Reviews for KitchenAid KSC700SS 7-Quart Slow Cooker

Not Available

Product Reviews (30)

Cracked crock's

Strengths: Kitchen aid stands buy thier product

Weakness: crock's crack

I am going on my fourth liner, I cook a 4lb roast with two teaspoons on apple cider vingar on low and the crock cracks.I am getting another new linner from kitchen aid and buying a differant crock for the one dish I make with the roast. I have talked with kitchen aid and advised them to recall and discontinue the crock until engineering fixes the problem.They need to sense the amout of heat applied to the liner and keep it from getting so hot quickly that it cracks the liner.

By collieja - May 22, 2009

Cracked Ceramic Liner

Strengths: Cooks Well

Weakness: Ceramic Liner Cracks

I too am very disappointed with this product. I was able to cook once with the replacement that I received and it worked very well. Both the first one and the replacement unit I received cracked with a large pop and than started to leak fluid. The replacement on the second time I used it. Followed all the instructions. Also called Kitchen Aid and they had no suggestions. Took both back and will look for something that has better quality control in manufacturing.

By switzerm - Feb 4, 2009

Buyer Beware

Strengths: Great shape

Weakness: Cracking Liner... Possible BAD DESIGN.

I have used my machine 3 times and my ceramic liner has cracked. I have been looking online to see if I can purchase a replacement, but found this site instead. I feel a little better now, rather than thinking I had done something wrong to encourage the cracking of my liner. I am now thinking that poor design is to blame. I will call Kitchenaid directly in the morning to hopefully find a solution. Its a shame, because I really love the way the machine cooked... perhaps a little too fast at times... but overall enjoyed the few meals I have prepared. I wish another brand offered the same shape that the Kitchenaid has... it allows for cooking roasts and Turkey Breasts. It is unfortunate that many have suffered the same cracking liner issue. It is an expensive machine and a trusted brand. Hopefully Kitchenaid will stand by their product. Hopefully.

By CateInGalena - Feb 1, 2009

You Won't Believe This

Strengths: It Cooks Good

Weakness: The Ceramic Cracks

First time I used this Cooker I heard a loud noise in the kitchen, didn't know what it was, so I dismissed it. About a week ago heard another loud cracking sound. Noticed that the ceramic pot was cracked along the bottom and rising up on the sides. I have to call Kitchenaid today (08Dec.08).This is horrible. I paid about $130.00. This is really a bummer!!!!!

By Jimmy5X - Dec 8, 2008

Cracking Liner

Strengths: Good when it works

Weakness: Craking Liner

This is my second liner and it also crack. I hope and wish KitchenAid finds a solution to this and fast. I bought another brand and do not like the outcome. I would love to get this one again and try it for a third time, but only if they find a solution, because when it worked, the meals were wonderfull.

By Hawkeye3 - May 14, 2009

WHAT A HEADACHE

Strengths: Beautiful, cooks great, love the size and shape

Weakness: Insert cracks while cooking

In about 4 months of very light use, it cracked 3 insets. It was under warranty and KitchenAid did replace free of charge the first two. On the third one I was given a choice of returning it for a full refund or get a new insert. Of course I took the refund, although I absulutely love the cooker, it was too much of a headache.

By Lupe28 - Mar 25, 2009

SLOW COOKER

Strengths: GREAT SIZE

Weakness: KEEPS CRACKING

I HAVE REPLACED MY SLOW COOKER 4 TIMES. IT KEEPS CRACKING.THEY REPLACE IT BUT IT TAKES A GOOD 4-8 WEEKS TO GET A NEW ONE. I AM GETTING FED UP

By BUFFY802 - Mar 18, 2009

KitchenAid KSC700SS 7-Quart Slow Cooker

Strengths: Very well made: Crock has measuring increments on side. Side has a squared edge for pouring ease. Large, 7 quart capacity.

Weakness: Removeable, rubber seal tends to hold odors when cooking spicy foods. This is remedied by soaking the seal in hot water with dish soap and 1 tablespoon of bleach for 15 minutes.

