Reviews for Magic Chef MCBR1010W 10 Cu. Ft. Refrigerator

Not Available

Product Reviews (18)

MAGIC CHEF MCBR 1010W

Strengths: IT WAS THE RIGHT SIZE FOR A GUEST HOUSE

Weakness: ONLY LASTS 2 YEARS. COSTS MORE TO REPAIR THAN TO BUY A NEW ONE.

I HAVE NOW PURCHASED 2 OF THESE, EACH ONE LASTS ABOUT 2 YEARS AND STOPS COOLING. THIS WAS PURCHASED FROM HOME DEPOT FOR OUR GUEST HOUSE AND HAD MINIMUM USE. I DIDN'T REALIZE IT WAS THAT DIFFICULT TO MAKE A REFRIGERATOR THAT WOULD STAY WORKING FOR A WHILE. IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING THIS MODEL OR A MAGIC CHEF APPLIANCE, MY HONEST AND SINCERE OPINION IS TO LOOK ELSEWHERE FOR A BETTER BRAND

By pigeonjef - Jun 26, 2008

Stuck due to size!

Strengths: Size 24" width issue.

Weakness: Quit in 4 months.

I bought this fridge at Home Depot for my apartments that have 24" space for the fridge. This is crap! PLEASE SAVE YOUR SALES SLIP, as the warranty is no good without the original sales slip.

GE is the other option for this size, but is almost 2 times the price!

By jimsnelling - Oct 21, 2010

Magic Chef

Strengths: Small size as required. But no strengths.

Weakness: Lasted less than 1 year. Under warranty, but cannot find sales slip. Didn't expect it to crap out in less than a year.

Crap! Lasted less than 1 year. Under warranty, but cannot find sales slip. Didn't expect it to crap out in less than a year. Would not buy another.

By DHags - May 17, 2010

Magic Chef MCBR1010W

Strengths: Worked good while it worked.

Weakness: Didn't work near long enough.

I bought this fridge in November of 2007 and it quit running in January of 2010. It was purchased to be in our downstairs family room for cold drinks and ice. You would think a fridge would last a lot longer than that. The cost to repair is not worth the hassle.

By coyootee - Feb 3, 2010

One Piece of Junk

Strengths: I'd say price but it was a complete waste of money.

Weakness: Regular Breakdowns.

The first one I bought from Home Depot made a lot of noise and I exchanged it without a problem. - - - - Now, I have had my MCBR1010w for 3 years. Twice I have had to replace the defrost timer. Not a big deal but it's $50 and 3 days w/ no fridge. Now I am finding the fridge not cooling as I hear a similar clicking as when the defrost timer went out. This is by far the worst appliance I have ever purchased, Home Depot must have no pride in what they sell.

By raymondguy - Jan 21, 2013

terrible fridge

Strengths: none but size small

Weakness: doesnt cool at all

bought 3 days ago wont keep things cooled at all piece of junk for the recyclers to crushChina product i imagine

By anonymous; - Aug 11, 2012

Not So Great...

Strengths: Worked for almost 3 years

Weakness: Then it broke

As one reviewer said, it was fine while it worked. This fridge was fine for not quite three years but it broke last night in a weird way. The refrigerator part doesn't work, but the freezer is fine. I was going to see about maintenance, but seeing these reviews that the cost isn't worth it, I think I'll just move on to another fridge.

By MissFrazzr - May 22, 2012

Not a Good Purchase

Strengths: Size

Weakness: Unit will not cool into the normal or safe temperature range for food products.

Terrible purchase. Frankly, I have gone out and bought a used GE unit which is functioning well. Its a total shame when a used unit stands head and shoulders about a similar new unit. I would like to try and sell this Magic Chef unit but I would hate to disrespect anyone by selling it to them.

By morreythomas - Dec 7, 2011

Save your money!

Strengths: Nothing

Weakness: Only lasts about 2 years

I live in an apartment and needed a fridge that would fit into a smaller space. I bought the 10cu foot Magic Chef and thought I'd made the right decision...WRONG! THis is actually my 2nd (and last) MCFridge. They last an average of 2.5 years and then just stop cooling. Way more to repair than to replace. The only thing going for this crap fridge is it's small so when you have to haul it away and dump it, it's not too much of a hassel.Save your cash and buy a better fridge.

