Reviews for Black & Decker Under Cabinet Space Maker ODC440B Coffee Maker

Not Available

Product Reviews (33)

Stay away from this one

Strengths: Convenience

Weakness: Poorly engineered and very crude installation

I purchased the "Space Maker" to replace a Black and Decker that gave me great service. Sadly Black and Decker never took into account that people would be replacing their old ones with a new one that mounts entirely differently. Hence I now have New Holes through the bottom of my cabinet. The bolts that hold the bracket on protrude into my cabinet leaving approximately 1/2 of bolt sticking up. My plates love that.

After about a of week of use my counter flooded due to the "Sneak a cup" feature. Seems the coffee tray does not have a positive stop to prevent the tray from sliding out. Once this happens the tray does not drain into the pot but builds up and floods over. I can see this being a very serious issue if you have small children with the hot water or other electronic appliances under the maker that may short out from being soaked.

Personally I am VERY disappointed and it's going back to Wally World today.

By Tea42 - Dec 13, 2006

under the counter coffee maker from black and decker

Strengths: makes good coffee

Weakness: second one i"ve gotten in 4 months. first one quit working within a month and second one automatic turn it self on. good thing i went home for lunch it was starting to smell and really hot.

will never buy another one. cannot depend on it. its wiring is all messed up.it could of burned down my house and me in it.and everything i owned if i had"nt gone home for lunch.

By anneak2008 - May 13, 2008

Black and Decker coffeemakeer

Strengths: space saver is great for me as I have little counter space

Weakness: filter basket leaks, basket doesn't always stay in place

I have had Black and Decker products for many years. Had coffee maker in our home and motorhome. Always had white ones. Purchased a new black one and it quit after 3 months, returned it and got another. Just took that back today. Did not purchase another one. I had gotten this coffeemaker in August. I am so disappointed. Not sure what I will do now.

By FMO; - Feb 26, 2008

Very Poor Design

Strengths: none

Weakness: Filter tray leaks, Water tank is hard to hold,

Our old UTC black and decker was the best coffee maker we ever had. This new one is awful, the water tank is terrible for anyone with small hands, hard to remover from the coffee maker, hard to put back in. The filter tray leaks all over the counter.
I won't buy black and decker again.

By Jan; - Feb 23, 2008

Woe is me

Strengths: Handsome to look at but beware

Weakness: THe water resevoir pinches your fingers when you are trying to remove it....it REALLY hurt. AS with the other reviews, I too had the unit not drain into the carafe, but rather all over my counter.

very poor design....BLACK AND DECKER....PLEASE GO BACK TO YOUR PREVIOUS DESIGN!!!!!

I took mine back. very disappointed. Mr. Coffee has ceased making their under the cabinet maker. Sadness.

By Black & Decker ODC440B; - Feb 10, 2008

Better than the last B&D coffee maker we owned

Strengths: Quiet, attractive, undercounter mount, and easy to fill/use.

Weakness: None so far - its provided a couple of months of coffee making and no problem-O. The digital dial is small and difficult to read. It should be well lit-up and use larger fonts.

Our previous B&D undercounter coffeemaker was sold with our last home and we needed a replacement. So we found this unit at Target for $50 and brought it home - hoping it had an automatic shut down at two hours, which our older one did not have (but our older Mr. Coffee unit had it?). We were overjoyed when it shut off. And the coffee is great. I highly recommended it and we were able to get it in white.

By Erie Guy; - Jan 24, 2008

Black & Decker Under Cabinet Space Maker ODC440B Coffee Maker

Strengths: Makes good coffee and stays hot

Weakness: poor quality, hard to install, poor design, and did not enjoy. Did not last.

I have always had B & D coffee makers, especially the under counter. They have always lasted for years, with little or no problems. But, this new design has been nothing but trouble since I took it out of the box. First, it was impossible to get apart to get it mounted. The bolts were too short, and had to call B & D to order them. Never could make a full pot of coffee, without getting water all over my counter, or putting a cup under the pot to catch what was dripping. Could not set timer to get up to brewed coffee, because never knew where it would leak from. Could never get it leveled out, I guess. Black & Decker made a terrible decision when they changed the design of this pot. They definately need to go back to the original design. This pot barely lasted a year!! As long as B & D has this design they have lost a loyal customer!!