This is an excellent slow cooker! The meals prepared in the Kitchen Aid Slow Cooker are more flavorful, and have better texture, consistency and appearance than dishes made in a traditional crock pot . The temperature is well regulated during the cooking process, automatically progressing to the "Keep Warm" setting once the food is finished cooking. The Kitchen Aid Slow Cooker is safety conscious as well, indicating a power failure or unsafe food temperature. The "Buffet" setting is especially convenient during holiday dinner parties.

By Anonymous - Feb 10, 2008

Kitchen Aid Slow Cooker - Awesome!`

Strengths: Easy to use, easy to clean. Awesome!!!

Weakness: None

I love this. It's easy to use, easy to clean and anyone can set it up! A+ Kitchen aid. From opening the box to cooking your first meal, this product is outstanding. I have had a Kitchen Aid slow cooker for about 10 years; this replaces my old one (which still works!). I love it!

By lcvassallo - Dec 31, 2007

BUYER BEWARE

Strengths: FEATURES, PROGRAMMABLE, BUFFET SETTING

Weakness: CROCK CRACKS DURING COOKING

I ORDERED MY FIRST KITCHENAID SLOW COOKER AND THE FIRST TIME I USED IT, I HEARD A POP, FOLLOWED BY A DRIPPING OF LIQUID ONTO THE HOT BASE. UPON EXAMINING THE CROCK, SAW THAT IT HAD CRACKED, ONLY 5 OR SO MINUTES INTO USE. I RETURNED THE COOKER FOR ANOTHER KITCHENAID SLOW COOKER-THINKING THIS ONLY TO BE A FLUKE. THE NEXT COOKER ARRIVED WITH A SMALL CRACK ON THE BOTTOM WITH IMPERFECTIONS IN THE GLAZE OF THE CROCK. I RETURNED THE 2ND KITCHENAID SLOW COOKER AND AM LOOKING AT THE ALL CLAD BRAND.

By HYGENIE98 - Oct 5, 2008

Not Worth the Price

Strengths: Size & versatility

Weakness: Quality Control

Based upon the ratings on this site, I purchased the Kitchenaid 7-quart Slow Cooker. I used it successfully several times (I was even happy with it), then the ceramic crock cracked. I heard a popping sound about 15 minutes into cooking.

I took it back to Bed, Bath & Beyond and they gave me a replacement. The second time I used the replacement, "pop!". I am returning it for good, and looking for a replacement.

By jtrobb0917 - Sep 24, 2008

Cracked crock: Do not buy!

Weakness: Crock repeatedly cracks, and Kitchenaid will not replace after the 1-year warranty has expired.

I bought this thinking it was a high-quality crock pot that would last me for years. I've already gone through 3 crocks that crack after even the low setting is used. Kitchenaid replaced the first one for free, since it was within the warranty period, but are now saying I will have to pay for replacements. I'd do it if the replacements were different than the ones that crack, but no modification has been made. There are tons of people who've had this problem, but Kitchenaid refuses to issue a recall.

By leahoregon - Sep 27, 2011

Shoddy design and will not stand by their product

Strengths: When it works, it works well.

Weakness: It does not work well for long. Bowl cracks after just a few uses and they will not stand behind their product for any longer than the MINIMAL manufacturers warranty.

I am very disappointed that a company that CAN put out a dependable product, chooses to be less than mediocre when they field a product that is sub standard. The first bowl cracked after just a few uses and the warranty covered a replacement. I did not use the pot for a while, and after a few more uses, it cracked again. I called for a replacement, but since it was outside the warranty period relative to when I bought the ORIGINAL unit, no replacement was forthcoming. I will spend the $40 that a replacement would cost and purchase a quality pot from someone else. I would not recommend Kitchen Aid, and, in fact, will advise against Kitchen Aid when asked.

By lcmitcham - Nov 10, 2010

Best Slow Cooker Ever

Strengths: Flexicle cooking time, cooks 2 hrs. on high and the rest on low, multiple heat settings, programmable timer.

Weakness: None found.

I haveput thisnewslow cookerthrough its paces in the couple of weeks I've had it. Worked beautifully for meat, desserts and even hard boilingeggs overnight. Biggest capacity and easy to clean.

