was looking for. Not a fancy washer but I wasn't looking for that. I like that I can load my cloths while the washer is filling up with water. Most of the newer washers do not have that feature because the lid locks and they hardly use any water. This washer also has a lid lock but the lid does not need to be down for the washer to start filing. I like that it uses lots of water like the older models. I originally bought a newer model Wirlpool washer that used very little water and had lots of features but my cloths still smelled dirty after the wash, you could actually see that they were still visibly dirty and some spots on the cloths where bone dry. I hated that washer and returned it after about 3 weeks. This washer is much better. I have no complains. Works great and gets my cloths clean.

By Maribh on Home Depot - Mar 4, 2013

real nice washer

cant ge me to switch to a front load, washer works great

By paturso on Home Depot - Mar 3, 2013

good product

I have owned this washer for one month, and have been using it constantly. Over all I am pleased with its performance, except for two issues: 1) its wash cycle is EXTREMELY loud (so much so that I was concerned that it was not operating correctly); and 2) the fabric softener dispenser does not appear to be working as effectively as I would have wished (my clothes come out of the washer feeling as if almost no softener has been added). Other than these fairly minor problems, I really like the washer: it appears sturdy and well-built, has many great options, can handle 2 complete sets of queen-sized sheets at a time, and it does a fabulous job of getting very dirty clothes completely & totally CLEAN!

By GaiasChild on Home Depot - Mar 3, 2013

Very Disappointed

I was super excited to order this product after reading the reviews. Had it delivered and the tub filled up with water on the low/light cycle. The great serivce team took the product back. I received a replacement a week later. That one did the same thing. Again the service team was great. But super disappointed in this product.

By momof3 on Home Depot - Mar 1, 2013

Preforms as expected

Very pleased with the product and delivery. I found the operating very easy to understand.

By Sadie on Home Depot - Feb 26, 2013

Great Value

Got this washer to replace another brand. Now I know why my mother always bought a Whirlpool washer. Like all the features, especially the temp selection and load size. The wash seems to come out cleaner than in the previous washer that was another brand. Wash time is average. Like the fact that you can select a second rinse cycle if desired. Got the extended warranty "just in case". The price was great and the delivery was on time and the delivery staff were able to answer any questions. It is great dealing with Home Depot. The only place to buy your appliances in my opinion.

By Trojusc on Home Depot - Feb 23, 2013

Typical Whirlpool Quality

Our new Whirlpool washer works well, like most Whirlpool products we have bought in the past. It does not have all the bells and whistles of other products but the basic things a good washer should have. The locking door, questioned by many, is a nice feature, especially if you have children around the house. There is no need to open the lid during the wash, rinse and especially the spin cycles. Manual load size and temperature setting have always been dependable and work well. Good, conservative product that does the job well; no need for fancy electronics to give problems.

By Denny51 on Home Depot - Feb 21, 2013

washer purchased online unfortunately without seeing the actual model. I do not like the Pause/Lock button

I would have selected another washer instead of the one bought. The washer was purchased online, unfortunately without seeing the actual model. I do not like the Pause/Lock button which is not sturdy. While the Pause/Lock feature may be a "safety feature" it is rather flimsy in construction. I prefer stopping the washer by lifting the lid.

By Faye on Home Depot - Feb 20, 2013

Good, solid product. Gets clothes clean!

Washes very well...fairly fast cycles, too. Can be a little rough on things, however, due to the upright agitator. It has a gentle cycle, however.

By Guidhaus on Home Depot - Feb 19, 2013

Great Washer!

I like to buy my appliances on the plain side. Don't like all the extras that come with the newer machines. This is a great washing machine. Clothes come out very clean..cycle is a little longer than with my older machine (replacement) but overall love it. It's been about 3 months. Do 2-3 loads a day. Also, for a small machine it holds a lot of laundry. Would also like to note that Home Depot did a great job hooking up and removing the old appliances - highly recommended even over PC Richards.

By gardengirl on Home Depot - Feb 19, 2013

the good,bad and ugly!

I ordered this machine for my mom who was replacing her long time machine which lasted 20+ years. So, I'll start with the good - the price. It was a very attractive price and also had the looks of a basic machine that would get the job done. But once you scratch the surface we found that all was not as it seemed. Which bring me to the bad. -the lid locks. Which means if you forget to throw in a lone item like a sock. You have to either wait or start a whole new cycle. Because of this feature, you cannot let clothes soak. Because water will not dispense until that lid is locked. -extremely long wash cycle, about an 90 minutes. With the old machine washes are done in less than 30 -goes off balance very easily. When this happens it shuts down. Who has time for that! -Lots of wasted time, water, electricity, and detergent The Ugly. -My moms face as she cried telling me how much she hated it. She took delivery on Dec.26 2012 and we've called for return effective Feb,17 2013. Keep looking! Don't waste your time or money!