By anonymous; - Dec 10, 2011

Black and Decker Space saver coffee makers 8 cup and 12 cup

Strengths: still looking but gives me more counter space

Weakness: No quality control anymore. Poor production. More holes in shelves. Can't you stay the same

The 8 cup had a hole in the water resourvior and the 12 cup one stopped working after 2 days. This is 2 coffee makers in 3 weeks. They suck

By jonesclassic - Sep 28, 2008

I didn't even mount it.

Strengths: NA

Weakness: Poor instructions

Our old and reliable UTC black and decker finally died. We purchased the one shown. It took me 15 minutes to get the top plate off for mounting. There were no instructions on how to remove it. I tried replacing and removing the cover several times as we have occasions to remove the pot. It was a struggle every time and I refused to mount it. We took it back. I guess that was the best thing to do having read the reviews.

Not finding any other under counter models we bought a black and decker on the counter. It's going back tomorrow. What a piece of junk. When you try to fill it water spills out onto the counter. Then there's the screen which is a pain to clean each time you make coffee. If you take it out and try using a paper filter you get a pot full of grounds. The quality of black and decker coffee pots has gone downhill and after 10 years we're looking for another brand.

By wxm15 - Jan 11, 2008

worst coffee pot i have ever owened

Strengths: none that i know of

Weakness: it leaks when you fill it for delayeed brew

this is by far the biggest disappointment in a coffee pot that i have ever owned. i was so excited to get this coffee pot and less than 10 monthes later it has quit working and I even got the can opener to match......WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT...

By anonymous; - Nov 5, 2011

Black & Decker under the cabinet

Strengths: saves space

Weakness: leaks

This is the 3rd one I have had the first one was great and lasted a long time. The Second one didn't last so long but still was a good coffee pot. However the last one I bought still a Black & Decker from Kmart was terrible, it leaked, slow to brew and has now quit on us. They also changed the style and made it cheaper quality

By janetdf - Jun 6, 2011

Terrible

Strengths: None

Weakness: All

This is possibly the worst coffee maker I have ever had! The electronics are cheap, its mounting system is horribly designed and is overall a really bad product. Go to coffeemakersmrcoffee.c... and buy mr coffee coffee makers, they actually work!

By anonymous; - May 17, 2011

Also Disappointed

Strengths: None

Weakness: The water would overflow prior to the rework, the warmer plant is now rusted due to the original issue that caused the recall, you can't use a permanet filter because the new design doesn't fit one.

I have always used the Back & Decker spacemaker products and I must say this is the wrose I have ever seen. I puchased two (one for tea and one for coffee). I had purchaed one of the back years ago (the brochure shows 91) and it worked great until 2 years ago and that is when I purchased these. No one contacted me about the recall, I phoned them. This is the wrose product Black & Decker has made, they need to reevaulte their design team, not good. Would not recooment. One positive note for Black & Dekcer their name is coming off the recall baskets no one knows the manufactured it.

By anonymous; - Mar 13, 2011

10 years and counting

Strengths: convenience

Weakness: finding a re[placement carafe

took some tweaking but got it balanced and working. there is nothing like waking up to coffee. BUT, don't break the pot, finding a replacemtn is an incredible chore!

By anonymous; - Feb 7, 2011

Very dissappointed with Black and Decker

Strengths: USED TO BE A GREAT PRODUCT

Weakness: Horrible

We received a Black and Decker Spacemaker as a wedding gift, it lasted 16 years, then one day started to drip on the counter, two days later, 1/2 the pot was on the counter. But after 16 years, I was not at all upset. I ordered another Spacemaker, after day 3 I had to remove the "sneak a cup" because 2 of those 3 days I woke up to a HUGE mess on my counter. Worked fine for a while then started to drip, (which steadily got worse) now after only a few years, the electronics are shot in it. I got on line to find a new one but after reading all the reviews I guess I will give up some of my valuable counter space and go with a different brand.
BTW, this is not my only bad experience with the Spacemaker. My parents had a very similar experience. Their first one lasted forever, then when they got a new one after only a short time the reservoir started leaking, unfortunately it was over a seam in the counter top which has now warped. Theirs also had the thermal carafe which only kept the coffee lukewarm.

By anonymous; - Nov 20, 2010

black & decker space saver coffee pot model ODC440b

Strengths: Easy grip water container, sneak a cup, easy on/off button etc

Weakness: Non until now. Can,t get replacement parts. I guess they want you to buy a new one. Hard to mount.