By valpurga - Mar 4, 2012

Cracking liner

Strengths: None because it is unuseable

Weakness: Liner cracks

My second liner has now cracked, I have to replace at my own cost at $88.00. I cooked 5 meals with the 2 liners. I payed $149.99, that's at a cost of $29.99 a meal for cooking. That's very expensive. I'm also extremely disappointed when told that it is very unusual for the liner to crack, the company isn't aware that there is a problem and I was questioned to useage and informed that it is only glass. I have used a slow cooker 35 years at least 3 times a week and needed a replacement. I also bought one for my daughter-in-law who now has a second liner that broke. What a mistake. I strongly advise everyone to buy a different brand.

By anonymous; - Dec 16, 2011

Cracked liner!

Strengths: I chose this appliance over another manufacturer's model because of the 7 quart capability. It's performed beautifully, but its weakness (below) trumps its performance.

Weakness: The ceramic liner has a rainbow-shaped crack running along one side of the base. The cooker is only about six months old.

On maybe the cooker's third or fourth use, I noticed charred material, presumably cooking liquid, inside the aluminum base of the cooker when I lifted out the liner to clean it. I assumed I'd spilled some liquid over the edge when cooking. Last night, after it's latest use, I noticed quite a bit more charring but knew I'd not spilled anything. Then I saw the crack. I'll be in touch with KitchenAid for guidance. In the meantime, will use some of those plastic liners inside the ceramic one.

By anonymous; - Mar 31, 2010

cracked liner

Strengths: large

Weakness: cracked liner

like this crock pot but like others have said the liner cracked in less than a year and I had to throw the whole thing out won't buy another one

By anonymous; - Dec 3, 2009

Excellent Slow Cooker

I love being able to program the slow cooker and have dinner waiting when I get home from work. This has been such a blessing for our family! We spend more time together in the evenings rather than spending so much time cooking! It cooks perfectly - nothing burned! Wish I would have purchased this slow cooker years ago!

By BusyMomInOklahoma on Home Depot - Nov 17, 2009

cracked liner

Strengths: crooks great meals, nice looking appliance,grat lid

Weakness: cracked liner in only a few uses!!! are you kidding me!!!

I am soooo disappointed in my beautiful KITCHINAID crockpot. I received it for Christmas two years ago. Already have replaced the liner for about EIGHTY dollars only to have it crack AGAIN after a few light uses.The company claims it is all in the way the crockpot is used Come on who doesn't know how to use a crockpot!!! Anyway don't waste your money. I certainly expected better service from Kitchenaid.

By anonymous; - Oct 30, 2009

Cracks!!

Strengths: It does hold alot of food and it is very easy to move it around and put on table.

Weakness: I just set it down on my granite countertop and was careful and it cracked cannot find another liner so going with aouther brand not sure which one yet

It is too bad that this is happening with this product it is perfect for a large family and works very well with soups. I ordered another liner in March from a company online and had to cancel since it was backordered until June. Now that tells me that this must happen often the liner was $63.00 which I thought was expensive going to another brand after reading this web site not going to take any more chances on another one cracking.

By anonymous; - May 9, 2009

Absolute Junk!

Strengths: Nice look

Weakness: CERAMIC POT KEEPS CRACKING

I bought the Kitchen Aide slow-cooker a little over a year ago. After the second use, the pot cracked. Brought it back to the store and they kindly replaced the whole unit. Just yesterday, after using my new slow-cooker for the fourth time, the pot cracked again. I heard a loud pop in the kitchen to find that there was a hairline crack in the pot and juices had leaked into the base. Called Kitchenaide today and I was told that becuase it is out of warranty, they can not refund or give me a new unit. I would have to replace it at my own cost. I WILL NEVER BUY KITCHENAIDE AGAIN...I AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AND WILL ADVISE ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY AGAINST THIS. STAY AWAY FROM THIS CLOW-COOKER.

By anonymous; - Apr 1, 2009

You Won't Believe This Either

Strengths: None

Weakness: It cracks

On December 8th, 2008, I posted about the ceramic cracking. It is now December 26th and I still don't have the replacement. This slow cooker was a big waste of money. Your warranty lasts a year. You will spend that year waiting for replacements. I will never buy another Kitchen Aid product as long as I live. They make fools of their customers!!!!!