By anonymous; - Jun 27, 2011

Overheating!

Strengths: Size

Weakness: Runs hot,

Seems to radiate heat from the sides versus the back like old exposed coil units. Currently the outdoor thermometer I taped to the side is reading 95.5 degrees F making it rather difficult to cool my apartment.

By anonymous; - May 26, 2011

ditto

Strengths: fits great where limited space is a factor

Weakness: lasted less than a year

mine died last week with less than one month of warranty left on it. repairs are covered under warranty but you better have your reciept, or you have no warranty. I wonder how long it will last this time. purchased at home depot I think next time I will do more research before I buy and it won't be a magic chef, jenn air, maytag, admiral, or norge, because they are all built by maytag

By anonymous; - Dec 14, 2009

Irreparable

I had it for four years when it broke. The service company came and charged me $180 for repair, but it kept breaking. Then they said I need a new fridge. This is not a good investment.

By chertar on Home Depot - Sep 12, 2009

NOT RECOMENDED FOR PURCHASE

This was what I thought would be a great product as many other Magic Chef products that I have purchased.Not this one! Owned this refrigerator for 14 months & came home to find it was off....well the motor stopped working & now it is trash. I know the price wasn't exactly going to get me a ten year reliable appliance BUT 14 months is a bit shy on the time frame I would have expected when I bought this appliance. Save your money & purchase a better quality fridge.This one is junk.

By remedy1 on Home Depot - Aug 24, 2009

Disposable Refrigerator

I purchased this primarily as a kitchen refrigerator for a kitchen that is too small for a standard sized model. Keeping in mind that this is by no means a high or middle range model, my expectations weren't very high begin with. That said, it worked fine for 12 months, no issues. On the 13th month it growled a bit and then stopped cooling. My impression of this refrigerator is that it is best suited for VERY temporary use (ie. during a construction job, dorm room, or break room). Also, it would be best for items like sodas that are in sealed containers that cannot spoil when the compressor finally gives out. I call this a disposable refrigerator since the cost or replacing it is far less than the diagnostic/repair costs associated with the warranty guidelines.

By DanaeO on Home Depot - May 18, 2009

Complete Junk

I bought this model, let it sit overnight, turned it on and clunk, clunk clunk. The home depot manager was great and had 2 guys replace it the next day. The newest one after a couple of weeks started to sound like a sewing machine. Now, less than a year later, it sounds like a BIG sewing machine and runs what seems like way too much even set at the warmest temp. My last fridge did not have defrost and was smaller yet the same size compressor. The old one had 4 big bolts and large rubber gaskets holding the compressor in place QUIETLY and securely. The new one has the frame cut in a way to make twisted sheet metal the 'secured' method. This is CHEAP and STUPID. A new low in built in obsolescence! Do NOT buy this model!

By RaymondGuy on Home Depot - Mar 20, 2009

Abreviated 'Fridge Has Incredible Space

I've had the Magic Chef 10 cu. ft. refrigerator for over two years and truly enjoy it. It's perfect for a single person, and easy to clean. It runs efficiently and so far it has been perfect. When I first purchased it, I had it delivered to a car painting shop where they turned it into a periwinkle blue piece of art. Because it was small there wasn't a huge cost and I now have a 'frig that is one of a kind, matches my kitchen and is just right in size. I would recommend this appliance to anyone and am, in fact, about to purchase another one for a rental I have.

By downsizer on Home Depot - Mar 18, 2009

Stopped cooling inside 2 years

Been a decent second refridgerator for beverages and additional freezer capacity for the house, but appears compressor has stopped working. Unit isn't even two years old. Compressor has a 5 year warranty, but you have to pay for labor for diagnostics to confirm that the compressor is bad, then wait for the replacement part, then pay for a service call again to have the compressor changed.

By DavidP on Home Depot - Jan 28, 2009

great product

purchased this frig for spare storage of beverages and for freezer space when catching meat on sale, holiday leftovers,etc.my wife thinks it's pretty.it would make a nice frig at a cabin or apt. buy it and like it too

By burlyman on Home Depot - Nov 2, 2008