3 years since purchase and no problem until now. Can,t turn on due to faulty on/off switch. Requires new circuit board and cost as much as complete coffee pot. Presently looking for new Black & decker due to the reliability I have recieved even from my past machines but outdated. If you had problems with these coffee machines must have been unlucky or I am lucky.

By anonymous; - Mar 30, 2010

dangerous

Strengths: none

Weakness: doesn't last

Got a 2nd BDC 440B at Kohl's because the first one died after about4 mos. use. Got a replacement & was in the kitchen when it STARTED SMOKING & made a buzzing noise & I quickly unplugged it. I have had TWO of these & neither lasted more than 3-4 mos.

WHAT IF I HAD NOT BEEN HOME WHEN IT STARTED TO SMOKE? IT COULD HAVE BURNED MY HOUSE DOWN! I live out in the country. WHY B & D, DID YOU CHANGE your coffee maker. Like others that posted, I have an old one that we travel with & it has lasted about 8 yrs. Oh, that's probably WHY you changed it - so customers have to buy ANOTHER coffee maker. Well guess what? YOU ARE LOSING CUSTOMERS THAT WON'T BE COMING BACK!

Go back to building a quality product or GO OUT OF BUSINESS!

By anonymous; - Dec 4, 2009

lasted 1.5yrs.

Strengths: loved it

Weakness: expected it to last longer

I received this unit for xmas 2007. It worked wonderfully until summer 2009 when the heating element developed a pin hole. Steam was rising from the top onto my cupboard and the water leaked out the bottom. The hole decreased pressure in the heating element prohibited the water from rising into the basket properly. Brewing 4-5 cups started taking 10min. We checked online to see if we can order a new heating elemnet but the only available parts were the carafe, basket, sneak-a-cup lever, and resevoir etc
(?sp). I never did have trouble with the basket coming out. I loved the resevoir becuase if i removed the cover, it wedged right under my thru-the-door water dispenser (i brewed only 4cups at a time, otherwise it would have fallen out from the weight of more water). I was very dissapointed this item did not last longer. I expected 10yrs+ from this brand. I am gonna buy this one posted here..maybe, I have to think about it... I really don't want to drill different holes in my cabinet!

By anonymous; - Sep 9, 2009

You will regret buying this product.

Strengths: looks good under the counter

Weakness: Will only work for a couple of months

I had one 15 years ago that did not give me any trouble. I am on my third in less than a year. I purchased this at Kohls and now they no longer carre the item, at least not on line or any of the stores I checked. B&D must have gone cheep on production. I will be staying away from all black and decker items based on this experience.

By anonymous; - Apr 5, 2009

Black and Decker under the Counter Coffee Pot

Strengths: Under The Counter

Weakness: Hard to install, leaks etc.

At one time I would have said Black and Decker was the best, but NO LONGER. Purchased new coffee pot that now leaks, poor one cup of coffee no longer works and as of today the entire coffee pot no lon

By D. Westervelt; - Mar 13, 2009

B & D space saver coffee pot

Strengths: none that I could see.

Weakness: Too many to mention

I purchased the very first B&D space saver and sed it for at least 20 years. It was a very good pot, wonderful design in every way, the basket was easy to remove and fill, the pot was glass and kept the coffee warm and was dishwasher safe. It was anchored to the cupboard with flat covered type screws that did not affect using the self. I just loved it.
Then I got the great idea to upgrade to a newer color.
What a crock that turned out to be. It started to take the varnish off the out side of my cupboards and it also had other bad features that were basically covered in other posts.
Guess what??? I'm back to using my original, and it's still working. My biggest fear is, when it finally quits, where do I go to replace it. I've even considered buying a second hand one if I could find one.
What I can't understand, if something has a good design, why change it? I wish I could find the original B&D space saver in some old country store, I'd buy it in a heartbeat!!

By anonymous; - Feb 14, 2009

TOO BAD I THREW AWAY THE BOX OR I'D RETURN IT!!