By anonymous; - Dec 26, 2008

KSC70022 Kitchen Aid 7 Quart Slow Cooker

Strengths: looks good, easy direcrtions

Weakness: Ceramic crock cracked during first use.

Ceramic crock cracked during first use, loud pop noise, juice drained through the crack. What a mess. I would not recommend purchasing this Kitchen Aid product at all. Taking it back to the store tomorrow.

By anonymous; - Dec 25, 2008

The Best & Worst

Strengths: Great features, easy to use

Weakness: Ceramic crock

I have been through 6 ceramic crock inserts. All of them have cracked despite treating them incredibly well. I always let them cool down after cooking before attempting to clean them, but I have had every one of them fail. I even allowed Kitchen Aid to replace the entire unit, but it still failed the 3rd time I used it. Now you may ask....why would I allow this "crock replacement to go on for so long?"

The answer is easy.......it is the best slow cooker for cooking that I have found after trying several brands!

I gave up though and have purchased a Calphalon model....cooks too fast and is going back....the quest continues!

By anonymous; - Nov 30, 2008

Crock replaced twice - cooked in slow cooker 4 times

Strengths: Lots of settings, glass lid, sleek design

Weakness: Crock breaks while cooking

I wanted this cooker because I thought it would last forever. Unfortunately I did not do enough research because after the second crock cracked, I found out this was a common problem. Check out the Kitchen Aid forums before thinking about purchasing this product.

By anonymous; - Nov 9, 2008

Not worth the moneyn

Strengths: Looks good on the counter. Matches appliances. Warm setting.

Weakness: Stupid rubber seal around lid! Cooks too hot.

So I got this from my 3 month old for my b-day. I read the directions, took apart the lid (as directed) and washed the entire thing out. I made my first meal which over cooked and was tossed. I've been using crockpots for over 20 years and usually make awesome meals in them. I washed the pot after use, taking apart the stupid rubber seal, and let it dry. When I put it back together I noticed that the seal still smelled like my horribly overcooked dinner. It took another overnight soaking to get rid of the smell. Here's the other thing, the lid never, ever, ever sits on the base correctly to form a tight seal. I can stick a knife between the lid and the base because the seal stinks. Every other meal I've cooked in has also dried out even though I lowered the temperature.....a lot! I feel bad because it's my first gift from my baby, but I use my very old, $20 Rival pot in place of this. Don't waste the money.

By anonymous; - May 19, 2008

Awesome

Strengths: Very durable, easy to clean, large capacity!

Weakness: Can not find a weakness

Love this cooker, I have used many cookers over the years and this one tops them all! I don't burn a meal, it keeps it warm so you still have a hot meal even if you are running late! Can not say enough about this cooker, it does everything for you!

By anonymous; - Mar 26, 2008

kitchenaid 7 qt. slow cooker stainless steel

Strengths: large removable ceramic insert.

Weakness: No high setting. Their high setting only went to 212 degrees, 9 degrees beyond low, which was 203 degrees.

While this cooker appears to have 4 heat settings, they all are within a few degrees of each other, with the exception of the "buffet" setting. The "high", which on other slow cookers is in the range of 300+ degrees, is only 212 degrees, thereby eliminating the possibilty of cooking for half a day,instead of all day every time. After 30 years of using a crock pot/slow cooker, being able to cook on high for half a day is a good feature. Kitchenaid management was very unhelpful, on the "attitude" side. They were unpleasant to say the
least. I would not recommend this product for these reasons.

By anonymous; - Sep 6, 2007

GREAT

THE COOKER IS THE BEST, THE FOOD CAME OUT GREAT, EVERY TIME I USE IT THE FOOD IS GREAT.. LOD IT GO TO WORK AND COME HOME AND YOU EAT...

By THING on Home Depot - Jan 18, 2007

Best Crock Pot

Bestcovery experts have rated the KitchenAid KSC700SS 7-Quart Slow Cooker as a best pick for the Best Crock Pot. Bestcovery's experts recommend the best products and services for a particular need based on extensive research and evaluations. Click below to see Bestcovery's full review of this product.
Read Full Review

By bestcovery.com - Apr 12, 2011