By madmom on Home Depot - Feb 19, 2013

Great but slow

I love this washer! It has features that my old washer did not have. I only have 2 problems with it. The 1st problem is that if I let it fill with water then add clothes, the washer doesn't recognize anything in the washer and eventually drains on its own, the 2nd problem is that it is extremely slow. I don't regret my purchase but I just can't wash as many loads during the day as I did with my old washer. My advice is not to fill the washer with water before adding clothes and plan to waste about an hour or more per load to wash.

By cyntexas2013 on Home Depot - Feb 19, 2013

Wonderful Updated Washer for the Oldies

We had an old washing machine that killed on electricity and didn't do a good job of washing clothes. I'm pretty sure it was over 15 years old. This Whirlpool set is an incredible replacement and we couldn't be happier. Delivery was nice and smooth, they even hooked it all up for us, and were very courteous and helpful. So it has a lot of features. I won't go over them all, but instead let the pictures tell you. We like that it tells us the different parts of the washing process it's on (much like a car wash service!), that it locks the lid when it's in operation, and that there's an option to pause the wash cycle if needed. It's also very quiet compared to our older set. The only con, and this is a silly but reasonable one, would be the lack of a signal when it's done. If you're also looking to get a dryer, I would definitely recommend taking a look at its drying brother, Model # WED4800XQ, Store SKU # 905726.

By willwgp on Home Depot - Feb 18, 2013

Nice price, small wash loads

This washing machine does a good job washing the clothes. However, I did have to adjust to slightly smaller loads that with my previous machine. The cycle is also slightly longer. It is a quiet machine.

By Beth on Home Depot - Feb 16, 2013

Nice Basic Washer

I purchased this unit for a rental property and so far I have been very happy with my choice.

By RWMOREY on Home Depot - Feb 13, 2013

Good value machine

Purchased this machine to replace an old Kenmore and have been pleased with my purchase. It has the features that I use most often and the clothes look fine. They spin out less damp than my old machine which saves on time in the dryer. My one complaint is the way the water fills the machine. Even though I set it to cold water only, it seems to draw from both cold and hot intermittently which is rather noisy, but I do not regret my decision at all. It was a good price for a good machine.

By ljgerman on Home Depot - Feb 12, 2013

The best in the new generation of washers

Why do I say that? Because due to government regulations concerning safety and energy washers have forever change from our old school favorites. The simple days of tossing in our clothes, having the drum fill to a standard level, having the clothes agitate with the sounds we're used to, even opening the lid to toss in an extra, are gone forever. The washers of today are all going to have load locks, load balancing, and some water or energy saving built in as a standard. That being said, I think this washer is as good as your gonna get at this present time as the old school washers transition into this new era of water and energy saving, and safety regs. Even non HE washers seem to have a load measuring feature to save water. We had gone to Home Depot originally wanting another set of Ropers or a set of Whirlpools like my sister in-law's, cuz our laundry was nice and soft using her's. But they don't carry those. But after reading the latest Roper reviews, I'm glad we got this Whirlpool. We started with an HE washer which was way too loud and took way too long and had too many bad reviews. Home Depot was great let us exchange them for a Whirlpool set and I'm so happy. I would say this Whirlpool is great for apartments, second floor laundry, townhouse, or condo units because it seems to be pretty quiet. First off these new style washers all make odd noises now, but this one is quiet enough that I forget it's running and don't even know when it's down because the spin cycle is so quiet! The only time I really can here it is when I'm at the computer which is adjacent to the laundry closet. The washing time for a super load set to regular with cold water and no extra rinse took about 40 minutes, only 10 minutes longer. Not an hour like the stupid HE model we started with. A delicate load set to super with an extra rinse took about an hour in this Whirlpool. The Hot water is actually hot and not lukewarm. The lid unlocks if you want to add something, and the washer will fill with the lid open. As far as this add soap first, then clothes, then water business, I just select my load perimeters first, then press start, add the amount of soap needed (which isn't very much BTW look is up in on the internet, most people use waytoo much soap) then I press start and as the water is filling I put my cup of soap under it. I think you can add soap first because I've noticed that the initial soap wanter that enters the tub actually sift through the holes at the bottom so your clothes are not actually sitting in a complete puddle of soap. Still that whole concept is too backwards for me so I do it this way with not issues. Also remember to drop your clothes into the washer in loose heaps around the basket wall. I don't use fabric softener so I can't comment on the issues some have had with the dispenser. I will say the clothes don't take very long to dry because they high speed yet quiet spin gets them pretty dry. Just a little 30 minute tumble with a dryer sheet is enough most times to get them dry. Often times I'm surprised that the dryer is already buzzing. That's not long enough I think, but it was. I have the matching Whirlpool dryer too. I was also worried that this one might not be big enough because the GE was 3.9 cu, and this one is 3.4, but it's plenty big. I can wash my king size bedding, no trouble. I just wish the girl upstairs had one, but from the sounds of it, she's rocking an HE like the one I just exchanged. Sounds like drop forge with and prop plane attached for a good hour or so of 1 a.m. laundry bliss. The HE washers should not be allowed in apartments, condos, and or multi family residences. As for Whirlpool, I think it's about as good as you can get for this price and in this new generation of washers.