Strengths: AFFORDABLE

Weakness: FILTER BASKET LEAKS ALL OVER COUNTER - WATER RESERVOIR HARD TO HOLD-NEEDS A HANDLE

OUR LAST BLACK & DECKER LASTED @10 YEARS. LOVED IT! AFTER IT FINALLY QUIT, WE SEARCHED EVERYWHERE TIL WE FOUND ANOTHER B&D SPACESAVER MODEL. WE BOUGHT IT. BIG MISTAKE. AFTER ABOUT A WEEK IT STARTED LEAKING ALL OVER THE COUNTER. I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A FLUKE THING. THEN IT STARTED HAPPENING ALL THE TIME. I HAVE TO SIT IT ON A TOWEL SO IT WILL SOAK UP THE WATER. YES WATER. I CAN'T BREW COFFEE IN IT ANYMORE CAUSE IT KEEPS STAINING MY COUNTERTOP AFTER IT SEEPS THROUGH THE TOWEL IT IS SITTING ON. I NOW HAVE SEVERAL STAINED TOWELS THAT ARE USED JUST FOR THE COFFEE POT. HOW TACKY!! WHAT'S WORSE IS THERE ARE SO MANY REVIEWS FROM OTHER PEOPLE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM! ARE YOU PLANNING ON CORRECTING THIS PROBLEM. THE OTHER PEOPLE WERE LUCKY, THEY GOT TO RETURN THEIRS. I HAD CONFIDENCE IN MINE WHEN I TOOK IT OUT OF THE BOX THAT IT WAS GOING TO BE AS WONDERFUL AS THE LAST ONE I HAD FOR 10 YEARS - SO I WENT AHEAD AND GOT RID OF MY BOX. WALMART WON'T TAKE MINE BACK. THAT'S $44.97 + TAX DOWN THE DRAIN. (AND YES I DO HAVE MY RECEIPT) I GUESS I SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE CHEAP $9 ONE. EVEN THOUGH IT DIDN'T HAVE AN AUTOMATIC TIMER, I'D RATHER SPEND THE 5 MINUTES GETTING THE COFFEE READY IN THE MORNING THAN CLEANING UP THE MESS ALL OVER THE COUNTER. I WON'T EVEN DONATE THIS ONE TO GOODWILL. THIS PURCHASE WAS A BIG LET DOWN.

By anonymous; - Oct 13, 2008

Total Aggravation

Strengths: Saves space on your counter.

Weakness: It doesn't save space when you have to keep a bowl under it to catch the leaks.

The unit leaks from the top left corner. Every review that I read told me this happened and I still bought one. There is a flaw in the design.

By anonymous; - Sep 30, 2008

From Good Design to Poor Design

Strengths: Not sure if there are any yet

Weakness: Very poor installation/mounting system

Our original B&D UTC coffer maker lasted 25 years. Excellent product, easy to install. This current replacement is a total disappointment as far as the mounting scheme is concerned. The heads of the mounting screws are too big in diameter to seat down into the slots in the mounting lid. The spacers supplied for drop front style cabinets are insufficient as many drop fronts are deeper than what the hardware can accomodate. I had to design my own mounting system. The concept of having the mounting screws and nuts on the inside of the cabinet is unacceptable and I eliminated that with my redesign. Come on B&D, you can do a lot better than this. Most purchasers confronted with these obstacles in mounting will just return the unit to the seller. Being a retired mechanical engineer, I accepted your challenge for a need of a better way and kept the unit. I hope it will atleast make decent coffee for my wife. I don't indulge in this beverage, I'm a soda junkie.

By anonymous; - Aug 13, 2008

Black and Decker under the counter coffee maker

Strengths: none

Weakness: Sneak a cup feqature is VERY poorly engineered

Don't buy this unit !!!!!!! It will DUMP HOT coffee all over your counter top !!!!!and you won't know WHEN it's going to fail. Monday it MIGHT work great and the next day you will find hot coffee all over the place ,I CONTACTED THE COMPANY AND THEY WANTED TO SEND ME ANOTHER ONE !!!! How about fixing the problem before you sell more!!!!

By Jim H.; - Feb 7, 2008

Big disappointment

Strengths: Reasonably attactive

Weakness: Poor design, construction and quality control

Where to start ...

I received one of these for Christmas to replace a 15+ year old SpaceMaker when the carafe broke. I quickly found that the clock gained more than an hour every day. In an age when my daughter can get a reasonably accurate watch with her Happy Meal this should be unheard of. Back it went to be replaced with another.

As noted above, the mounting hardware and locations are completely different than the old model. If I mounted it like the instructions said the screws would have protruded into the cabinet so I had to modify the installation. I guessed that you had to pry the top off the unit to get it open for installation but a little diagram showing where the locking tabs were would have been useful. Even knowing how it was supposed to come apart didn't make it any easier the second time around.

