Reviews for Whirlpool GB2FHDXWS Whirlpool 22 cu. ft. Gold(R) Bottom Freezer Refrigerator with Energy-Saving Resource Saver Technology

$819.99 - $1,703.44

Product Reviews (13)

Bought it based on design

Don't buy broke down after 2 1/2 years. Freezer was not defrosting so refridgerator would not cool. $400 repair bill and Whirlpool would not do anything. Will never buy another Whirlpool product.

By Eddie on Home Depot - May 13, 2013

Poor reliability.. compressor and evaporator failure.

This refrigerator had a compressor and evaporator failure after 1 year and 18 days of ownership. Cost to repair = $877.82. Manufacturer would not pay for any part of the repair even though it was only out of warrantee 18 days. Total cost of ownership for 1 year 18 days = $99 per month. This was no bargain!

By Robert on Home Depot - Apr 19, 2013

Don't buy!!!

We have had this fridge for less than 5 years and have had the evaporation coil freeze over twice which resulted in us having to get a whole new control board and t-stat both times.T Each time paid $360.00! What a rip! Not impressed!!

By kmierenfeld@yahoo.com_60736021 - Jun 11, 2013

Great fridge/freezer

So glad we purchased this model. It is extremely quiet. The only sound it makes is when the ice maker drops the ice and an occasional refill of water (which is rare). It is very spacious and looks beautiful.

By BrianneFT on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

This product should be recalled

My Freezer has been leaking since I bought it. Have had major ice build up and thought this was related to the ice maker. Have had it inspected only to find out that there is a major freon leak and this has been the cause. This water damage has cost me my flooring and cabinet damaged. I would highly discourage anyone from buying this product.

By Concerned on Home Depot - Sep 9, 2012

Makes loud noise every hour, which seems to be expected per customer service, DO NOT BUY

Strengths: spacious

Weakness: loud

We bought Whirlpool Gold top/bottom refrigerator model GB2FHDXWS01 few months back and now regret the purchase. After 5 months of working fine it started making loud popping noise lasting for a minute everytime the fan would switch on. We have open kitchen and this noise can be heard down in the bedroom. The customer service states that this noise is "normal" and is described in the manual. If only I knew beforehand, I'd never buy this fridge. I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT. Buy german appliances instead - great quality and service.

By lenagoll - Sep 28, 2011

Very pleased

We have had this new refrigerator for a little over a month and we are very pleased. We really like the freezer on the bottom and the bulk of it up top since we use that more, everything is basically at eye level. Typically there were new sounds to get used to at first but it is very quiet. I did think the top sides were going to be the same as the front, so the black top and one side facing out to the rest of the kitchen was something to get used to which didn't take long since our stove is black and stainless steel also. My husband found you can get the sides to match but it is extra $.

By Kitty on Home Depot - Feb 26, 2013

Love this refrigerator!!!

We got this refrigerator and love it! It has so much space and the stainless steel looks awesome! We are so glad we chose this particular refrigerator!

By Loveforgod on Home Depot - Feb 26, 2013

Good for price

Good fridge for the price. Plenty of room and adjustable storage. Freezer drawer is a little crammed but overall is fine. Would recommend.

By Brian on Home Depot - Jan 15, 2013

We like it a lot

Our frig died a little before Thanksgiving and we ordered this frig to replace it. So far we really like it. It seems to have plenty of room and for us it seems quiet.

By Edjenn1998 on Home Depot - Dec 11, 2012

Still brand new - no problems

This fridge is still new to me, and I like it. I wanted a bottom freezer, french door unit like my friend has until I saw the price. This model is a bottom freezer, and as it turns out the french door won't fit in my 35" space anyways. I was so happy with the Black Friday discount for this model. It was priced just a few bucks over the top freezer unit (same brand), so I got it. It looks excellent in my kitchen and I am happy with this purchase. The installers took care of the recommended settings, and I'm not changing anything. I'm glad I went with this model.

By sngglebnny on Home Depot - Dec 11, 2012

Best Frost-Free Fridge Freezer

Bestcovery experts have rated the Whirlpool GB2FHDXWS as a best pick for the Best Frost-Free Fridge Freezer. Bestcovery's experts recommend the best products and services for a particular need based on extensive research and evaluations. Click below to see Bestcovery's full review of this product.
Read Full Review

By bestcovery.com - Apr 27, 2011

Whirlpool GB2FHDXWS

The Whirlpool GB2FHDXWS is an energy star qualified 21.9 cu.ft. bottom freezer refrigerator. It exceeds the minimum federal energy standard by 50% and uses less energy each year than a 60 watt light bulb. It has two full width glass shelves to provide large area of storage space. It is equipped with a factory installed icemaker. Other features includes electronic temperature controls, freezer...
Read Full Review

By productwiki.com - Feb 11, 2011