By fuscia on Home Depot - Feb 9, 2013

Simple but efficient.

We've had this for about a month and have done about 10 loads of various sizes. Clothes come out clean and well spun. This machine doesn't have all the bells and whistles and fancy features we didn't need anyway, but if you are on a budget and want a washer that won't impress anyone but you because it simply does what it was designed to do well....then get this.

By Rcha on Home Depot - Feb 3, 2013

Simple Washer- simply works !

The washer does what it is supposed to do. Spin cycle is very quiet, regular wash cycle is about the same as the one I previously had. The sounds this machine makes are different from What I am used to, but I don't have a problem with it. Seems to wash the laundry just fine. I don't see an indicator as to how much time is left in the cycle, that would have been nice. The door locks after the tub has completely filled, so this is not a disadvantage. This is not a "high efficiency" machine, so you don't have to deal with the issues that others are having with those kind of machines. According to the energy label, this will cost you $35 more per year. I can live with that.

By Ticanito on Home Depot - Jan 27, 2013

Buyer Beware!!

I purchased this top loading washer about a month ago. The first time I used it it started making loud grinding noises. Now that I have had it for a month it finally stopped working on me--in mid cycle. So I have a load of towels siting in water and I have to wait over the weekend for the repair company to come and fix it. I really wanted this washer to work out for us. I have heard so many poor reviews on the front loaders and that's why I bought this old school model. All I have to say is you sometimes get what you pay for. We'll see how the repair goes on Monday.

By texasmom on Home Depot - Jan 25, 2013

Great washer for the price!

So far so good, the only slight complaint that I would have is that due to the speed of the spin cycle the clothes come out extra wrinkled at times. But fluffing them in the dryer takes care of that, even if hung dry. Gets clothes clean and has great options for a low end model!

By dengle on Home Depot - Jan 24, 2013

Whirlpool quality, excellent price.

We chose Whirlpool for their quality, and were very happy to find this washer and gas dryer at such an affordable price. We couldn't be happier with our purchase, and look forward to many years of trouble free laundry.

By Bone on Home Depot - Jan 22, 2013

Gets the job done

Love my washer, which has basic features for everyday laundry needs. Items come out clean in a reasonable amount of time. They are damp enough that they steam up well in the dryer (ie., few wrinkles), but dry enough that they do not have to be in the dryer very long. The lid does not lock until the washer has filled, so there is some time to add forgotten items without having to pause the cycle. Previous washer of same brand lasted nearly 20 years, so hoping for a long life for this one.

By Jean on Home Depot - Jan 22, 2013

Do Not Buy

We had to return this washer because it didn't actually wash clothes. It would not move past the "sensing" phase. After repositioning the load multiple times and giving up on the wash cycle altogether and setting it on drain and spin, the washer finally finished whatever it was doing in about 12 hours. By that time the dyes in the fabrics had bled everywhere.

By BeWare on Home Depot - Jan 21, 2013

Best Budget Top-Loading Washing Machine

Bestcovery experts have rated the Whirlpool WTW4800XQ White 27-in Washer as a best pick for the Best Budget Top-Loading Washing Machine. Bestcovery's experts recommend the best products and services for a particular need based on extensive research and evaluations. Click below to see Bestcovery's full review of this product.
Read Full Review

By bestcovery.com - Dec 11, 2012

Whirlpool WTW4800XQ

The Whirlpool WTW4800XQ is a low-end to mid-range top loading washer designed with ease of use in mind. Its Care Control Temperature Management system ensures that water temperature is just right while its Xtra Roll Action Plus agitator ensures that all clothing in a load gets an equal clean. Additionally, the WTW4800XQs Quiet Spin technology allows for top floor washer placement. The WTW4800XQs...
Read Full Review

By productwiki.com - Mar 2, 2011