The Sneak a Cup feature is very poorly designed and you have to be very careful that the coffee basket doesn't get pushed out when you insert the pot. I too have had a couple 12-cup messes on the counter and found no coffee in the pot when it was finished. The fill hole in the water reservoir is located in the top middle of the reservoir making it more awkward to fill. Had it been placed closer to one of the ends it would be easier to fill (although, admittedly, easier to slosh water out of when you're putting it in the machine). If you have a goose-neck faucet this might not be an issue. Finally, contrary to what another reviewer noted it doesn't automatically shut itself off and in fact says it doesn't in the manual (perhaps he or she has a different model). This should be dead simple to implement with a digital clock but Black and Decker didn't bother.

If I could find another black under-the-cupboard model I would have bought it instead. As it is, I will likely remove the Sneak a Cup feature altogether - it's not worth the aggravation.

I too am VERY disappointed with this unit.

By Rick; - Feb 4, 2008

Be aware

Strengths: Convenience

Weakness: Installation and design

I totally agree with the review right before mine. The coffee pot overflows. We don't use the "sneak a cup" feature; we allow the coffee to finish brewing, but it overflows everytime. WE HAVE TO USE A TOOTHPICK TO KEEP THE TRAY FROM SLIDING OUT. Originally, we thought it might have been installed crooked, but we made sure it was level and it still overflows. I am very disappointed by this product. I have always had a Spacemaker and loved it, but this new design is horrible.

By anonymous; - Nov 24, 2007

Black and Decker Space saver440B

The installation with the furnished parts is an ALMOST impossible task.
Only because my husband is very talented did he accomplish it. In 6 1/2 hours,with many alterrations..........
Has any one in your company tried it??????????
The other thing is when you try to take out the water
resevoir you get pinched........Not too good.
We only had this one for 2 weeks,so far no spills or other incedents........
We had a B&D under the counter and got super service out of it.
The main reason why we went with this one.......

By anonymous; - Apr 20, 2007

I second the "stay away" review

Strengths: convenience

Weakness: everything else

The installation design makes the unit difficult to remove if you need to replace it (and you will need to replace it). The first one I purchased seemed fine, but the clock wouldn't keep time making the "auto" feature useless. Finally, after less than six months the unit stopped functioning entirely. I replaced it with another, but getting the old one down was extremely difficult. I experiencing the same problem with the "sneak a cup" feature... if the pot isn't in perfect position, the coffee brews then spills all over the place. The clock doesn't work properly on this one either. Stay away! I will never buy another Black and Decker product.

By anonymous; - Apr 18, 2007

Under Cabinet Space Maker ODC440B Coffee Maker

Strengths: Saves counter space.

Weakness: Too much steam; also, water leaked from top and splashed on countertop. Very poor design.

Stay away from this product - it will damage your cabinets and you'll have lots of water to mop up. Bought this coffee maker to replace a three year old Black and Decker Space maker model which we had been very happy with. Very disappointed that the only under Cabinet Coffee Maker we can find has been redesigned and is seriously flawed.

By anonymous; - Jan 2, 2007

Black and decker coffee maker

Strengths: space

Weakness: the coffee and filter holder slides out on its own ast the coffee brews. This fill the filter and over flows......

I plan on taking the unit back. It is dangerous and messy. It works great if you wish to hold the filter in place while the coffee is brewing. This kind of negates the auto function which is why I bought it in the first place... It's junk

By anonymous; - Nov 25, 2006

Brews nicely but clock does not work and there are no replacement carafes

Strengths: Compact, easy to clean, works very well in manual mode

Weakness: The clock does not keep time so the time delayed brewing is not dependable. There is no replacement carafe available.

This is a very nice unit. The basket comes out for easy cleaning. If you have no intention to use the delayed brewing feature, it works very well.

The clock is not dependable - and it can gain well over 12 hours per day. This makes the delayed brewing feature worthless.

There is no replacement carafe so if you break it you need to replace the entire unit.

By anonymous; - Nov 10, 2006

under cabinet space maker odc440b coffee maker

Strengths: we have Black appliances and Black and Decker was the only company with black under the conter coffee maker.

Weakness: the clock is dark and you cant see time only when coffee is on.

the unit we received leaked water all over the place and even out the top and created a wet cabinet on our Wood Mode cabinet. called Black and Decker & they are sending me a new basket for the coffee grinds.

By anonymous; - Jul 6, 2006